Chasis Extension

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 02, 2003 at 20:22
ThreadID: 7565 Views:4525 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
Have been contemplating purchasing a 2001 3.0 LTturbo Hi-Lux Dual Cab and extending the chasis 300mm to distribute weight more evenly and to increase tray size from 1500mm to 1800mm in length. I realise that this has the potential to reduce the turning circle and affect the 4WD capabilities of the vehicle. From research to date, 300mm extension is conservative as some of the conversion companies will extend up to 600mm. I personally think that this is going a bit to far but would like to hear from anyone who has been down the same path. My only other option is to change to a LR Defender TD5 Dual Cab. Would appreciate any comment on either option.

Reply By: Truckster - Thursday, Oct 02, 2003 at 20:55

Thursday, Oct 02, 2003 at 20:55
Go for the Hilux man. Far better than the Landie. Landrovers are Thatchers revenge on the world. They are outdated agricultural machines that have a horribble history of problems. You reckon the turning circle of the Hilux will be bad after a tray extension. Test drive a Landrover and you will see what a bad turning circle is really like.
AnswerID: 32641

Reply By: GLAYVA MAN(bendigo) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2003 at 20:55

Thursday, Oct 02, 2003 at 20:55
gday tusker.
what is the reason for the extention plenty of hiluxes do there job day in day out with out extentions.are you planing on setting up a bed in the rear?jamieson wild cat
AnswerID: 32642

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2003 at 21:46

Thursday, Oct 02, 2003 at 21:46
Not even a good attempt to pretend being me.

u comin to the snow? Bring the discs with yer
FollowupID: 23343

Follow Up By: GLAYVA MAN(bendigo) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2003 at 21:49

Thursday, Oct 02, 2003 at 21:49
im going to the snow how many disks and i think eric was pricing some as well.jamieson wild cat
FollowupID: 23345

Follow Up By: Tusker - Friday, Oct 03, 2003 at 20:25

Friday, Oct 03, 2003 at 20:25
Glayva Man,
I agree with your comment about luxes doing their job day in & day out. Currently own a 1996 2.8 dual cab fitted with a schwitzer turbo that I have worked the pants off carrying loads up to 900 kg on occasions and 600kg regulary. The vehicle is fitted with a 1650mm tray which just gets me by at the moment when I load my K9's and crate but could still do with a bit of extra tray. Unfortunately the single cabs just lack space for mother and the kids if they come for a ride. New hilux dual cabs can only be fitted with a 1575mm tray as they now have a larger cabin. This was when I thought about either an extension or as Truckster put it, a Massey Ferguson 35 Dual Cab.
FollowupID: 23408

Reply By: jeepy - Thursday, Oct 02, 2003 at 22:22

Thursday, Oct 02, 2003 at 22:22
If I was getting the chasis extended I'd go for the 600mm, its hardly worth the extra cost and trouble for 300mm (300mm is just a tad bigger than my shoe, doubt you will be able to fit that much more in the tray)

AnswerID: 32649

Reply By: simon - Thursday, Oct 02, 2003 at 22:45

Thursday, Oct 02, 2003 at 22:45
Hilux's have a weak chasis to start with make sure you strenghen the chasis by at least about 50% if you head down that path
AnswerID: 32652

Reply By: Eric - Thursday, Oct 02, 2003 at 22:52

Thursday, Oct 02, 2003 at 22:52
Tusker.
The 300mm is the limit on extension without doing engenering computations so it is much more economical. you will find the 300mm makes a huge difference to the way the the lux rides. The load capacity is not increased so putting a long tray only increases the temptation to overload. On a recent trip we had a lux and a LR130 and I must say that the 130 bleep all over the lux for ride and load capacity. Eric.
AnswerID: 32655

Reply By: Wheelerdog - Friday, Oct 03, 2003 at 11:13

Friday, Oct 03, 2003 at 11:13
My father in law has done a landcruiser ute and a F100 into a dual cab, i think he went 600 or there abouts so he could use the front tailshaft out of a hilux to extend the driveline, biggest problem he had was getting the centre bearing sorted out. the extra length of tray he got was very useful and the ride was improved out of site. Extra chasis lenghth also allowed him to fit a 220l fuel tank under the tray, he could carry about 290l of fuel.

Also you have the cost of engineers cerificate.

However impossible to u-turn in a normal street and ramp over angle was reduced however the ride on rough roads at speed was excellent with the longer wheel base
AnswerID: 32675

Reply By: zigglemeister - Friday, Oct 03, 2003 at 22:44

Friday, Oct 03, 2003 at 22:44
300 mm doesn't sound like very much. The extra cab Hilux already has a longer wheelbase than the dual cab - 3085 mm compared to 2850 mm, ie 235 mm different. So you'd not be much longer than an extra cab.
Tim Z
AnswerID: 32735

Reply By: Tuco69 - Sunday, Oct 05, 2003 at 14:05

Sunday, Oct 05, 2003 at 14:05
G'day Tusker - not sure which state you are in, but from personal experience here in Queensland - there are limitations regarding body/chassis mods.

The bottom line is that the rear overhang can not be more that HALF of the wheelbase. In other words, centre of rear wheel to the most extreme rear part of the vehicle (tailgate, bumper, rear mounted spare OR towbar) must not exceed HALF the distance from centre of front wheel to centre of rear wheel.

So if you are looking to extend the tray by 300mm, then I bet you will need to extend the chassis by about 600mm, to stay within the basic design rules.

Tuco
AnswerID: 32815