Any recent info on landcuiser park Jimna???

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 14, 2010 at 12:52
ThreadID: 75194 Views:2797 Replies:4 FollowUps:6
we are planning a trip to cruiser park at easter and are just wondering what we might find there at that time of year, what will the crowds be like, conditions etc, how big are the 4 camping areas will we be sharing the place with feral hoons up all night revving their cruisers?

A guy at work was telling me that the tracks are pretty rough and I should expect to get my side step rails to get ripped off and damage to your vehicle is par for the course. I have a pretty clean and tidy Prado so dont like the thought of dings and prangs on my baby lol.

Any info at all would be appreciated as we have never been there before and just want to make an informed decision.

Thanks guys for all your input.

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 14, 2010 at 13:17

Thursday, Jan 14, 2010 at 13:17
Hey

I have been there heaps of times and the camping areas are big and if you don't like the camping areas you can camp anywhere in the park away from the crowds. There will be heaps of people there around Easter. I have done just about every track there and they range from very easy to locker type tracks that can take a long time to work through.

AnswerID: 399358

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 14, 2010 at 14:59

Thursday, Jan 14, 2010 at 14:59
Cane Toad,

They do have a website with plenty of pics to scroll through. As Troll said above the tracks cater for all 4wd abilities and it is up to you how much if any damage is done to your vehicle. Good 4wd park if you want my opinion, my wife doesn't share my views hehehe.

Have fun and bring back plenty of brag shots to share with us.
Trevor.
AnswerID: 399369

Follow Up By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Thursday, Jan 14, 2010 at 15:03

Thursday, Jan 14, 2010 at 15:03
Good 4wd park when we aren't there to have the paj break down and take away hours of valuable track driving time hey Trev!
FollowupID: 668343

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 14, 2010 at 19:10

Thursday, Jan 14, 2010 at 19:10
If it wasn't you Jo it would have been Bob so don't feel too bad LOL!!!!

Trevor.
FollowupID: 668377

Follow Up By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Thursday, Jan 14, 2010 at 19:13

Thursday, Jan 14, 2010 at 19:13
Hahahahaha!!!!!!!
Speaking of Bob, a mate spotted him in Tassie the other day..
FollowupID: 668379

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Jan 15, 2010 at 07:57

Friday, Jan 15, 2010 at 07:57
He might have been chasing a map of Tassie but don't get that confused with him being in Tassie ROFL!!! Couple of days ago he was still farm sitting in the NT.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 668454

Follow Up By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Friday, Jan 15, 2010 at 10:19

Friday, Jan 15, 2010 at 10:19
hmmm.. he got a twin then!
My mate is travelling Tassieat the mo and wrote "Do you know a guy from up your way with the name of Zuk 90 or something to that effect, with an F250 and towing a camper trailer.. tell him he was spotted in (can't remember suburb) the other day. (which would be the early this week)...

It's a mystery!
FollowupID: 668470

Reply By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Thursday, Jan 14, 2010 at 15:01

Thursday, Jan 14, 2010 at 15:01
Of course, being Easter... expect it to be busy as! It is very popular. So if you were planning on something nice and quiet... I would think of somewhere else.
AnswerID: 399371

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 14, 2010 at 22:41

Thursday, Jan 14, 2010 at 22:41
I've been there plenty of times. Easter is busy. Go there anyhow its great watching others on the harder tracks plenty of viewing points. Mud Bulls & Music last year I found another track to there from Imbil. Its 4x4 as I found out from the sign at the other end very steep in places. It comes out at the cross roads at the entrance. Most 4x4 parks will be busy anyhow over Easter.
AnswerID: 399457

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Friday, Jan 15, 2010 at 07:59

Friday, Jan 15, 2010 at 07:59
G’day Old Girl,
Yep I know the track from Imbil.... You're right - it’s a great drive over Mount Buggery.
Myles.
FollowupID: 668455