GIC Camper Trailers

Submitted: Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 22:38
ThreadID: 74894 Views:14047 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
Looking for some feedback on GIC camper trailers. Price seems very reasonable but maybe too good. Thanks

Reply By: ajd - Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 23:10

Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 23:10
I think campers generally fall into two categories.

1. Cheap ones, a trailer with a tent screwed to the top, great for a convenient camp setup with plenty of roof area for long stays.

2. Dearer ones with serious suspension for travelling on outback roads with plenty of stops so quicker setup required.

Just my opinion.
AnswerID: 397674

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 00:27

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 00:27
Yes, basicly hard floor campers with all the 'goodys' and the much cheaper soft floor campers.Price is a good guide--you get what you pay for.
AnswerID: 397683

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 13:02

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 13:02
Thought I better apologise before I get into more strife. Hadnt read your post
before I posted...didnt mean to aim directly at you in that fashion...was trying to say that sometimes the cheaper option is all that is required. cheers...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 666597

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 11:51

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 11:51
G'day Biggy, my old shearer mate bought a GIC last year & has just broke it in down the NSW coast at Xmas. He says everything worked fine & he is more than happy with the unit & the price..around $4.5k I think for the offroad
trailer & a tent including annex walls & floor. I am amused by the "You get what you pay for" lot, who criticize the budget campers. Sometimes you "get want you
want". How you find another $25k worth in a $30k camper is way beyond me.
I put together an offroad trailer (similar specs to GIC) And a Oztrail top for
under $5k...We have done nearly 30k of mostly outback touring with no hassles
whatsoever. Only cost is a set of shackle bushes so far. Leaf sprung, no shocks
...no problems. If you have any particular questions I am happy to ask him.
cheers...oldbaz.
AnswerID: 397725

Follow Up By: ajd - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 12:40

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 12:40
If you are happy with th quality and features of a $5K camper thats great.

I wanted a bit more so I dished out some more cash for what I wanted, a purpose built offroad trailer.

Just my opinion,

FollowupID: 666593

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 12:57

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 12:57
ajd, oops, sorry if I caused any offence, didnt mean to. Just my opinion as well.
What sort of "serious" suspension do you consider necessary for your type of 4wd
trips ?. I cant agree that the more expensive setups are quicker to set up, but we
usually dont bother with the annex & never peg down. Always use the silver tarp
over the top though, no stains or wet packups & only takes 5 min. cheers...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 666596

Follow Up By: ajd - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 13:11

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 13:11
My Pioneer camper is set up in about 2 minutes (just the basic setup - no annex) and it has trailing arm suspension with Koni dampers (it rides better than the Patrol).

We mostly take it up into the Vic High Country or longer trips into the desert.

Suits me because I only ever do overnight stops.

On anothe topic how is the Jackaroo going?

FollowupID: 666598

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 13:29

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 13:29
I have to concede defeat on the setup time..takes the childbride & I ten minutes
to get to the first stubby stage. Not long back from 5 weeks to WA & back which incuded some longer stops. Nice not to have to pack up every morning.
That ugly box called Jack just goes on impressing me, mainly due to its trouble
free nature, easy towing & reasonable economy...got 15L/100 on WA trip towing
the Scroogemobile, with big headwinds all the way over. Apart from normal
service I havent put a spanner on it in almost 40k...now up to 125k on clock.
It's a bloody bargain I reckon...still good ones around with low k's for $10k & up.
No better way to get into a real 4by for the budget conscious I reckon.
Transation...tight arses ..like me. cheers...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 666599

Follow Up By: ajd - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 13:31

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 13:31
They always had a great engine and good build quality.

They are still made for other markets around the world.

FollowupID: 666600

Reply By: redpaso - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 12:07

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 12:07
G'day, After much research a few months ago I purchased an extreme off road camper from Mario trailers. They use the same tents as GIC which I also considered. I paid $6750 for a fully hot dip gal 7x4 with 7 leaf off road eye to eye springs, 65l water tank, trigg off road hitch, tailgate kitchenette shelf unit 2x Gas bottle holder, 2x Gerrycan holder & gas struts to lift the tent. The tent includes full annex & has midge proof screens. the unit also had 12 months rego. Admittedly I have not had the opportunity for major use but so far I think it has definately been worth the investment & I really struggle to justify spending many times more for some of the units on the market, particularily for the use it will get. the tent is really well made & zips are strong. It is easy to erect & is 15oz Ripstop canvas.
The trailer is well build although a little more time could have been spent on the finishing off particularily before it was galvanised & the second hand tyres (on new rims) are past it but otherwise I am extremely happy with mine. The GIC trailers are basically the same & I believe these two companies were once in business together.
I am planning a trip to Ayers Rock mid this year & will ensure that I have given everything a good shakedown prior to leaving. I have a list of mods I want to do such as adding power & LED lighting which is cheap & easy enough even for me to do. My planned usage will be getting out at least one long weekend a month into the bush (not caravan parks) with 2 - 3 extended touring trips a year. I think this has been a good purchase & is excellant value for money.
AnswerID: 397727

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 13:42

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 13:42
Just recalled old shearer mate saying he will have zippers put in the corners of the
one piece annex walls, so that each of the 3 sides can be attached separately.
Bit of a pain to put up in one piece & better ventilation as sides can be left off or
pegged out for exta shade...oldbaz.
AnswerID: 397742

Follow Up By: redpaso - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 15:43

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 15:43
the latest tents from Mario (so presumably GIC) have 3 piece now as well!
FollowupID: 666611