Well i have gone and done it now

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 00:39
ThreadID: 75045 Views:4453 Replies:6 FollowUps:15
Howdy folks. well i have gone and did what i thought i would never do.

I have gone and left behind the ''Oh what a feeling'' and became a ''Zoom Zoom Zoom man''. And it feels great.

Sold the Prado and got a brand new Mazda BT 50 SDX Boss. May i say that the power is unreal, and i am very happy with it. In all honesty it is every bit as good as a Hilux if not better. I couldnt believe how well these things drove. I love it. For $38,990 its definitely a bargain. Poor thing is only 5 days old and already has 2700k's on it. Fuel economy is around 11l/100kms i think so far, but that was sitting on 115km/hr and up to 130km/hr. Speed creeps up very easy, the grunt is unreal. They even come stock with Bridgestone Dueler 693s, i was wrapt when i seen that. My prefered tyre straight from the factory, what a bonus. They chucked in some weathershields, Perth street directory and full tank of diesel but that was it, but for that price i wasnt complaining. Every other Mazda dealer in Perth would not drop under $41,990 , but these guys dropped it straight to $38,990. I would like to give the guys at Parkland Mazda in Melville (Perth) a big thankyou and recommend them. Of course they tried a little to push this way or that way but at the end of the day they went out of there way big time to seal the deal in very short time for us so we could get home. They honestly were great to deal with and at no point were we pressured or made to feel uncomfortable.

Now comes the task of kitting it out to suit, a task i love doing but the wallet doesnt. First few mods will be

Steel Bullbar
Cruise Control
Window Tint
Sports Bars
Rhino Tub Lining
Scangauge II
HID Spotties
Dual Batteries

After they are all done might consider Long range tank, UHF, and some good speakers. I plan to keep car for at least 6 years, hopefully anyway as i would like to kit it out to suit my needs and then hang on to it for as long as possible. As long as the grunt doesnt go anywhere i will be happy with it as its all we need and having a ute again has already paid off. Although it has its bad points too, (helping move/cart gear for others).

So some on all you BT and Ranger owners come out of the woodwork. Definitely an under estimated 4wd, and for the price a much better decision then a Hilux or Triton. Around a $15k saving, thats all my mods done plus suspension, a chip and exhaust and enoug money for fuel to go around Australia. Ladies and Gentleman, thats what i call more bang for ya buck.

Cheers all,

The Boss (formerly known as Kroozer)

Reply By: The other Norm C (WA) - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 00:54

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 00:54
You,ve made a good choice
I bought the Ranger 18 months ago and have slowly fitted it out to
my needs.As you say the get up and go is very good and as for what you get for your money compared to the others I think you can't go wrong
Norm
AnswerID: 398585

Follow Up By: The Boss (Formerly known as Kr - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 01:42

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 01:42
Yep for the price cant go wrong. was either a D Max or BT 50/Ranger, but BT 50 was first choice and also the cheapest so BINGO, the deal was done.
FollowupID: 667550

Reply By: Blaze (Berri) - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 01:17

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 01:17
Kewl, You now join the rest of us that think your only paying for the badge when buying a Yota. The Bt50 is way bettr than a LUX, rides probably nearly as good as even the Prado...

Last year we did a trip through the High Country, one of the guys had a S/H Lux...cost him just over 40K and didnt perform half as well as all the other makes there. his comment "wished he was more experienced when he purchased, but most books say Yota or Nissan for reall off road, prob was the yota was the one needing winching.

Enjoy the Zoom Zoom mate

AnswerID: 398588

Follow Up By: The Boss (Formerly known as Kr - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 01:41

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 01:41
Yes you are correct in saying it rides almost as good as a Prado, i was very impressed. seats are great too.
FollowupID: 667549

Follow Up By: Crackles - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 13:26

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 13:26
The BT rides no where near as good as a 120 Playdoe let alone the current 150 model. The Mazda still has the old fashioned sqeaking torsion bar front end & leaf rear so how could it?. Empty it skips around a bit & loaded is under shocked so handles poorly. (Our work one certainly does anway)
While the Mazda is a very good vehicle, it definately isn't any better than a Hilux except on price & towing capacity.
Cheers Craig.........
FollowupID: 667596

Follow Up By: The Boss (Formerly Kroozer) - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 15:09

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 15:09
Crackles mate, it leaves a Hilux for dust. And i just got out of a 120 series Prado and the ride is very similar. I have just driven it 2700 k's and there has been no skipping around even at high speeds.
FollowupID: 667622

Reply By: olddigger - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 02:05

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 02:05
Nice one, Boss. But, gee, for $39 grand I'd expect cruise control as standard.
Cheers, Tony
AnswerID: 398589

Follow Up By: The Boss (Formerly Kroozer) - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 02:10

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 02:10
Yeah i know, but The Hilux was only released with Cruise control last year. It seems they are focusing more on comfort and safety for now. but again for at least $3k off the price of competitor cars i aint complaining.
FollowupID: 667551

Reply By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 03:03

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 03:03
All you need in the back is a couple of sand bags to keep the back down.
That is untill you fill it up.
The rig

AnswerID: 398591

Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 03:06

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 03:06
Missed part of that.
Must go and get another glass of red or two.

Meant to have said "nice one'.

TonyS
The rig

FollowupID: 667555

Reply By: qubert - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 09:41

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 09:41
just watch how fast they deppreciate in value!!
one advantage of toyota, they keep there value quite well
AnswerID: 398608

Follow Up By: qubert - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 10:18

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 10:18
2006 red book - hilux 4x4 turbo diesel- 24000$
2006 red book - mazda bt 50 4x4 td -17000$
FollowupID: 667571

Follow Up By: Notso - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 10:31

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 10:31
What was the yota worth new?? Vs what was the BT 50 worth new??
FollowupID: 667575

Follow Up By: The Boss (Formerly Kroozer) - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 15:12

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 15:12
Dont believe what Redbook says. Try find a Hilux for that price, impossible. And also im prepared to lose up to $15k more then a Hilux before it becomes any kind of concern.

Hilux brand new is around $54,000 roughly
BT 50 $38,990

That means if i only get $10,000 for my BT but could of gotten $24,000 in 6 years im still ahead really. Which i think i would get more then $10,000 so its not a worry.
FollowupID: 667624

Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 13:07

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 13:07
Congratulations. You've joined the increasing number of people leaving the over priced Toyota badge ;-) On this years central Oz trip it was quite noticeable by the increasing number of other brands around. Toyota's were quite consipuous by their absence in areas that 10 years ago would have made up 70% of all vehicles on the road.
In the light ute market all the brands have improved their performance, quality & features & are as good if not better than the Hilux. The BT on price is hard to beat although not quite up to the class leading Triton. If the Mazda's power impressed you then the Mitsubishi would blow you away. (No need for the power chip ;-)
Cheers Craig............
AnswerID: 398641

Follow Up By: The Boss (Formerly Kroozer) - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 15:17

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 15:17
I drove a Triton not long ago, base model and it couldnt pull the skin off a custard, no joke. It bogged very easy and it had no grunt. It put me off, but i thought it must of had something wrong with it. Was very disappointed, but when i looked at the price for the GLX-R or whatever it was i was blown away. Way over priced and such a small tray. Plus 17'' wheels are a big no no for me.
I see now they have dropped down to a 2.5 Litre, bad move i think. Massive power from such a small engine is just not right me thinks.
FollowupID: 667626

Follow Up By: Notso - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 15:25

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 15:25
Dunno what version you were driving but it must have had something wrong with it.

The 3.2 pulls better than anything else in the class.
FollowupID: 667627

Follow Up By: Crackles - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 16:20

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 16:20
You definately drove a dud if that was the case Boss. My work has bought over 50 light utes last year including most brands (all diesel) & the Triton certainly is the pick of the engines & management are now leaning towards the Mitsubishi for future purchases due to better whole of life costing. The new model of course has just been released so only time will tell how that engine will perform.
Cheers Craig........
FollowupID: 667641

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 21:47

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 21:47
Dunno which bit of the outback you were in but it wasnt the ones we were in.
On our three month trip, I took careful note of the vehicles about and came up with the following observation.
Prado's were by far the most popular touring vehicle we came across, followed by GU patrols and 100 series cruisers which were about even.The rest were made up of various vehicles.BUT when it came time to travel past a country/outback pub late in the afternoon, Toyota's were the only vehicles parked out front.
Looks like the people who depend on their vehicles day in day out and need Australia wide back-up still buy Toyota's.
FollowupID: 667708

Follow Up By: Notso - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 22:21

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 22:21
Nothing like a bit of "Brand Snobbery" to perpetuate a myth EH!
FollowupID: 667709

Follow Up By: Crackles - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 22:54

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 22:54
Gaday Nick. Trip was from Nullabour to Warburton & back via the Rock. It was the different vehicles the Government departments and support staff around the communities were driving that surprised me. Back on the Stuart Highway I reckon even Jeeps outnumbered 200 series 2 to 1! Certainly something you wouldn't have seen 10 years ago. Possibly the price difference of Toyota's & the quality of the other brands getting closer having something to do with it?
Cheers Craig..................
FollowupID: 667715