The gear we cart around

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 00:30
ThreadID: 7508 Views:3177 Replies:10 FollowUps:27
Well, no doubt I will be outdone by someone as I do not have a microwave or stuff like that :-)...but here is a list of the things I have been able to cramm into the truck

1978 Nissan Patrol Mid Wheel Base
449,000 kms
4lt petrol engine, no p/s, no a/c, side body air vents, heater
110 litre LR fuel tank
Plus 120 litres petrol in 6 jerry cans
Runs on unleaded petrol
5 speed Marks Conversion gearbox
Hella Bull light
9500lb Brawn electric winch, snatch block, tree protector, chains
Hi Lift jack, Bull bag, spare hoses & belt
Grease, oil, gear oil, brake fluid, tools
Spare electric fuel pump, wheel bearing, points, plugs, rotor
Boxes of nuts, bolts, screws, tyre repair, ocky straps, tie downs
Bead breaker, tyre levers
5x7.50x16 split rims shod with Bridgestone Desert Duellers 8pr
Extra spare tyre casing, tube and protector on bonnet
Large tarp(travels on bonnet behind spare tyre)
Blue tongue 3 air compressor, air gauge
Staun tyre deflators
Rugged Tool Roll
Twin 17 plate batteries with Rotronics battery isolator
Pioneer Notebook, Natmap Raster 250k digital maps,
Hema Desert Trek maps, UBD maps, Mapsend Aust all states
Oziexplorer software
Magellan 330 GPS
300 watt Jaycar inverter
Sensitive Auto alarm system
Codan 6924 HF Radio, Uniden 100 UHF,
Kyocera CDMA phone
Plastic bush shower
Fold up bed in rear, 3 pillows, 2 sleeping bags, 2 window sox
Rear interior light
Camera gear, clothes bag, bush slippers, binoculars
Reference books
32 litre Engel fridge, bread box
Roll up table, 2 fold up chairs
6 plastic tucker boxes, 2 dutch ovens, saucepan, gas stove
2 buckets, toilet paper, clothes pegs, washing powder, hand brush
40 litres water in plastic jerry cans, rope........

Have I forgotten anything?...maybe..its late

Willie
Never a dull moment

Reply By: Member - Wherethehellawi - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 08:18

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 08:18
Reference books?
Are they to tell you how to make do when you leave the porta potti at home?
I cant see it on your list Wow! am I cute
If yer ain't fishing, Yer ain't livin
AnswerID: 32370

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 08:22

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 08:22
Look here you silly emu....why don't you get off this site and go to work?

No place for the pp in the car..just bush jobs and army rolls :-))

WillieNever a dull moment
FollowupID: 23125

Follow Up By: Member - Wherethehellawi - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 08:27

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 08:27
Cant go to work, Its going to rain sometime today and that means I might get wet fixin someones aircon...dont want to get my feathers wet, I'll have to preen them for hoursWow! am I cute
FollowupID: 23126

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 08:35

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 08:35
Poor you, I can just imagine you preening your feathers. It is overcast here as well...were are you?...in the little Big Smoke?
Willie
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 23127

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 08:40

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 08:40
i want to see an emu "fixin" someone's aircon!!!

Laugh alot..life's too short not to....

brrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!

FollowupID: 23128

Follow Up By: Member - Wherethehellawi - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 08:45

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 08:45
Yep, In the little big smoke; its looking as though as going to be a nice day but the weather man says differently....so I'm not taking any chances...emu's dont have umbrellas Wow! am I cute
FollowupID: 23129

Follow Up By: Member - Wherethehellawi - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 15:00

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 15:00
If the 'mighty quinn' can sell ice to the eskimos i think this here emu can fix aircons Wow! am I cute
FollowupID: 23162

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 15:09

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 15:09
love a pic of that...!Laugh alot..life's too short not to....

brrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!

FollowupID: 23163

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 20:44

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 20:44
Richard,

You were right about the rain. It is pouring here in Peterborough at the moment. Just what the wheat growers ordered. Hopefully it will be a good soak and will everyone through till harvest time.

Hope it does not get too wet up north or it may be a slippery weekend.
Willie
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 23180

Follow Up By: Member - Wherethehellawi - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 07:56

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 07:56
Willie,
I believe liegh creek had an inch....going to be slippery i reckon?
Glad for the farmers ....but did it penetrate further east towards yunta and ne of Burra. They have been wanting some decent rains for some 6 plus years now in that area.Wow! am I cute
FollowupID: 23194

Follow Up By: Willie - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 08:18

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 08:18
Mornin' Richard,

I have measured 19.5mm here this morning and it is still drizzling. My trip partner rang up last night and said shall we go. Of course we will. Anyway Warraweena has my email address and if the tracks are impassable he will let us know, I am sure. The country should be spectacular with water in the creeks. We shall see what transpires.
In the mean time, stay home and don't get your feathers wet :-))))

Willie
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 23196

Follow Up By: Member - Wherethehellawi - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 09:18

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 09:18
G'Day willie
Adelaide had some 19mm also
I live foot hills so I 'd say we had a little more though.
Looking at radar at woomera, Hawker is going to get very wet very soon
have a good & safe trip Wow! am I cute
FollowupID: 23201

Follow Up By: Member - Wherethehellawi - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 09:19

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 09:19
ps Do i look like a duck.......i'm staying indoors todayWow! am I cute
FollowupID: 23202

Reply By: Willie - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 08:41

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 08:41
BTW....the vehicle cost $4850 including an engine rebuild and parts replacements over a 5 year period and 106,000km was done in that time

Accessories cost $13,100

Now you know :-)

Cheers again,

Willie
Never a dull moment
AnswerID: 32371

Follow Up By: David N. - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 09:08

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 09:08
Hey Willie
You still thinking of something newer, or are you gonna stick with the red mean-machine?
FollowupID: 23130

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 09:16

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 09:16
Yes David, but not before the middle of next year. And the thought of having to strip everything out of the 'old girl' and building it into the newer diesel 4by is daunting....but one has to keep busy and every challenge keeps the grey matter working :-) I will most likely keep the G60 and restore it properly.

WillieNever a dull moment
FollowupID: 23132

Reply By: Martin - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 10:21

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 10:21
40 litres is nowhere near enough water if you ever want to do any outback travel in really remote areas though you're probably best to wait for the new diesel you mentioned next year before you tackle any of that sort of travel. Well equipped vehicle otherwise but did you forget clean jocks when you packed? Cheers
AnswerID: 32384

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 10:51

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 10:51
I want to disagree with you Martin.

I have done major outback and remote treks and have carried 40 to 60 litres of water only. It depends on the application and what you need to take.

On our Simpson crossing North/South through the centre offroad all the way we took 40 litres each in two Suzukis..3 people No washing of bodies for 8 days...phew!

On the Canning we carried only 40 litres as there was plenty of water available. Solo journey..2 people includes side trip to Helena Spring and the Gunbarrel and Gunbarrel abandoned section.

Many remote two to five day trips in Central Australia...carried only 40 litres. In riverbeds you can dig for water to supplement your supply

We work very sparingly with water and top up whenever we can

Anywhere in the Top End of Australia there is ample water even in the dry season. Cape York, Gulf Country, NT and Kimberley.

It is not what you carry but how you use the resource

For more info go to my website www.kempen.id.au and click on 4x4

Willie
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 23136

Follow Up By: Mick - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 23:13

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 23:13
Willie, I have to agree with Martin that you're not carrying enough water. I think you have far too much other stuff and have to skimp on the most precious commodity in the outback - water. Try finding water in the middle of a desert when the old truck breaks down!!
FollowupID: 23264

Follow Up By: Willie - Sunday, Oct 05, 2003 at 16:03

Sunday, Oct 05, 2003 at 16:03
So you tell me Mick.....what is your idea of how much water should be carried for 2 people. The newer trucks are more that likely to break down than the old ones. All you need is one loose wire and you may not know where to satrt looking.Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 23462

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 12:21

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 12:21
Have you ever run it over a weighbridge?
AnswerID: 32392

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 18:51

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 18:51
G'day Truckster,
I ran it over the weighbridge last year at 2440kg minus winch, tucker, 2 humans, cameras & laptop, clothes bag and one extra jerry. The minus bits I estimate at 270kg. Bringing the total weight to 2710kg and the vehicles' GVM is 2769kg..... so it is just inside the limit. I am not sure what the scene is if I have the trailer on the back which would weigh around 500kg with another 4 jerries of fuel and 2 jerries of water on board. At the moment it is sitting in the yard full loaded ready to leave on Thursday before dawn and there is only the slightest rear droop. Good ole steel leaf springs!
Willie
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 23167

Reply By: Member -BJ (Sydney) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 12:24

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 12:24
Willie, what are the window socks for?Regards Bob
Where to next
AnswerID: 32393

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 19:01

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 19:01
Hi Bob,
These are just home made ones the same as the ones you can buy for $40 at the Autopro or Supercheap etc. Put them over the door at night and then wind the window down. Get fresh air in and the mozzies stay outside. My missus made them from fibre fly-wire and the cost was $8.
Willie
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 23168

Reply By: joc45 - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 12:31

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 12:31
Yeh, looks reasonable, but I don't see an electric coffee grinder or bamix.
Gerry
AnswerID: 32394

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 20:47

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 20:47
Hi Gerry,
I try to take practical things..........not a coffee drinker but the bamix is certainly a good idea. Might put one in the trailer.
Willie
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 23181

Follow Up By: joc45 - Friday, Oct 03, 2003 at 23:32

Friday, Oct 03, 2003 at 23:32
Picked up a Tiffanny grinder and mixer for about $18 each at Woolies a few months back. Both work fine off the inverter.
Nothing like fresh-brewed coffee by the campfire.
FollowupID: 23414

Reply By: Member - Bob - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 15:57

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 15:57
Willem,
bush slippers? I wonder if they are they like the plastic slip on shoes I got at Clark Rubber. Very handy at night when you need to go for a slash but don't want to (or can't) put on your boots, and don't want to spend the next 3 hours removing the mother of all bindies from your bare feet.Bob
AnswerID: 32405

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 19:08

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 19:08
I had wondered who would pick up on the slippers.....No Bob, they are they are my old sheepskin ones. Good to wear after the evening cleanup. Also need them for the aforementioned bindies which abound here in South Oz. Have new invention now for the once or twice a night interruption...its a V8 Juice bottle. It has become a fine art but no need for getting up or staggering around in the dark :-)
Willie

Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 23170

Follow Up By: Member - Wherethehellawi - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 18:21

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 18:21
Ya wouldnt want to be under the weather, wake up very thirsty and think it was cordial would ya!!!! Wow! am I cute
FollowupID: 23239

Follow Up By: Willie - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 18:39

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 18:39
Hey Richard, sounds more like something you would do....hence your name Wherethehellawi !!! You left yourself a bit open there.

No, luckily I do not get under the weather and normally have my wits about me...now, where did they go this time:-)))Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 23240

Reply By: Member - Al Symers (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 21:37

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 21:37
G'day Willie, not raining here yet!
Your sensative Auto alarm system has me intrigued. Are you saying you get a bit grumpy if you wake up finding someone knocking things off from your truck.
The first thing I throw in is a shovel. Nothing worse than having to dig a hole by hand when you have to go in a hurry.Al Symers
AnswerID: 32427

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 22:05

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2003 at 22:05
G'day Al,

It is a real alarm system....with remote key squeaks and all. It is very impressive when one stops in towns where the tribes are reknown to be light fingered. Just leave the car and push the button. Squeak squeak. Geez, whats dis ol truck got dere, fella. Hey!...If you toucha da car you getta da noise !!!!

That is my insurance I suppose. Lot of expensive gear in the car. One has to call in to towns for supplies from time to time and shopping centre car parks are known to be a breeding ground for thieving.

I do not really leave the vehicle when I am out bush as my walking is restricted to short distances only.

Deep rumble of thunder...the dog is going nuts. Rain has gone quiet for now.TV has dropped out for a short while. Ah the joys of living in the bush.

Willie

Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 23186

Reply By: Member - Cocka - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 00:08

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 00:08
Hi Willie
It all sounds like the bare necessities honed down by years of experience. Having read a couple of your trip reports (enjoyable) I figured you to be a practical bloke. We actually have a checklist on a spreadsheet and we seem to add a couple of little extras each time we go away but when we come back there are a few that get scratched off the list also, the list just makes sure you don't forget anything and its just about complete now. SWMBO usually finds something that we can't do without, but we seem to.
You mentio chains on your list, are these tyre chains ?
Also, I would reacon you'd use diff locks- what was you choice ? and what will you change when setting up the new wagon ?

Best wishes
AnswerID: 32445

Follow Up By: Willie - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 08:42

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 08:42
Hi Cocka,

I have a list somewhere as well but as my vehicle is permanently packed I don't bother to look at it any longer as long as I remember to replace items used up.

Chains....no they are just chains to help with recovery. No, I have never installed diff-locks. As most of my offroad and bussh track travels have been concentrated in Central and Northern Australia I have never had the need for diff-locks. People who live on the East Coast and spend their time in the High Country would need diff-locks. Most of my vehicles have had very low diff ratios and together with a winch I have managed to extricate the vehicle out of some tricky situations. But I may consider a diff-lock if the opportunity arises.

As I am looking at buying a Troopcarrier I will most likely not have to carry jerrycans. More space in the rear will make the set-up a lot easier and I will look at constructing a proper drawer system and have my water more readily available on tap(bloody luxury!). Otherwise there is not much that I would change. I would probably make room for the extra spare wheel inside the rear set-up. Might also build a different bed system so that I could sit in the back of the Troopy if I wished. KIS...Keep it simple is the motto

Willie
FollowupID: 23197

Reply By: Fred - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 23:18

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 23:18
KIS??????? Willie I think you've gone to great lengths to show us how complicated you make it!! Keeping it simple takes a lot of skill and planning. Taking evrything you can think of and a bit more is a mindless waste of time and energy.
AnswerID: 32564

Follow Up By: Willie - Sunday, Oct 05, 2003 at 15:51

Sunday, Oct 05, 2003 at 15:51
Dear Fred, If you cannot say anything intelligent then its best to say nothing at all.
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 23461