road ranger AAAGGGHHH!

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 22:55
ThreadID: 74585 Views:20849 Replies:16 FollowUps:20
Two days into DECA Heavy Rigid training.. Test tomorrow and I can't stop the crunching!

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 22:58

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 22:58
Watch the rev counter and don't push the clutch down too far Royce.

Good Luck

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 396134

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 23:01

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 23:01
Don't worry about it, every truck I've driven with a road ranger it makes that sound.... there must be something wrong with them.. LOL

AnswerID: 396136

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 16:37

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 16:37
HA HA HA, ROFL! Good one Richard! :-)
FollowupID: 664914

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 23:37

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 23:37
That's why they put em in a closed up box, can't have the teeth dropping out on the road.
AnswerID: 396139

Reply By: disco driver - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 00:43

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 00:43
Hi Royce,
I can sympathise with you, but you haven't lived till you've driven a B series Mack with a quadbox.

Good luck with your test.

Disco.
AnswerID: 396142

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 18:15

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 18:15
Thanks Disco... got it!
FollowupID: 664936

Reply By: Roughasguts - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 01:06

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 01:06
Heres somthing I cut and pasted, Hope it helps

"ALWAYS use the clutch in ALL gear changes".
Some of the older style rto910's and rto913direct boxes could be driven with out a clutch but damage was sill there, Plenty of 'cowboys' out there will tell that "we non't need clutches they are only for sisseys" wrong if you do an endorsment with any Heavey vehcile instructor and do not use the clutch you will FAIL

Here Is some tips from the notes i hand out when training Road Train drivers for thier endorsments.

**** IMPORTANT***.Always preselect all range shifts when upshifting or downshifting. the preselection requieres that the range lever is moved to the needed position before starting the shift.
Preselected range shifts are completed auto maticly as the gear stick is moved through the neutral position and into the next gear, This preselection of ALL range shifts prevents damage to the gear box and provides a much smoother shift.

*The Range lever selects LO or HI ranger And is used once during the up shift sequence and once during the downshift sequence.

* SPLITTER SHIFT*
* When in LO or HI range the ratios can be split by useing the splitter button The Lo range "L: rearward position privides for LO to 4th gear.the LO range "HI" forward postion splits each of these gears giving 10 ratios in LO range.
The HI range "L" rearward position povides for 5th too 8th gear The HI range "H" forward postion splits each of these gears privding 8 ratios in HI range 18 progressive ratios can be obtained.

*The clutch Brake*
Most trucks will have one of these.the clutch brake is applied be depressi ng the clutch pedal al the way to the floor. When applied the brake slows down and can stop the transmission frount box gearing.This make for easer initial gear selection from standstill.
***NEVER**** use the clutch brake when upshifting or down shifting. Only to be used for initial gear engagment when standing still.

A coulpe of quick tips.
Awayes select an initial starting gear that provided sufficent reduction for load and terrain.

Always use normal double-clutching procedures when making lever shifts.

Never slam or jerk the gear stick to complete gear engagments

Never coast with the gear stick in the neutral position.

Never move the range lever with the gear stick in neutral whilst the vehicle is moving.

Never make a range shift whilst in reverse.

Never downshift at too high a road speed.

Never make a splitter shift whist moving in reverse

UPSHIFT PROCEDURE
CAUTION..Never move the range lever or splitter button with the gearstick in neutral while the truck is moving.

Splitter shift.LO range "L" to LO range "H"(LO "L" to LO "H")

1. preslect just before makingan upshift by moving the button forward while maintaining accelerator position.

2. Then immediately release the accelerator, depress the clutch pedal once to break the torque release the pedal to reengage the clutch, allow the engine to decelerate until the shift is complete. continue driving or upshifting the transmission shifts from "L" to "H" when synchronouns is reached.

Combination lever and splitter shift. LO range"H" to LO range "L"
(LO "H" to 1st "L")
3.Pre select just before making an upshift by moving the splitter button rearwards while maintaing accelerator position.

4.Move the shift leaver, double-clutching to the 1st gear position.
NOTE. if the splitter is not moved the gear box 1st HI once the final clutch engagement is made.

5. Continue upshifting through the shift pattern. Double-clutching during lever shifts, and single -clutching split shifts while the leaver is in the same position.

Comination lever and splitter shift, Lo range "H" to HI range "L" (4th HI to 5th LO) Range change
6.preselect just before making the upshift by moving the button rearwardswhile maintaining accelerator position.
7. pull up the range lever move the gear stick double-clutching to 5th slot . If the splitter is no moved the transmissin will be in 5th "H" once the final clutch engagment is made.
8. splitting the 'top' box is the same as splitting the bottom box.

Time for brekky will put more up soon the down shift sequence
AnswerID: 396143

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 01:30

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 01:30
10. alway drive someone else's truck
FollowupID: 664855

Follow Up By: Member - David G (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 19:26

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 19:26
Sorry to have to tell you this ole mate but if you preselect the earlier model r/rs 900 and 12.5 series you will most definately have a great deal of noise and no motion as the box will neutralise and you will have to stop the vehicle and start again preselect only arrived on the scene when the 18speed box arrived. also i have owned and driven all makes of truck gear boxes and have yet to have destroyed any through non use of the clutch but as you say non use when taking a test will fail you.

To you all a safe and happy xmas and new year

FollowupID: 664941

Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 09:12

Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 09:12
YES ,when I was learning how to drive a truck,on the last day the instructor (and owner) showed me how to shift the RR without the clutch
FollowupID: 665017

Reply By: Horacehighroller - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 08:13

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 08:13
Don't panic Royce,

It requires confidence.

Once you get it, you'll get it!

Where are you doing the training - at (near) Morwell?

AnswerID: 396149

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 18:06

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 18:06
Yep.. Newborough DECA... AND I GOT IT!!!

Another sleep did it. This morning I got stuck in and the box became a sweet thing! Now I get why they use them.

A big effort to get there though.
FollowupID: 664933

Reply By: Dasher Des - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 09:24

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 09:24
None of the above can be right. We haven't heard from Doug yet. LOLOL
AnswerID: 396157

Reply By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 09:29

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 09:29
My old man had a 13 spd roadranger in his T line international in the early 80s.he could go up all 13 and down all of about 10 without a crunch(can only go down to about 4th or 5th-wont go lower without the crunches) it just takes practice. it took me a few years to do it without the crunching or even a restart.as for using the clutch every change-NO WAY ON THAT THING!! the clutch was really heavy,only a few operations and my leg and hip was hurting. so chin up sunshine you will get it right.
AnswerID: 396158

Reply By: Witi Repartee - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 09:51

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 09:51
Hey bro...if you can't find it..grind it!!!
AnswerID: 396162

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 16:33

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 16:33
Yep, it's the best way to give the teeth their regular "clean"
FollowupID: 664911

Reply By: signman - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 11:02

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 11:02
Two days training- and test tomorrow !! Hmmmmm.

AnswerID: 396169

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 18:07

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 18:07
I got it!!!! Downpour of rain as we set off for the test, then a couple of fourbies crashed in the middle of town and I had to negotiate. I'm wrapt.
FollowupID: 664935

Reply By: Dean - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 13:30

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 13:30
What signman said, only 2 days training and you can jump into one of these things. It's not surprising so many run into things.
Dean
AnswerID: 396184

Reply By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 14:56

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 14:56
Get the revs right and don't delay in your down change and you won't crunch.. If you are getting your revs right, but then have a pause in between your revs being up and then changing down, well by the time you go to change down you have lost your revs.. hence crunch..

You'll be right Royce.. but if you are not confident at sitting your driving test and your instructor isn't confident you'll pass it... then don't waste your money, postpone your test and get in some more lessons.
AnswerID: 396192

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 16:36

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 16:36
Jo, you make it all sound so easy - "get the revs right..." just like that! LOL
FollowupID: 664913

Follow Up By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 16:46

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 16:46
Make it sound so easy.. I am far from an expert and have a lot to learn also, but once I learned to get my revs right with lots of practise and down changed straight away, no delaying by even a few seconds it was easy and no crunching..
Would I have passed my test if I wasn't doing it right?
FollowupID: 664916

Follow Up By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 17:05

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 17:05
FollowupID: 664921

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 17:22

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 17:22
I agree Jo, it's just reminded me of my Dad teaching me to drive "it stalled last time you did that, so why did you think it wouldn't stall this time when you did it?!" LOL. It comes down to lots of time practising so that you can "get the revs right" fairly consistently. Practice, practice, practice...!

As you've said, some of us never stop learning... the ones that do? Well, you don't want to be in the car, truck, bus, whatever or even sharing the road while they're driving! :-)
FollowupID: 664926

Follow Up By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 17:35

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 17:35
I realised, for myself that I was crunching if I revved too high or like I wrote, I would get my rev up right, but then I would delay a few seconds of putting it into gear, those few seconds delay totally made the difference as to whether I would crunch or get the gear in smoothly first go, The only gear I ever became really consistent at crunching was going from 6th to 5th. It did not matter how spot on I was with my revs,and even if I had no delay, 5th gear always always always crunched!!!!!! I hated 5th gear in that truck!
FollowupID: 664932

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 18:07

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 18:07
Ah, I had it easy - synchromesh all the way! And now the modern Scanias even have "Comfort Shift" to pre-select any gear - just shift the little joystick, and nothing happens until you press the clutch, then the electrics swap the cogs for you - it almost makes round-abouts and traffic-calmers possible!

Then the RTA forgot to put the "synchromesh only" condition on my licence...
FollowupID: 664934

Follow Up By: dusty canvas - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 20:24

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 20:24
getting out of the auto allison and geting into a new 13 speed RR tommrow, which are easyer ,new tight boxes or older ones?

Ive heard conflicting eveidence lol

cheers all
FollowupID: 664954

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 22:06

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 22:06
RTOLF16/6/18....Use the clutch to start and stop,,,thats it.
Every other change is on the fly so to speak. Just get the revs right.....lol

meow.

doggytease.
AnswerID: 396241

Reply By: brownie - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 23:42

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 23:42
mate, its not that hard to do, but as others have been kind enough to tell you-you must get the revs right !!

A simple statement to make, here is some theory as to what to do.....

what you are trying to do is to make 2 different gears rotate at the same speed , and at the time YOU want , then a smootrh shift will happen.

I've had about 40 years driving various nonsynchro boxes, so I don't have a problem changing the gears, but it is a bit tricky to start with

In the examples given below, your gearbox/engine combination will be different,the numbers I give are only to illustrate the point. But with a bit of practice you will be ok

How to change down - If you are travelling on flat ground at 40kph in 4th gear the engine will be doing 1300 rpm
and you want to change down to 3rd gear then you have to think to yourself -'what rpm will this engine be doing at 40kph in 3rd gear ?' - probably about 1700 rpm
Press the clutch in, move gearstick to neutral, let clutch out, rev engine to from 1300 to 1700 rpm, push clutch in move gearstick to 3rd = no crunchies
If you are going downhill, then the truck will speed up during the gearchange(gravity) so rev the engine a bit more - say to 1800 rpm
If you are going uphill, then the truck will slow down during the gearchange (gravity again) so only rev engine to 1600 rpm.

How to change up - push clutch in, move gearstick to neutral,let clutch out,push clutch in, change up 1 gear
DO NOT REV ENGINE IN NEUTRAL when changing up

Be quick with the clutch/gearstick movements

Hope this helps a bit

brownie

AnswerID: 396251

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 00:11

Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 00:11
Im confused, clutch or no clutch when shifting? I have always been shown that once you have taken off you dont use the clutch, except maybe for splitting gears or something?

Whats the go here
FollowupID: 664984

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 08:15

Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 08:15
I got back in the truck yesterday morning and things went way more smoothly. I understand the principles of how the gear shifting works, but to remember and get the timing and revs right is a bit hard to master in a couple of days. Anyway... I did! Passed the test.
I'm a bit sad that our truck is syncro.... seems a waste now that I've just about got the Road Ranger under control.

All the advise was appreciated!
FollowupID: 665005

Follow Up By: brownie - Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 10:11

Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 10:11
re using/not using the clutch -- The RoadRanger instruction manual and website recomend using the clutch at all times. I would recomend this if you are learning (and you must do it when taking the test anyway)
Some people use the clutch all the time, others never, but I use it in the mornings when the gearbox is cold, when driving up hills with a heavy load & when going down the gears with the Jacobs Brake on. Otherwise I just slip the change through using timing & revs. Works for me.......

cheers, brownie
FollowupID: 665024

Reply By: Member -Tukka (WA) - Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 12:59

Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 12:59
G'day Royce

I have my L plates for HR aswell and been learning to drive the work truck. It too has a road ranger, bloody terrible thing to drive when your trying to learn arn't they.

It's all about getting the revs spot on when getting the gear change and not trying to change too quick. The guy that is teaching me kept telling me to change with out the clutch but i found while learning its alot easier using the clutch.

I found that when going up through the gears to get the revs up to about 2200-2500 and then double the clutch and its all smooth, coming back down letting the revs drop to 1500 then give it a quick stab of the throttle and down she goes. But i spose it all depends on what truck it is too.

Good luck with it

AnswerID: 396297

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 13:40

Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 13:40
Tukka, as others have said on here, when you go for your test, for some reason, they want you to use the clutch. And they will fail you if you don't.

After you have your licence, you can practice without the clutch if you want.

FollowupID: 665039

Follow Up By: Member -Tukka (WA) - Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 14:38

Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 14:38
Thats right. You want to master the truck before you start trying to change with out the clutch
FollowupID: 665044

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 13:33

Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 13:33
Congratulations Royce, see, nothing to it if you let RR know who's boss.

It is supposed to be doing what you want it to do, not the other way around.

AnswerID: 396302