troopy bearing help

Currently having the fun job of replacing the hand brake shoes, brake pads, rotors. Will service the bearings at the same time. Just need info for the rear today, will confront the front in a few weeks.
How do I get to the rear bearings, see attached picture. Do the Philips head screws have to be undoImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Foundne? Hope not, as they are too tight to undo by hand, Impact screwdriver maybe? Any info re the rear axle oil seal and any other seals that need to be replaced at the same time?
Thanks for your time.
Cheers Lyndon
Ps, that is rust on the axle.
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

Reply By: Member - Andrew L (QLD) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 20:41

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 20:41
eewwwww..!!..That looks terrible.

You'll need to sue a impact screw driver to gently tap the lock ring screw undone to remove the threaded lock ring to access the wheel bearings.

To undo the and retighten the rear wheel bearing locknut you'll need one of these.

The color of the grease imncates you've had some moisture in there for a while, and I reckon you will be replacing the wheel bearings as well, have a look at the races and cones when you clean them up.

I'd be loooking at why you got the water/moisture in there... seal, or standard diff breather and it's been for a shallow swim while the rear axle/diff is hot..
AnswerID: 398377

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 21:46

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 21:46
Thanks for the info, haver one of those tools, not sure if it will help at the back.

FollowupID: 667277

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 10:22

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 10:22
That's a front bearing tool in the pic..... the rear one looks like a ring with three prongs that engadge into the lock ring.
FollowupID: 667366

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 15:41

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 15:41
I use a 3/8th 3-prong oil filter removal tool for the rears, but you can make up a tool pretty easiily. And yes Lyndon, you'll need an impact driver for those two phillips heads.
FollowupID: 667441

Reply By: kiwicol1 - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 20:58

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 20:58
Bloody hell, prefer the nissan to replace bearings on any day.

Col
AnswerID: 398384

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 21:48

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 21:48
though it is not proving as easy as i'd hoped I'm sure it is easier than replacing the engine!! :-)

FollowupID: 667279

Follow Up By: kiwicol1 - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 18:55

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 18:55
true, but i have the 4.2 diesel with a super charger on top, 370,000ks, and still going strong, and no computor. Col
FollowupID: 667479

Reply By: ctaplin - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 21:16

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 21:16
Hi Lyndon,
Maybe the overnight soak in salty brine when the tide came in during your Cape Arnhem bogging has something to do with the rust and the condition of the grease!
As suggested, it might be wise to fit new wheel bearings along with seals. Also have you checked the colour of the diff oil and do you have extended breathers fitted?

AnswerID: 398389

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 22:00

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 22:00
Hey Chris
How is my IT expert enjoying the new year?
I have no doubt that is the cause, should have got to it sooner. The vehicle is a bit hard to work on where we live as I'm sure my bashing the hub cone washers today was not appreciated. Can't see how I can get those Philips head screws undone. Tried by hand and they started to strip the head straight away so I gave it awa

Cheers Lyndon

FollowupID: 667283

Follow Up By: ctaplin - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 22:18

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 22:18
I think they are the same as the HJ47 & HJ75 I that I had around 20 years ago but I remember using an impact driver on those Phillips head screws???
Too long ago or maybe too many beers but others will have done that job recently...

FollowupID: 667291

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 08:49

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 08:49
Hi Chris
Actually the diff oil looks ok, will replace anyway. And to think I thought the emotional and financial stress of THE BOGGING had all been left behind in Gove, not so it would seem.

FollowupID: 667347

Reply By: donk - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 21:33

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 21:33
To remove the rear wheel bearing nut you just unscrew the phillips head screws & wind the big nut off (the picture of the big box spanner shown in a earlier reply is incorrect as it is for the front wheel bearing nuts not the rear nut)

The correct tool has pins on it that engage into the holes in the nut but you can use a couple of screwdrivers to poke into the holes in the nut with another screwdriver to turn the screwdrivers instead of the correct tool

While you have it apart replace the axle seal that pushes into the end of the axle housing as well asw the hub seal & hub gasket

Regards Don
AnswerID: 398392

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 22:05

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 22:05
Thanks Don. As for the Philips head screws, I HATE THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! When will builders of cars and bikes give them away for bolt heads!!
Re undoing the nut, could be interesting, how will I go getting the correct preload on the bearing after.
Cheers Lyndon

FollowupID: 667284

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 22:30

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 22:30
Lyndon,
Don as usual, is 100% correct.

I found the only way to get those screws out was with an impact driver.

Keep in mind belting bearings with a hammer isn't good for them.

Then again, the fact there's been moisture in that hub would indicate they need replacing ayway.

Last one of those I pulled apart I took the Phillips screws to the local engineering supplies place (such as Blackwoods) and bought the equivalent in Unbrako socket headed cap screws. No more plasticine Japanese Phillips heads for this little black duck!

Pity you and I live so far apart, you could have had my 3 pronged service tool for as long as you needed to set the pre-load on the new bearings.

FollowupID: 667296

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 08:45

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 08:45
Should the seal shown at the end of the axle be replaced? I think there is a big seal further in the axle at the diff end, is this correct?

FollowupID: 667346

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 09:09

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 09:09
Hi Lyndon,
The seal at the end of the stub axle should certainly be replaced. This seal is what stops the diff oil getting into the wheel bearing grease and polluting it.

There is no "big seal further in the axle at the diff end"

If you have a look at the axle shaft you have removed their is a ground and polished seal surface just behind the hub flange (shown in your photo's) from there to the splines the axle is rough forged indicating nowhere for another seal to run.

Hope that helps,

FollowupID: 667348

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 10:13

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 10:13
Thanks Geoff, next question,err I didn't mark the axle when I took it out. I think there are two ways this can go in. I have a fair idea of which way it goes but if I get it wrong does it matter?

FollowupID: 667363

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 10:43

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 10:43
Hi Lyndon,
I've never marked the rear axle position and aren't to sure if it's even important!

The Toyota manuals I had years ago never mentioned marking the flange to hub relationship for re-assembly.

I've only ever just bunged em back so the bolts all line up.

I was thinking earlier about your dilemma with the 3-pronged pre-load setting tool. I'd get in touch with these blokes Hobzee's or I'd get on the net and lookup Don Kyatt.

Both of them should have the tool aftermarket at a lot less than Toyota.

I bought mine off Toyota that long ago the bloke had to look the part number up on Microfiche!

FollowupID: 667371

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 11:10

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 11:10
thanks geoff, kyatt's have the tool for $53

FollowupID: 667385

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 22:18

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 22:18
Hi Lyndon

I had a 1986 ute for years. Great machine.

Yes you have to use an impact screwdriver to get those phillips heads out. Only way I found

Did you know there is a cheap toyota spare parts place across the road from Toyota in Darwin. Toyota own the shop as well. The shop only stock older model parts. The cheapest bearings I could find when living in Darwin. Also the front and rear bearings on the 1986 where the same bearing but had different parts numbers and different prices.

I made myself a simple tool for tightening the rear hubs - a flat plate with three rods of 6mm diameter welded to the right shape of the lock screw. Welded a handle to it and it worked a treat.

To get the right preload on the bearings I would tighten them up till the wheel would barely turn once. Then loosen again and tighten up until you feel the pressure going on and only take it to the next hole for the phillips screws to go into.

I have the toyota manual here for 2h models which should be about the same for yours. I can scan the pages and send them to you.

AnswerID: 398409

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 08:41

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 08:41
Hi David
Yes, Iv'e just become aware of the place across from Toyota. Bought the shoes for the hand brake there as they were $40, $220 at Toyota!
I have the manual though it doesn't show a great deal of detail. I wish it were like my old Dahiatsu manual, that was so detailed it was amazing.
Live in an apartment block so I won't be able to make up that tool, I wonder how far I will have to bend over if I buy it through Toyota???

FollowupID: 667345

Reply By: donk - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 10:37

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 10:37
For those who are interested this is what the toyota sst looks like Site Link (part number 09509 25011) shown on the 2nd page

Regards Don
AnswerID: 398460

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 10:47

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 10:47
Thanks Don, unfortunately that PDF won't load for me?

FollowupID: 667373

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 10:51

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 10:51
i can see it's 1.29 Mb, refreshed, still won't load :-(
Wanted to see it as I'm off to Toyota in a minute.

FollowupID: 667374

Follow Up By: donk - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 11:05

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 11:05
This also shows it Site Link

Regards Don
FollowupID: 667381

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 20:42

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 20:42
Thanks Don, bought one of those tools this morning, figured it would be handy should I every need it in the bush. Glad I found out at home as I just assumed it would be the same locking set up as the front.

FollowupID: 667503

Reply By: Member - Kevin B1 (WA) - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 11:23

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 11:23
With regard to removing the Philips head screws, get a flat ended punch and hammer and give the Philips head a smart hit on the head. You will then be able to undo them no problem, may need a couple of hits if real tight. This will also firm up the fit of the screw driver also.
AnswerID: 398470

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 20:34

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 20:34
Thanks Kevin
Worked a treat, didn't need that inpact driver after all.
Cheers Lyndon

FollowupID: 667499

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 20:46

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 20:46
Lyndon good job.

how did you go getting the rear axles out? you should see the mess my Toyota dealer has made of mine, I have had to have words with them on a couple of occasions.

AnswerID: 398556

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 08:44

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 08:44
Hi Richard
The hardest thing was those darn cone washers. Had to use a lump of brass a really bash the stud to get them loose(left the nut on, loose). Can't say I’m real happy about the thread condition of the studs but they have done up ok. Had it been a working day I would have bought some and replaced a few, will get some, plus nuts as I think they will have had it next time they are undone. Getting the axle itself out was easy using two puller bolts in the holes provided. What did the stealer stuff up on yours?
Cheers Lyndon

FollowupID: 667756

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 21:12

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 21:12
Lyndon

Yer thats where the Toyota people have the trouble, in the book it has a little Japanese man with he's bump hat on giving it a hit with a hammer, they say that does not work and have to hit the flange, and bruise the crap out of it. I said OK but file up the damage and give it a coat of paint so it looks better.. LOL

So they do now everyone is happy.

Go to have a go..

FollowupID: 667863

Reply By: Member - lyndon NT - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 20:47

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 20:47
Update. Firstly a big thanks for everyone's input. Left side rear, new bearings as the old one's were rusty, the race was still perfect but obviously changed the lot. New pads, rear rotors machined, new hand brake shoes. Great, one wheel down 3 to go!! :-)
Cheers Lyndon

AnswerID: 398558

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 01:02

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 01:02
Good one Lyndon, well done.

For all the effort in stripping the assembly down don't skimp on bearings or seals, replace the lot.

FollowupID: 667545

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 08:48

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 08:48
G'day John
Have replaced, bearings, gaskets, seals, brake pads and shoes. The front will be next, I think I will probably replace all the bearings in the front end. I'm hoping the front isn't as rusty as the rear.
Cheers Lyndon

FollowupID: 667758

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 09:03

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 09:03
Was both sides of the rear the same as the photos?

Meaning did both rear sides suffer the water ingress?

FollowupID: 667761

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 09:00

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 09:00
Hi John
The left(photo shown) was the worst, though the right hand side wasn't much better. My own fault for not attending to it earlier as I'm guessing this water got in 18 months ago when badly bogged in Arnhem Land.
Cheers Lyndon
Ps, there is a link to a website with some tips on rebuilding the front end, do you know what it is?

FollowupID: 667917

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 12:56

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 12:56
Gday Lyndon,
I think this is the link you're after.

phil