Best fridge for the job?
Submitted: Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 14:17
Member - Marco T (VIC)
I am on the verge of buying a fridge. I am not sure of the brand yet but likely - Engel or similar.
It will need to supply the family - 2 adults and 2 children. Is a 40L big enough to do this? OR should I go for the 60-80L?
On previous threads there has been some who have 2 x 40L for flexibility, but for now just looking for 1 x fridge that will do the job.
Many thanks
Marco
Reply By: Notso - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 14:22
Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 14:22
It depends whether it will be the only fridge you have, do you have a Caravan or just
camping.
If
camping then I'd suggest one that has a freezer section and a fridge section.
You will need decent
battery power to run it.
Engel, Waeco, EVA Kool are all OK depending on your budget.
Reply By: Moose - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 15:00
Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 15:00
G'day Marco
Go for 60 ltrs - you will not regret it. Wife and I travelled heaps with 2 kids and found the 60 ltr to be great. Would have really struggled with anything smaller.
As for make you'll get heaps of opinions but if you do a search you'll soon find out which one/s give the most trouble. BTW - we've had a Trailblaza for 20+ years with no complaints.
Cheers from the Moose
Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 15:44
Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 15:44
Yes, as Moose said you need 60 litres at least but go for one that is not a bottomless pit when you go to get things as murphy takes over and puts what you want at the bottom. We have a Waeco 80L just for the two of us and while a tad excessive I would go this way again. Separate freezer, fridge and butter/cheese area and ours has been faultless for 5 years.
Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 20:09
Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 20:09
Im also a fan of the weaco 80. Its broad and not too deep,so you dont have to stack things on top of each other,and short people will find it easier to see inside.
It's a bit power hungry,but if you are on the road most of the time its not a problem.
There is lots of used units at good prices
Reply By: ozwasp - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 15:53
Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 15:53
Hi Mate
I'd tend to agree getting a bigger fridge and would recommend the 80L Engel fridge and freezer combination, especially if you are planning to use it for
camping with your family in the future. The 80L is a taller version of the 60L, that will take 2L drink bottles upright - so it's more worthwhile.
One thing with
portable fridges is that you can never have one big enough, as they fill up very quickly due to more food going in than you thought you'd have. If you have the money get the 80L, otherwise get the cheaper 40L or 38L Eclipse and see how you go - you wouldn't want to have many drinks for 4 people though.
I'd definitely recommend an Engel too, as I've seen a friend's 110L Waeco fridge that wouldn't stay cold once thing got above 30 degrees or so.
Goodluck!!
Follow Up By: ozwasp - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 15:58
Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 15:58
Also, you should probably look into what type of
camping you do.
If you're in the one spot for a few days or more and it doesn't get above 40, then the 3 way Chescolds (RC1180 or F400) would be a better alternative. Also you would eliminate having to get a dual battery system for your car, as they run on gas (brilliantly too).
Reply By: Moose - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 16:10
Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 16:10
If you haven't already done so have a look at the fridges article on this site.
Reply By: Rod - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 17:23
Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 17:23
I had an Chescold RC1180, and apart from it struggling in Qld temperatures, found it too small. I'd recommend a 60L compressor based fridge if touring.
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:03
Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:03
We have a 30 litre fridge, and have used it for over 30 years, while the family was growing up, so it has fed 4 adults. Depends on how you use it and pack it, and the type of food you are eating.
We usually carry about 2 to 3 weeks of food with us at any one time.
We tend to use one pot meals a fair bit, made from fresh vegies, tins and dried stuff like pasta, rice etc. Fridge just keeps the meat, butter and milk cold, and a couple of drinks. We don't run it on freezer, cryovac our meat.
So if like us, 40 litre would be fine. Takes up less space, draws less power.
With two of us now, the 30l runs half empty a lot of the time.
Reply By: CJ - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:59
Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:59
We had a 40litre and struggled with space (2 kids) When it came to upgrading we to struggled with the question of bigger fridge meaning less space. SWMBO then made the comment that there is no space saved or lost by going bigger - simply more cold space less warm space in the back of the truck! Too true. We opted going for the 80 litre with freezer space. When we run low we can then use the space by putting bread, fruit,
water etc. in the fridge and swapping cold an warm space that way.
What you must realise though is the bigger cold space, the more power hungry it will be
Now that we have done both big and small, we will definately stay biig. It also changes the way you pack supplies, instead of packing dry provisions you can afford to pack frozen provisions
Hope this helps,
CJ
Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 20:14
Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 20:14
Autofridge 40l is all you need............... ;-)
Reply By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 20:45
Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 20:45
Marco
Unless you want Ice Cream you don't need a freezer to keep meat for weeks.
Just have it cryovaced, you should be able to get 6 weeks out of red meat, les for white meat.
Doesn't work for sausages but does for mince. Freezers require a lot more power.
We can get away with a family of 5 for a week with a 50L fridge.
Use UHT dairy products (milk, cream, custard), only need to put them in the fridge after you have opened them.
In the morning just put the Beer/ wine, that you will drink that evening into the fridge. Your car battery & alternator will do a great job.
We sometimes take an esky for the first 2 days with frozen food/ drinks, then when empty use it as a storage container, as mentioned above.
Just as your standard of living is always 10% more than you earn, no matter how much or little it is, .........what ever fridge size you have, you'd always like a little more!
Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 21:51
Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 21:51
Hi Marco,
I know you seem to have discounted the 2 x40L options, but it does have more flexibility that also has the advantage that you can buy the fridge/s as the budget permits.
I too have a 2+2 family and have found 40L is always a squeeze to fit everything in that we "must" take on longer trips. So I added a Two-Zone (21L) and now have ~60L of fridge space that has the advantage that vegies etc... can go into the top half like a crisper while the colder stuff (like beer) can be kept colder at the bottom but still be easily accessible. Also, I can take the Two-Zone off for shorter trips when 40L is enough.
But it also goes to show that once we had 60L that too soon wasn't enough, so we "had" to get another 40L Engel that we use as fridge or freezer. So now we can have 40, 60 or 100L of fridge and/or freezer space as the need dictates.
Reply By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 22:26
Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 22:26
Marco
You haven't given us a great deal of info to go on.
As
well as how many people it is also important how big a vehicle and how much battery capacity and recharging capability you have and how much can you spend on it as
well as your travel pattern. An answer without that sort of information is pretty meaningless.
Anyway in the spirit of this
forum where opinions are freely offered I will give my opinion.
For 2 adults and 2 children a larger fridge would be the go. Your 60-80 litre suggestion would be the go not the smaller 40 litre. I would look really hard at Explorer and Trailblaza. They are more expensive than most but they have a reason to be so. The Explorer, such as the DC65 I have, has ability to run off 12, 24 or 240 volts. It has separate fridge and freezer sections. It has separate thermostats for both but these are interdependent. The setting of one does affect the other. There are 3 models DC65 , DC85 and DC110. I have found that the fridge and freezer temperature can be nicely balanced as in good beer temperature, slightly minus, and good freezer temperature (both thermostats on 5 or 4 if I want to save a bit of power). For a unit with fridges and freezer fully independent the Trailblaza would be the choice. Did a preview on the Explorer DC65 recently. A full review with the new dual battery system and summer temperatures should be posted in January.
A warning that if you want to freeze ice cream you will pay for it pretty savagely in increased power consumption.
It is
swings and roundabouts, there is no "best".
I also have a small Waeco that has worked reliably for years but no way is it in the class of the Explorer or Trailblaza. Still Waeco are a lot cheaper and in many situations could be the choice as would a lot of other brands.
The 2x40 litre versus 1 larger combined fridge freezer comes down to price. There is extra versatility in having two smaller units. They could be run both as fridges or one of each or both as freezers. Power consumption would be higher as would bulk and most likely cost. I thought about that option but went for the Explorer recently and am happy with the choice.
Flynnie
Reply By: iambiscuit - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 20:57
Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 20:57
we have had a 40L Engel for two adults and two now teenage kids and find it more than enough. It draws low amps and doesn't take up heaps of room in the car and I can lift it fully loaded unlike some of the bigger units.
Reply By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 21:59
Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 21:59
Hi Marco
I have both a 40lt Engel and and a 38lt Waeco. The original plan was to use the one of them as a freezer but found that you use too much
battery power.
We now use the Waeco for a drinks fridge that way it is a lot easier to get to food, also we found that the temp in kept more constant for the food as it is not getting opened all the time or being reloaded with warm drinks.
Like some others have mentioned, I do not think it is important to have a freezer you just need to cryovac your meat etc. for longer trips.
Oh, for what its worth, the Engel wins hands down compared to the Waeco in my opinion.