Submitted: Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 20:28
jdwynn (Adelaide)
Family going to
Cape York next year. Never see mozzie tents being used in photos / on websites.
So how important is it?
Is it just a hassle so you forget about it after a while?
If you reckon it's a "must have", what type (we have camper so I'm not thinking about the type for sleeping)?
Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 20:32
Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 20:32
JD,
I would use one, there is enough
Ross river etc floating around it just isn't worth the risk.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Fatso - Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 20:44
Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 20:44
What is a MOZZIE TENT?
If it is one of those tent things you see in
BCF that people sit in of a day your better off leaving it in
BCF. Waste of money up here in the tropics. Not to mention carrying the crapp, setting it up, taking it down & puttin it away then storing yet another useless thing when you get
home.
Sit in the breeze. No mozzies there. The breeze costs nothing & you don't have to carry it.
Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 21:03
Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 21:03
Absolutely can't agree. Ever been to, for example, Yellow
water up in the tropics at
Kakadu? The mozzies there are more of a problem than the crocs. Never been to
Cape York, but I go nowhere without a moz dome, or at least a 2 skin tent with an inner layer that works like a moz dome.
Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 21:17
Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 21:17
Got a small mossie enclosure and only ever used it once at Innaminka on the Cooper in October.
Been up north a few times and never had many problems with mossies but thats in the dry.
Probably different if you are heading that way in the wet.
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 21:24
Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 21:24
I used one at the
Diamantina Lakes to keep the flies away - found it be a god send at that time.
KK
Reply By: thefishandchiplady - Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 21:30
Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 21:30
take it,,and u WILL use it.........
Reply By: RobertHL (SEQ) - Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 21:49
Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 21:49
I was up there in May this year sleeping in my swag.I don't remember having too many issues with mossies,flies maybe though.
Reply By: Member - lyndon NT - Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 23:39
Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 23:39
Get one and get a BIG one! Cost about $200 for a 4 meter x 3.5 meter. If it's hot you can sleep in it, if the insects (whatever they are) are bad you can set up your chairs and table and eat in it. Also a lot cooler to sleep in if you strike warm nights. Get all mesh, more air the better. Make sure it has a floor otherwise you will still get ants and midgies! Real fine mesh is the way to go, if you havn't seen how small midgies & sandflies can be, trust me, unless you have good eyesight you might not even be able to see them. Oh, but you will know they are there!! :) How long will it last? Not long, possibly only one trip but who cares, beats getting eaten alive.
Cheers Lyndon
Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 08:09
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 08:09
We have a Oztrail instant pop up mozzie tent.I was a sceptic to start with but after buying it and useing it we love it.Takes longer to get it out of the bag than it does to put up, all poles are fixed to the screen, just need 4 pegs and its done.We have only used it to get away from flies but oh boy it was good.
Reply By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 08:46
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 08:46
For some reason mozzies just don't like me and they never bother me wherever I go.....but those mongrel, sticky-footed little black bush flies of the
Flinders Ranges and other like
places are something else....as to are the summer blowies of the high contry. So I too use a screen tent, especially for eating a meal in peace.
Reply By: Member - beachbum - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 11:50
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 11:50
Mate if you go in the winter, as you must, it will only be excess baggage. I have been to The Cape five times and will be there again next year and have never had need of one though we did take one the first time. Last trip, two years ago, another couple of friends dragged one of the mesh enclosures all over the place and put it up once at Vyrlia Point and did not use it then. Pulled it down again the next day.Excess baggage and weight which you dont need and takes up space that you probably do
Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 12:21
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 12:21
We swaged it last July no worries. Mossies are worse out west than up the Cape.
Reply By: Member - Dave and Shaz - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 13:28
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 13:28
My comment would be - take one. If you need it great, if not, you will know and then can leave it behind on your next trip. If you are taking children, it might be nice for them to have a bug free enclosure for meals at least. We were in
Cape York for the first time in 2007. Loved every second and can't wait to get back one day. I was smashed by midges, etc while my hubby wasn't. There's a few things you can rub on: Bushman, Rid, Off etc, try the Mozzie & Sandfly Buster (www.thesoapman.com.au) for something more natural or even a mixture of dettol & baby oil, but you have to put that on constantly which is a pain. We are currently living in
Darwin, and found out here a favourite to stop bites is taking Betamin, which is Vitamin B1. Take 2 tablets per day at least one month prior to going into bitey country. I've been doing that for the last 3 months and find you still get bitten (much less though) but the bites are generally gone by morning. The ones that hang around get some Stop Itch Cream that you can buy from the chemist.
Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 17:31
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 17:31
Thanks everyone for the great responses. A few different opinions of course but that fine. At this point the safe thing for me to do is hand over the resposnes to SWMBO and the girls for a decision LOL!! Cheers
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 18:19
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 18:19
It depends where and where you
camp. The mozzies and sandflies can be a problem in certain areas, usually worst at dawn and dusk. You will need your sleeping quarters protected. If you are at a beach in the breeze it is not usually a problem, get out of the breeze and it can be bad.
The mozzie net enclosure is not what we use. We use the citronella candles and a bit of insect spray when required.
Some people can handle the discomfort of sandflies, others get driven crazy - a mozzie net will not stop these blighters anyway.
Best bet it to use the personal remedies and if you do a search of this site there are many
home remidies posted.
Cheers Tony
Reply By: Fatso - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 21:24
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 21:24
Eat some concrete & toughen the f up Auistralia.
You are turning into a bunch of sooks.
If you take everything you think you might have a use for you will have to line up Tuxworths to accompany you with a roadtrain.
I have resided in the tropics my whole life & have never used one.
As a
young fella we used to
camp on a beach that had a mangrove lined river system behind it for up to 8 weeks at a time every christmas.
I never even saw a mosquito net used.
I have used mozzie nets & dome tents for sleaping in though. Only bought my first dome tent 12 years ago.
We even took the flyscreens off of our house 20 years ago because they cut down the breaze & have never looked back.
It is not impossible to live with a couple of mozzies.
Follow Up By: Member - Dave and Shaz - Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 16:52
Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 16:52
We are all different Fatso and some of us get bitten, some don't. Some of us have grown up in the tropics (lucky for them) and some of us haven't. If it was just a matter of living with a couple of mozzies, wouldn't that be nice!