Tool question: 1/2" socket adaptor for cordless driver?

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 22:05
ThreadID: 74925 Views:6434 Replies:8 FollowUps:13
Does anybody know if there is such a beast? I'm imagining a hex shaped fitting that fits into the chuck of a cordless drill and has a 1/2" male drive (the same as a normal rachet socket bar or breaker bar etc), that would take a series of sockets.

I have just bought a Makita 1/2" drive rattle gun (18v cordless), but if I could also get a something along the same lines for the matching cordless drill, it would be great too. I know the drill doesn't have the same torque capabilities of the rattle gun, but it'd be good anyway.

BTW, the 18v rattle gun is GREAT. I removed the 6 M8 bolts that hold my bash plate on in the blink of an eye today.....!!!!

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 22:19

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 22:19
Gday Roachie,
You can usually get this set of 3 at the common parts shops like supacheap, or on Ebay: LINK
AnswerID: 397834

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 23:14

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 23:14
Thanks Phil...exactly what I was after......
FollowupID: 666675

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 23:21

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 23:21
That big shop starting with Bu......... has them too. I have a set on my bench.

I am interested in the rattle gun though, I better look further.......
FollowupID: 666678

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 08:35

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 08:35
Yes, the rattle gun is a great tool. I've just ordered a torque limiting extension bar (90ft/lb) from the USA, so I can do my wheel nuts up without fear of over-tightening them. However, it has so many other uses than just on wheel nuts.
FollowupID: 666700

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 09:32

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 09:32
I looked at the Hitachi rattle gun after using one in our plumber's locally. It was good and has a good capacity.

So carry a rattle gun AND torque limiting extension bar rather than a torque wrench? Maaaate ;-)))
FollowupID: 666709

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 20:28

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 20:28
I guess it's my lucky day.............

I went into ebay and found an auction for that set of 3 driver bits. It was at $12.00 when I saw it and I put in a maximum bid of $25-. Somebody has outbid me so I've dropped out.

This afternoon, I dropped in to a local tool shop (supplies stuff for farmers and tradesmen etc). Blow me down....there was the same set of 3 drivers for $8.00

Bargain!!!!!

Thanks again to all who have responded.

FollowupID: 666977

Reply By: Wilk0 - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 22:45

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 22:45
Hi Roachie,

I made my on with a damaged extension bar It works well.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 397840

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 23:15

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 23:15
Thanks Wilko, too bad I don't have a stuffed driver I can modify....but great idea.....
FollowupID: 666676

Reply By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 23:12

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 23:12
Very handy for raising & lowering the caravan legs too.

Regards - Phil
Phil 'n Jill (WA)

AnswerID: 397845

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 23:17

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 23:17
Thanks Phil, I'll try and store that idea away for some years' time when I have to resort to a wobbly-box to take over from the camper trailer's duties...hahaha
FollowupID: 666677

Reply By: Outnabout.. - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 23:39

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 23:39
Hi Roachie,

Long time no speak! Hows life after banking? As Phil G has said most auto shops have tem. I am sure someone in Kadina would have them or get them in for you. We will have to catch up with you sometime...Just got to find the time.
On a sidenote those rattle guns are great for removing old shockers when the whole shocker wants to turn.

AnswerID: 397849

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 08:32

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 08:32
G'day mate, yes it has been a long time.......

The Makita rattle gun is a little beauty; wished I'd had one years ago. I guess I might be selling off one of my Shentai units now. They're a great unit too, but cordless wins everytime.

FollowupID: 666699

Reply By: joeblogs - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 17:04

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 17:04

The Hitachi is a great impact wrench with loads of torque it also has a slightly smaller 1/2 inch male drive. There is a chuck that is available from Panasonic it is a 6.5mm Hex-Drive Chuck [Model No: EY9HX110E] that will fit the Hitachi making it an impact driver the chucks are around$48 and are quite strong.
The Hitachi also uses lithium batteries which is a bonus

http://Panasonic.com.au/products/details.cfm?objectID=227
AnswerID: 397940

Reply By: Member - John - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 19:51

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 19:51
Roachie two questions, where did you get it and how does the torque limiting extension bar work? Thanks in advance, John

AnswerID: 397964

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 21:17

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 21:17
I haven't rec'd the torque limiting bar yet....coming from Canada. I know they are available here in Australia, but I live in a country town with no Bunnings, Super-cheap etc and i couldn't find them on local ebay except in a package of about 5 bars with varying torque specs.

Torque Limiting extension bar

From what I can gather, the shaft of the bar starts to twist/distort when the torque factor is reached.....then it's time to stop.

I noticed from looking at the pictures of the packs that contain several bars, that the shafts are varying thicknesses, so that it apparently how they manage to build-in the torque limiting ability.

FollowupID: 666808

Follow Up By: kev.h - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 22:32

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 22:32
Hi John & Roachie

"From what I can gather, the shaft of the bar starts to twist/distort when the torque factor is reached.....then it's time to stop. "

They twist like a torsion bar and can regulate the torque by absorbing the impact, the torque is governed by the shaft diameter they will only work with an impact wrench -(they don't work with direct drive (drill etc ) or by hand because as you twist them the torque increases) - they rely on a small amount of twist on impact then spring back between impacts like torsion bar suspension on a car
Not sure if that helps but what the heck its my two bobs worth
FollowupID: 666826

Reply By: Fatso - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 21:02

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 21:02
You have inspired me Roachie.
I went down to Glenfords & bought one today. They have them in single units in with the other drill bits or in packs of 3.
1/2 inch drive cost $7.
I am going to make the mower electric start. 240 volt electric start.
AnswerID: 397973

Follow Up By: Fatso - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 21:05

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 21:05
Should have said I got the 1/2 inch drive bit & not the impact wrench.
I think a 1/2 inch drive impact wrench would be a bit more than $7 anyway
FollowupID: 666800

Follow Up By: Fatso - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:27

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:27
OK the mower is now electric start.
1/2" sochet drive in the 240 v drill & a 19 mm socket on the top of the crankshaft.
Just hope the nut doesn't come loose when cranking her over.
FollowupID: 667002

Reply By: Member - John - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 22:12

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 22:12
Thanks for the reply on the torque bar, but where did you get the impact driver from and rough price please. Thanks in advance. John

AnswerID: 397992

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 08:54

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 08:54
Makita BTW251

This is the one I bought.... seems to have been the best price going. Australian sites are selling them for about $210-.

However, bear in mind this is for the bare tool. You also need to a battery and a charger.

I made a BIG decision and bought (from the USA), 3 tools (drill, impact and angle grinder), plus 3 batteries and a 110v charger. I already have a step down transformer, so that part was not a problem.

The Lithium-Ion batteries are expensive, but I'm given to understand they are much better than the Ni-Cad batteries of the previous generation of battery-operated tools.

FollowupID: 666872