The great fridge debate - Compressor vs Absorbtion

After much trial, I have decided absorbtion is the most cost effective way of chilling food and drinks.

I have both an Engel and a Chescold and find that unless you have a dual battery system and a 2nd car at a campsite, the Chescold is a better camping fridge/freezer.

Obviously there will be a lot that disagree, but I find the compressor fridge annoying in it's need for electricity. I think it's much easier having a set and forget gas system at a campsite.

Reply By: ozwasp - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 18:05

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 18:05
Oops, it's actually spelt "Absorption"

Also, the only 3 ways worth having in my opinion, are the Dometic RC1180 and F400
AnswerID: 394909

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 19:02

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 19:02
Hi ozwasp,
I've never owned a compressor type fridge for camping. So I really can't compare the two.
I have how ever owned a 50lt Chescold, for the past 4 years. It's an older model, maybe 15 years old, the gray plastic case model, and a 30lt Chescold, maybe 10 years old now. And of cause a RM 360 2 way in the Swan. All three work brilliantly on gas. Never had to have them operate in high temps yet.
The 50 lt is great for long stays, draws a lot of power on 12v for long periods, the 30 lt is great for day trips plugged in using 12V and hook it up to gas while making lunch and is used for picnics and day trips.
The 2 way in the swan is greatr whether we have access to 240v or not because it works great on either.
We supplement the 2 way with the 30 lt 3 way when traveling. It's so handy for putting drinks and lunch meats/cheeses in, save opening up the bigger fridge.
At the moment, I don't have any reason to change the way we do things.
Maybe if we were to travel through the top end with higher temps, we may have to change the way we set ourselves up.

FollowupID: 663303

Reply By: Member - Scoot (SA) - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 18:10

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 18:10
How will your Chescold fridge work in constant 35 degree heat if it's like mine the Engel will win every time and the Chescold will struggle big time.

Just my experience I have both.

Cheers Scoot . :-)
AnswerID: 394910

Follow Up By: ozwasp - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 18:17

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 18:17
All fridges will be under more stress in the heat - having one in a car will put it under more heat stress too.

My Chescold will freeze in conditions up to the mid 30s, so there isn't an issue while it's running and if it's any hotter, chances are I won't be there for too long anyway.
FollowupID: 663296

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 19:07

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 19:07
Ozwasp

Its not quite set and forget.

There is a gas flame that can blow out.

It will never achieve the temperatures of a compressor fridge. You can't freeze anything.

Some would say the need for gas is annoying- extra cylinders etc. After all you have electricity in the car anyway. And with careful use you'd get better refrigeration even with a single battery system than with gas. Adding a second battery or even a solar panel has other benefits too.

Having had both there is no way I'd go back.

AnswerID: 394918

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 21:32

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 21:32
"It will never achieve the temperatures of a compressor fridge. You can't freeze anything."

Oh crap. My old Rm 360 will freeze, -8 yesterday in 37 degree heat. Fridge section will run at 2 degree in 37 degree heat.
My 50lt Chescold will run the same kinda temps. The 30lt doesn't have a freezer section but will comfortably sit on 2 degree.

"Some would say the need for gas is annoying- extra cylinders etc"

It uses less than 180g of gas in a 24 hour period. A 9kg bottle will last a long time.
I have two bottles, we cook on gas as well.

I'm sorry Bob, these parts of your argument against gas don't make sense to me. A big part of owning a gas fridge/freezer is maintenance. Keep the flue clear, give it good ventilation, keep the jet clean, protect it from the wind and don't have direct sun on it.
And check all fitting regularly for leaks.

I don't have a problem using gas.

FollowupID: 663335

Follow Up By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 10:06

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 10:06
Hairs I agree with you we own a chescold and dometic in our caravan and both will freeze my hubby often rolls his eyes at me as if I see a super special on meat or chicken will buy it while we are camping or travelling and it will always freeze. We have done a 5 weeks trip and still have frozen meat at the end of the trip. We have kept ice cream in the freezer and travelled with it
Barb
Hairs must be the area we live in
FollowupID: 663384

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 11:21

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 11:21
Hi Barbara,
I agree that were we live, it must have some thing to do with it.
Two years ago while at Evans Head I noticed the 50lt wasn't as cold as it should be. Took it Paul Windmill Caravan Repairs, he replaced the thermostat and jet, cost 400 odd bucks, It works a treat now. Showed me how to clean it,and what maintenance to do on it, can't fault it. I can put a two lt jug of water in it and within a couple of hours it will freeze up, same as the RM 360.
I'm about to take the RM 360 to him for a service check and to add 12v element to give me an other option.
I really don't understand the bad wraps that 3ways get.

FollowupID: 663395

Follow Up By: CJ - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 20:27

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 20:27
Funny, all the follow-up posts on Bob's post trying disagree with his comment that gas is no set and forget actually confirm the point!
All the maintenance, cost ($400!) etc does not sound like set and forget

Also, living in tropical NQld I can confirm that compressors are better in hot weather in my experience.

And if for some reason the fridge stopped for a while (power on compressor or flame/gas/jet/lack of maintenance on gas fridges), then the compressor types achieve their minimum temperatures faster

CJ
FollowupID: 663467

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 06:44

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 06:44
Maybe CJ, mine and Barbara's fridges are the exception to the rule.
Maybe it is the higher humidity in the top end and tropics that effects them more, I don't know.
And 400 bucks isn't much to pay in the long term on a fridge that is well over 15 years old. Some domestic uprights don't last that long these days. Besides, how much would you be prepared to spent on your compressor fridge to have it back running as good as new?
For both 3 ways, I'm out of pocket $650 including the $400.00, over a 4 year period, gas not included.
I can't justify the money on a new 80lt compressor fridge and the battery/solar backup power to run the thing, just to keep the five of us in cold food & drinks for up to a fortnight. at a time.
I can see some of the advantages of a compressor fridge, and if our circumstances change maybe we would need to look at other ways of doing things.
Something else that everyone keeps bring up, It's not that hard to get them level, maybe on a boat ;) it is. But really, how hard is it?

FollowupID: 663512

Follow Up By: Krakka - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 05:57

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 05:57
$1245.00 for an 80lt compressor fridge including insulated protective cover, I can justify that all day everyday to keep me cold drinks and food, icecream frozen and a separate dairy section all in the one unit. Can't beat it.

Krakka
FollowupID: 663860

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 19:15

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 19:15
Ozwasp

I have seen what is left of a campsite after a gas bottle explodes.

Hence I use a dual fuel stove, dual fuel lights and a compressor fridge.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 394920

Follow Up By: ozwasp - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 19:35

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 19:35
I use dual fuel lanterns and cooking too and am not a big fan of using gas for cooking or lighting, but for refrigeration it's good.

What were the circumstances of the explosion? You'd think a gas bottle wouldn't just explode!!
FollowupID: 663310

Follow Up By: dbish - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 20:58

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 20:58
You are right ozwasp Gas cylinders dont just explode. Caravans will if the gas /air mix is exacltly right if not right you just get a fireball. For a gas cylinder to explode it would have to have afair bit of liquid in it. And be in a good fire somuch so that the gas cant get out of the over pressure valve fast enough & internal pressure exceed what the cylinder can handle. Clasic cases are when lowlifes steal cars on gas & torch them then the cylinder will eventualy explode. Daryl
FollowupID: 663325

Reply By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 20:46

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 20:46
Been camping with two sets of friends who have Chescolds.
On two separate occassions at 40C the Chescolds couldn't even maintain 10C, they were above that. Our Waeco worked hard, but didn't get above 3C.
Gas fridges are good up to 30C, maybe even 35 if you don't open them. Worked on remote properties with 150L Gas frisdes, they were good.

Glad I spent the $s and have a dual battery system though for our famiily set up. We aren't old enough yet to have the luxury of spending more than 3 days in a camping spot which is when Gas fridges shine.
You also don't want to have your vehicle turned off for too long with a Chescold, you either have warm food or a flat battery.
AnswerID: 394930

Follow Up By: Member - Scoot (SA) - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 22:13

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 22:13
Spot on Mark , I have a Chescold in the camper trailer it struggles big time in the heat and have a upright gas frig in a boat and it to struggles too on hot days .

When we travelled across the Simpson Dessert the temp was mid 20's and at night 10 degree's or lower and the Chescold preformed great we even had frozen ice blocks for the kids from the Chescold.

But following year we went to Adele's Grove and Karumba (Nth Qld) and it was mid to high 30's every day and the Chescold couldn't handle 3 - 5 days of that kind of heat.
We ended up turning it off after it got to about 12 degree's inside the frig.

Cheers Scoot. :-)
FollowupID: 663349

Reply By: howesy - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 20:58

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 20:58
Got to agree I wont go past the compressor fridges these days for keeping constant cool under extreme conditions and buy the right one and the power usage is not too bad I have left mine connected to a normal falcon battery for over 8 hrs in extreme conditions and when I started the car you wouldnt have even known it was there.
AnswerID: 394933

Reply By: Gronk - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 21:17

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 21:17
Gas fridges are OK if the temps are not extreme, and depending on size,how much beer you need to drink etc,but if you have the battery power ( and this is the most important thing ) the compressor fridge will win hands down..
AnswerID: 394941

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 21:59

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 21:59
Too many experiences with 3way fridge vans running hot so now it is compressor fridges all round, 3 of them to exact. My new van (10yrs old now) was less than 1 minute old when the 3way was removed and the waeco went in. Yes you need battery power if you plan on staying anywhere but well worth the effort in the setup to have cold beer every night. The 39lt engel must be close on 15yrs old and has not been touched mechanically and at $1100 thats pretty cheap per year if you want my opinion. I remember spending many times this each summer on 3way van fridges in the early days.

Maybe you are Pommy and like your beer warm??? but me I am fair dinkum and cold beer is the only way to have it hehehehe.

Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 394948

Reply By: outsider - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 22:08

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 22:08
I have one of those cheap repco 35L 3 way fridges, I take when I go camping for more than a few days other wise I just use the esky which will hold ice for that long.
The 3 way works really well on gas, even though it is only a fridge it has sometimes frozen things overnight and runs for weeks on a 9kg bottle. The flame has never blown out even in howling winds.
I can only imagine how well a quality gas fridge/freezer must work.

My mate has a compressor fridge in the back of his duel cab which is a great idea as you have your food and more importantly cold beer with you where ever you go. He did have a more than a few dramas keeping up the power to it but seems to have it sorted now with plenty of batteries, he loves showing off with ice blocks for the kids.

Usually I just use an esky for day tips away from camp in the car but it is a bit of a pain having to get ice for it.

I've just bought an old viscount camper van with a 3 way in it which is working good on 240 but not so good on gas, hopefully i can get it sorted out on the gas. hopefully having the van will help me get away more often and will obviously change my camping style.

I'm thinking I wouldn't mind a small compressor fridge/freezer for the back of the car along with the gas fridges for camp, I would imagine the compressor fridges would cool down pretty quick if I'm out driving about on day trips or traveling and I could basically turn it off at camp and put anything back in the gas fridges.

Both have their pros and cons, so it would be nice to have both.

AnswerID: 394949

Reply By: skulldug - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 06:40

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 06:40
Ozwasp,

I am one of those who disagree. Complaints about three-way fridges seem to be very common. If the Chestcold type do work, then perhaps they are the exception. The upright ones certainly attract negative attention. We use a 40l Engel and a small Waeco for food and drinks and the three-way to keep the spuds and bread 20 deg below ambient.

Skull

AnswerID: 394964

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 08:39

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 08:39
Bit like the tyre thing isnt it, no real answer. My 25 year old Finch 3 way works
fine on all 3 power sources, & will freeze on gas if turned up. Many complain about 12v performance , but usually run on tiny wire & cig plugs...hopeless.
Put decent wiring on them & see the difference. Ok, they struggle a bit at high
temp, but the advantage of hassle free operation on gas when parked up for a week is hard to deny. Sure,you can run your Engel for a week if you spend another motza on batteries, solar, genny or whatever, & no doubt they are superior if you can power them, but the humble 3 way is a very useful item
nevertheless & should not be dismissed lightly.....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 394971

Follow Up By: Gronk - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 10:16

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 10:16
I have a Finch ....well sort of !!....on permanent loan to my son..

If you're not much of a beer drinker, then the 3 way will keep food and some drinks cold, but if you drink more than a 6 pack ( even worse if you're missus drinks as well ) then you are going to get beers that are not very cold.......because you have to put warm beers in and the 3 way can't recover quick enough before you need them.....maybe a different story if the 3 way is big enough to store enough beers for a whole session..and load it up before going to bed..

Compressor fridges....for overnighters or weekends...perfect !!

3 way.....for extended stays.....OK if they are big enough, but with some drawbacks..big and heavy, don't like heat,
FollowupID: 663385

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 13:30

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 13:30
Quite agree re the grog..it doesnt mix well with tucker in camp fridges..& I like
mine icy cold...so it goes in the 7 day icebox. Both sit side by side in back of the
Jack & dont need to move them. Gas is connected from external bottle when
required, & vehicle well ventilated....simple stuff. I find beer is still cold enough for about 3 days after ice melts too, just dont drain cold water...recycled via a hose & used for shower.....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 663412

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 12:51

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 12:51
The know problems with the 3 way fridges are numerous, one big problem is you can't just pick it up and throw it in the back of the ute or the boat when you want to quickly cool down the fish fillets.
Then they have to be close enough to level, they have to be in a breeze free area and should to be plumbed into position with a stable method of eliminating the built up heat they create out to the outside area, not safe to sleep with them beside you as the fumes may send you to sleep permanently.

None of the above problems are associated with compressor fridges

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 394994

Follow Up By: dbish - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 14:26

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 14:26
Hi Mainey they dont actualy work on a boat wen its rough. Cray boat I worked on it only worked when it was calm. Finished up using the onboard coldroom for storing food & drinks (with the bait). Daryl
FollowupID: 663419

Reply By: garrycol - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 16:25

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 16:25
I cannot speak for compressor fridges but I have a finch 3 way running on 240v and gas over the past few weeks in my kitchen. Gas is a bit better but not by much. Temps have been getting up over 30 most days.

I have a temp probe inside it and the temp varies immensely depending where the probe is. On the coil it may get as low as -3 even in hot weather - at the bottom it is also very cold as the cool air sinks - but everywhere else in the fridge it can be up to 10 so the air is not mixing. I put in a fan and the temp went up even higher.

I have put some ice in the bottom and I have found that while the fridge will not pull temps down much - with the frozen ice the fridge is able to keep it frozen and the overall temp is lowered.

I have formed the view that a three way is not much use without outside help - freeze what you can before putting stuff in (even if it is just water to help with cooling efficiency) and this should help keep other things cold. Also do not keep things that go off easily near the top as the temp is a lot hotter than the rest. Overall a 3 way does not work any better than a 12v electric cooler style fridge. Putting in frozen stuff into them makes them work OK as well.

Garry
AnswerID: 395014

Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 19:42

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 19:42
I agree

I have a Waeco 3 way, and find that if everything is frozen before I go away, and the fridge is turned on using 240v for a few days before leaving, all is fine for 10 days. I add a sheet of Techni Ice too, and run on gas at the camp site. Cig lighter lead is probably too skinny to be any good, but it helps keep the temp down during the trip.

Cheers, Dave
FollowupID: 663459

Reply By: ferris - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 10:12

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 10:12
Well I've owned both a couple of different 3 way fridges and a couple of different Engles. I expect them to work reliably in 40 + degree heat. I've never had a warm beer out of the Engle, but I've had butter running out the bottom of the 3 way. Unless you are completely stopped for a few days and not charging the batteries, the Engle will always out perform a 3 way fridge.
AnswerID: 395122

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 21:25

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 21:25
At last !!!!

A topic where Engel and Waeco owners will agree !
AnswerID: 395210

Reply By: ozwasp - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 01:53

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 01:53
I think what everyone seems to forget is that when you're camping, you may not have your car nearby or someone could be off in it!!
At least with 3 way fridges, you can set them up next to your deck car and just lean over to get another beer... Definitely saves having to buy solar panels/generators and waiting for the fridge to come back!!
AnswerID: 395370

Follow Up By: Krakka - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 06:01

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 06:01
Some of the new Waeco's have a rechargeable power pack built into them for just that purpose.

Krakka
FollowupID: 663861

Follow Up By: ozwasp - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 12:04

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 12:04
They don't seem to be taking off too well.
I've noticed they started off around $1200 and now they are $659 on their website.
FollowupID: 663910