What does your Diesel cost to service?
Submitted: Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 16:45
Member - Kroozer (WA)
I service my vehicles myself, as its easy enough to do and i know i have piece of mind that the best oils are being used. Never mind the cost saving, or so i thought anyway.
BIL said it cost him $160 for Toyota to service his D4D Hilux, which is presume would be new oil and fuel filter and oil. Righto no worries, i serviced my Prado other day (1KZ) and i paid $33 for the genuine oil filter and then was slogged, wait for it, sit down and hang on $98 for 10 litres of oil. OK, it is the oil i prefer in the Prado though, Castrol super RX or something. Comes out still smelling good and doesnt stain after 5000k's. My preference is Penrite but cant get it in the right viscosity here so i use the Castrol which i believe is great. I know i only need 7.5 litres so i can keep remainder for next service and jus buy 5 more litres, so i suppose thats a bonus.
Anyway that means i am not saving any money really if you add the cost of a fuel filter on to $131,as surely a 1KZ is cheaper to service then a D4D. I usually do the fuel filter also every 5000kms but i didnt this time. So Toyota must charge at least $35/litre for oil and again around $30 for oil filter, which leaves around $60 for labour and the fuel filter. They charge $120/hour here so i am guessing that $60 is covering just the labour. Do the D4D have a disposable type fuel filter or a dedicated type? As i feel if they have the disposable then they havent been changing his and as its serviced every 10000kms and needs very clean fuel then it could be doing some real serious harm to his injectors and common rail system. I've heard the injectors are not cheap either, around $800 each.
Back to the real reason for posting though, what does your diesel cost to service, at home or workshop. as i will be in the market for another vehicle soon wanna suss out what makes are dearer then others for everyday running costs.
My old 75 series used to cost me $60 for Ryco fuel/air/oil filters and $70 for 10 litres of Penrite oil. So all up $130 bucks but that included a new air filter also. Bargain if ya ask me. I dont trust mechanics so i like to do it myself thats all, but is there any real saving for the effort and mess involved. Plus having to get rid of the waste oil?
Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 17:22
Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 17:22
My old smoke blower has 2 filters and takes 10lts oil.
I seem to buy oil for around $50/60 for 10lts and $20 for 2 Ryco filters. It depends what value you put on your servicing. Some people get very excited by which oils to use, but the run of the mill oil is good enough for me i.e Fuchs,
Mobil, Castrol, Penrite, Valvoline etc
Yes, oil changes are always a messy business. I soak some old railway sleepers used as garden edging with the old oil. In this dry climate it dries out by the time the next 10,000km change comes around :-)
Reply By: Atta Boy Luther - Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 17:25
Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 17:25
Oil has gone up a lot in the past couple of years . I use the fuel filter adapteron the 1HZ and now use the cav fuel filters . The filters cost about $5 and i change them every 5000klms . They are a smaller micron than the standars toyota filter .
Reply By: Top End Explorer - Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 17:29
Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 17:29
Hi Kroozer
I buy my oils and filters in bulk, this equates to $11 per filter (Ryco), and a 205 lt drum of Delvac.
I do some of my own and when I have to do 2 or 3 a night Dave helps me at $50 per hour, It is great to have Dave as he puts a mechanics eye over the job.
The cost including Dave is still less than $100 per car/truck, Next year the fleet will be 3 OKA's 2 GXL's and a Cruiser Ute.
So the cost is $46 for oil 2 x $11for filters and $25 per truck for mechanic.
Cheers Steve.
Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 17:50
Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 17:50
For as long as you do the job yourself you'll always be in front in the long run.... primarily because you'll know the quality of materials used and you'll actually do the work too ! That aspect is worth a lot IMV. One snag is oil changing while away on trips, but if one wants to do it, it can be done properly.
While I now have plenty of time to tinker with cars, a side benefit of self servicing is the ongoing technical familiarity with the car, for those times when issues arise away from home. $6/L is plenty to pay for oil in my view (Magnatec for me - changed every 7500km). Fuel Filter (Ryco) $22 - Air Filter (genuine) $60 - Oil Filter (Ryco) $30.
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 18:20
Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 18:20
Reckon my pajero with the old mechanical injector pump (2.8l , 1985 to 2002) would be about the same as yours.
Do it myself.
Oil - penrite diesel semisynthetic - bought bulk - 7.5 litres - $45.00
oil filter - OEM japenese make - $21.00
(Mitsu $39.00)
Bit of grease - $3.00 - total say $70.00
If I get my mechanic to do it - add about $80.00 labour and $5.00 for disposal of oil.
I take my oil to the local dump and put it in the oil recycling tank once or twice a year, when I drop something else off after a clean up.
Optional air filter (OEM) - $25.00 every 20k.
optional fuel filter (OEMs) - primary ($9.00) every 10k , secondary $25.00 every 40k.
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 18:35
Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 18:35
Hi Kroozer,
Toyota in
Alice Springs wanted to charge $300 - $320 to change oil & oil filter on my 1HZ Troopy !
1 year ago a 4wd service garage in
Perth charged $260.
I did my own in Alice as the McDonnell Range CP provides a place to do the change and a drum for the waste oil.
KK
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 07:44
Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 07:44
What did it cost in
St George ;)
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 07:58
Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 07:58
Hi Sir Kev, I only had the steering and drive shaft universals greased, no oil or filters etc. Had to stuff $20 in the guys overalls as he did not want to take any money. :-))
Thanks KK
Reply By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 19:54
Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 19:54
1HZ 80 series here, serviced at home.
It uses:
- 10 litres oil- we buy 20 litres of Fuchs CI-4 15/40 at $120 from Don Kyatt. So $60 oil used per service.
- Then either OEM filters (you already know what these cost) or Terrain Tamer filter kit (around $45 (I think) for the lot from Don Kyatt).
- Grease- not much.
Total cost- around $105 per service. Add more for change of gear, transfer, diff oils, plus any other bits that need doing according to the service schedule.
Reply By: disco driver - Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 19:59
Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 19:59
Hi Guys,
While there are some advantages in doing your own filter and oil changes, particularly on dinosaur type vehicles, once you come up against the modern common rail motors and all the electrickery etc involved IMHO it becomes a different ballgame unless one is a technical expert. There are so many things that can go ass up if you don't know what you're doing.
I've been doing my own servicing on all my vehicles, (all petrol and carby), for close on 40 years, and except for the TD5 Discovery, I will continue to do so until I can't get down and under or out and up (it won't be long now before I have to give it up, the bones ache a bit too much after getting under the old Landy).
The Disco will get serviced by a small non Dealer service company with Landrover accreditation and much lower overheads, so my accounts are much smaller too.
Disco.
Reply By: rocco2010 - Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 20:07
Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 20:07
Gidday
If you buy a new Toyota you get fixed price log book servicing for the warranty period. I think the cost for six 10,000km
services in a hilux is $170 each and it goes up to $300 for a 200 series.
Obvioulsy this a reaction to the cut price log book service operators ... but whether you trust your local Toyota dealer ...
rocco
Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 20:32
Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 20:32
Hi Kroozer. Most new direct injection Diesels I have serviced require a special oil. Penrite call it an Enviro Oil. It is formulated to run in engines with a particulate filter and works out about $10 per litre.Toyota D4D seem to run HPR Diesel 5 which is slightly cheaper. Regards,Bob.
Reply By: Butch58 - Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 20:57
Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 20:57
HI, doesn't matter what it costs, think about warranty. Buy a new vehicle and if there's no stamp in the book bye bye warranty cover. I used to service all my own vehicles but now it's good insurance getting it done by registered mechanic.
As for oil get your service person to contact oil company and you may find that your machine can use less expensive oil, most company's will guarantee their oils that they supply if it suits your motors requirements, cheers Butch
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 09:27
Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 09:27
Good point.
That is why I get my mechanic to do the 10k
services while I do the intermediate 5k
services.
And he stamps all the
places in the log book for me :o)
Reply By: equinox - Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 21:21
Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 21:21
Top the line cruiser ute 2006:
Up to 40000km - cant find receipts at short notice
40000km - $1151.95
50000km - $349.55
60000km - $1535.00 (including new electric aerial, front pads and power steering service)
70000km - $824.00 (including removal of radiator for cleaning)
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 22:44
Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 22:44
Thats looks about what I pay, Alan
Reply By: Member - graeme W (WA) - Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 21:47
Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 21:47
Hi Kroozer.
Do it yourself.I rang my local toyota guy to ask what oil they use and his reply was that there was nothing written on the drum.I now use Fuchs in my Hilux and buy the filters in bulk to save a bit.Biggest worry was the oil Toyota was using, the cheapest they could buy at a guess but they were charging $75 dollars for it and as i say no name on the drum.
Regards Graeme.
Reply By: Falco80 - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 07:39
Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 07:39
It costs me around $75-$80 to service my 1HD-FT 80 series every 5000km.
I buy
Caltex Delo 400 in 20L drums, which would you believe cost $82 back in July this year. I regularly see 5L containers selling for over $40 at woolies servos! Ripoff merchants!
Cruiser takes 9-10 litres so that's around $40.
I buy genuine OEM oil filters from a Toyota dealer on ebay. $300 for 10 filters. So that's $30 per filter.
I use the CAV fuel filter adapter and change the cartridge every time l drop the oil. Each one costs about $4.90.
I usually have a beer or two as
well so there is a few bucks.
I'd much rather do the servicing myself so l know exactly what goes into the engine and what gets changed. It's also a good chance to get under the vehicle and get to know it better.
Dan
Reply By: 60series_adventurer - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 13:40
Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 13:40
We just had the old girl serviced - neither of us r mechanically minded so take it to the workshop - below is what it cost us:
Labour - 1.5hrs $135
Oil - says Shell Rimula X 15w-40 on invoice $60.50
Oil Filter $29.99
Fuel filter $8.00
Grease - $7
Total: $240.49 + gst $264.53
I don't think that is too badly priced.
Cheers Megan
Reply By: Wherehegon - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 14:06
Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 14:06
Hiya Kroozer, I use genuine filters for my 1kz, price over the counter is $50 for the filter, I use to work for toyota and still know a few people so I get them for $33, I use
Caltex Delo 400 in 20L from my local
caltex servo in Penrith NSW, save about $15 buying in 20 litres instead of 5L. When I bought it they did oil changes but not every 5, some at 4k some at 7k etc so the last one I let go to 89k and the next one will be 95k then 100k and so on (every 5k). The klms between the last one was 7k and I drained it last weekend, I purposely put my fingers in the oil and rubbed together and to my surprise didnt stain my hand like the old lux would have at 4k so the 1kz must run abit cleaner due to the turbo ?? and possibly different brand of oil I used in the lux (I think was rx super truck diesel oil ??) I think you are wasting money doing your fuel filter every 5k unless your sucking from drums in the moddle of know where. I think Toyota recomend every 40 K ?? I did myn a few months ago at 20k interval. Maybe depends on where you purchase your fuel ?? I use to do the lux every 20 never had any issues what so ever with blocked filters, injectors, pump etc. I would have thought the 1kz slightly better on the fuel ?? 13L per 100k round town and thats not babying it and have had it down to just over 10's on long runs loaded (freeway) but if I start pushing it to 120/130 it will jump to about 11.5 give or take. Presume yours about the same ??? The lux was consistantly around 10L round town/freeay/sand it was 2.8D non turbo. I think the prados use a tad more due to AWD ??Regards Steve M