sidewall repairs

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 15:02
ThreadID: 75060 Views:4721 Replies:9 FollowUps:11
any body know of a tyre place that will repair a small hole (about 2mm dia.) in the middle of a tyres sidewall in Perth W.A preferably close to rockingham? Talked to a few local tyre places and all said cant be done but have seen different when searching thu old forums. tyre has only done 30 000 kms so dont realy want to throw it out!

Reply By: Kanga1 - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 15:25

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 15:25
Steve, give John at Avanti on Dixon Road a shot, it may be repairable, but it also may be illegal, cheers, Kanga1
Tempus Fugit

Kanga.

AnswerID: 398671

Follow Up By: Bobjl - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 16:04

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 16:04
I have copied a few comments exchanged between a reader seeking guidance on as to safety and reliability of a sidewall repair that he was considering being done by a local repairer, from an apparent tyre expert on another forum, the experts response is shown immediately below.

Sidewall repairs are problematic. The movement that the tire experiences in the sidewall is complex, so any repair has to be able to stand up to that. And unlike the tread area where there is reinforcement in the form of 2 steel belts that don't allow much movement, the sidewall sometimes only has 1 ply - hardly a reassuring amount. But the big thing is the failure rate. This guy may be very experienced and very knowledgeable, but for him a .1% failure rate is just "Super". But to the one in 1,000 who has an accident as a result, this is totally unacceptable. I don't think sidewall repairs are reliable enough to trust.

I am also aware that there are a hand full of specialist repairers who do complete sidewall repairs apparently only on slower moving vehicles with rather large tyres and most probably with different side wall construction. See the advertising extract I copied and pasted from a web site some time back shown below.

Bridgestone Earthmover Tyres offers the most sophisticated tyre repair facilities in Australia, allowing tyres to be repaired to the highest possible standards.
Currently it has six tyre repair facilities, in:
Mt Isa ( Queensland )
Mackay ( Queensland )
Perth ( Western Australia )
Kalgoorlie ( Western Australia )
Melbourne ( Victoria )
Hunter Valley ( NSW )
Our facilities are capable of carrying out both minor repairs (damage to the tread or rubber) as well as major repairs (where the tyre wall has been cut through).
Our specialised tyre repair craftsmen have a deep understanding of the principles behind tyre construction, and can therefore gauge the best way to repair a tyre so that it can continue to be safely used -- instead of having to be scrapped.
Because they understand the structure of earthmover tyres, they have the ability to patch or repair them in the most appropriate manner.
Our philosophy is not merely to repair a tyre so that it doesn't leak air, but rather to repair it to a safe, useable standard.
However, if the structure of a tyre is damaged (such as the tyre wall cut through), its life and performance will not be equivalent to an undamaged tyre -- but it will be suitable for in less stressful applications.
And with the cost of a repaired tyre about one-third the cost of a new tyre, tyre repair is becoming an increasingly popular option.
Bridgestone Earthmover Tyres' tyre repair facilities can repair all makes of tyres -- not just Bridgestone-branded tyres.

It seems there is about $100 - 150 value left in the damaged tyre based on the limited info available, as compared with say $25 - $50 to repair the sidewall [assuming no damage to structure etc] and a lot of chasing to find someone that will actually do the job.

Given the risk factor involved and minimal savings, is it worth the punt?

FollowupID: 667638

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 16:52

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 16:52
hardly minimal savings with tyres well over $300 now
- ive never had an issue from getting sidewalls repaired or plugging them

dont forget even if a repair isnt successfull it isnt going to explode and kill all and sundry within a 5 mile radius

it will present as a slow leak - no different to picking that up as any other puncture

Now splittes running cheap crap korean tubes are far more of an issue on the highway than dodgey sidewall repairs (yes ive had one go and its still not a huge drama) but no one thinks twice about that
FollowupID: 667647

Follow Up By: Wilk0 - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 16:58

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 16:58
Hi Bobjl,

Bridgestone do earthmoving "hot patchs" in Parkes as well.

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 667649

Follow Up By: obee1212 - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 23:43

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 23:43
brand new tyres go flat so I would not worry too much about a repaired tyre going flat. Perhaps there have been accidents together with a flat but I never heard of one. I reckon the speed rating would be comprimised however and I would drive sensibly as I do with good tyres anyway.

Owen
FollowupID: 667726

Reply By: get outmore - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 15:40

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 15:40
I got one done on by a truck retreader on the GNH but after i tried getting a few more done he just started saying not repairable.

got a feeling it was just not worth his time - but it CAN be done (sometimes) cost was about $60
AnswerID: 398678

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 17:03

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 17:03
This link may not help your specific problem but I'm sure will elicit a bit of debate about sidewall repairs etc.

Tyres according to Mick Hutton - Beadell Tours

Has anyone got a copy of relevant Australian Standard for tyre repairs and can enlighten us as to what the Australian Standard says about sidewall repairs??

AnswerID: 398696

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 22:25

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 22:25
Gday John,
This is from the Vicroads website:
http://www.vicroads.vic.gov.au/NR/rdonlyres/1B3CF4C9-A5F6-4334-B8C1-057449BE3450/0/VSI16.pdf
FollowupID: 667710

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 17:26

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 17:26
I had a tyre years ago with a vulcanised repair job done on the sidewall leading onto the tread. It was a standard skinny 7.50 tyre.

Not worth the hassle as it did not last that long - only a couple of days of a trip. Here I am carrying it around for a while as my spare thinking I have a good spare and when I did need it the tyre patch let go.

Don't let all that unused tread fool you.

Have a look at the date of the tyre as well. If it is anywhere near it's 6 year use by date throw it out.

You could probably buy a second hand tyre that has only done 30 000kms just as cheap as the hassle you are going to go through to get this one repaired and then having the worry if it will work.

AnswerID: 398700

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 00:25

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 00:25
as an oposin argument- had a simular patch/vulcanise job done guite big had 3 plugs in it till i had it fixed for over a year. repair lasted until the tyre was dead with a sidewall ripped out. had it on the front with no dramas at all

If i bought a $300 new tyre i would have kissed it goodbye within 5000km

trust me new tyres arnt much better than old or repaired they all get trashed the same in the bush
FollowupID: 667733

Reply By: Rod W - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 19:47

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 19:47
2mm jeez that nothing, put a plug in it.

In the past when I've had big gashes in my tyres I've taken them to my local Ian Diffens who have sent them off for repair to which they have lasted very well.
AnswerID: 398730

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 00:28

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 00:28
where? i have wasted too much money on bleep ey sidewall punctures. as i said my first place considered it not worth his while
FollowupID: 667734

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 13:53

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 13:53
I had a near new BFG get a gash from a rock that I thought wasn't repairable but Ian Diffen in Wangara sent it to a bloke in Osborne Park who fixed it really well.
Hardly noticeable and cost 40 bucks from memory.
That was some years ago and I suspect those that run the branch now may not be so co-operative as they're not too good on anything else!
Try Diffens in your part of the World down south.
Alan.
FollowupID: 667796

Reply By: Member - Garry G (WA) - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 20:20

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 20:20
Steve, You can get a patch fulcanised on the sidfewall. Not cheap but if the tyre is near new may be worth it. Im in the tyre business so if you want more info let me know.
AnswerID: 398734

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 22:52

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 22:52
I know of a workshop in South Broken Hill that does sidewall repairs. As others have implied most of his work is in underground mining equipment.

I know he does truck tyres for a local transport company and a work collegue of mine had a near new tyre on his Jackaroo repaird a few years ago.

The work mate was told by another tyre retailer that sidewall repairs can only be done leagally by a repairer licensed to do them. That's where the guy out the South comes in.

AnswerID: 398745

Reply By: Bap - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 19:46

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 19:46
Next time drive carefully! and get bfg's!
AnswerID: 398869

Follow Up By: Rod W - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 10:54

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 10:54
Bap, don't be fooled into thinking that BFG's or any tyre for that matter can't be staked. The timber out bush here in WA is very very hard and will penetrate any tyre. I've staked my BFG's many times and the majority being sidewalls and I've seen 10ply plus tyres that mining companies use also staked. Cheers
FollowupID: 667932

Follow Up By: Bap - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 11:05

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 11:05
Rod,
I'm just stirring, Steve is my brother and we were together on the trip! Poor guy got a flat on the last night of 3 weeks of some pretty rough tracks down south.
Michelle
FollowupID: 667935

Follow Up By: Rod W - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 14:40

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 14:40
No probs
FollowupID: 667957

Reply By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 23:05

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 23:05
Hi Steve

2mm hole not a problem, right plug and internal cold vulc patch used it should ok. There are proper patches for sidewall repairs any competent tyre dealer should be able to repair that size hole. They should have chart showing what size patch is required. V and W rated tyres and above are NOT sidewall repairable under any circumstances. Mainly on low profile passenger vehicles.

A lot of the time the city stores employ whoever they can get to work, with little experience and a tyre to them is just black and round.

In my workshop we do small hot and cold vulc repairs from small 8 inch tyres to large 50 inch rim diameter tyres, one's with to big a repair I send out to a specialised repairer for hot vulc repairs.

Do not know of any dealer in WA, but a agricultural dealer should be worth a try.
Charlie
AnswerID: 398915