Random Acts of Kindness via ExplorOz Forum

Submitted: Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 12:04
ThreadID: 75794 Views:4045 Replies:16 FollowUps:11
The Internet can be a dangerous place, if you venture into some dodgy sites on purpose, or by accident, and you can get tied up in litigation or worse. Not so on ExplorOz!

I have been associated with this site since early in 2002 and in that time, through this Forum, have made many friends and some enemies, but I won’t dwell on the latter.

The social aspect of this Forum is a great asset to all who are involved with the exchange of ideas and knowledge oftravel throughout this continent.

There has been a great swell of interaction through our common interest via this site and many new friends and acquaintances have called in for a cuppa or have been invited to stay over at our place at the edge of the South Australian Outback and we have called in or stayed over on our travels with a number of you in your neck of the woods. This mutual friendship has evolved through this Forum and our association in the common interest.

What has struck me though, are the Random Acts of Kindness by some of you. I am very humbled by your kindness. I will not name names, but you know who you are. Just this morning I have a received an out of print book through the mail from a kind person in Queensland whom I have never met in person. A few weeks back I found an expensive bottle of Scotch left on my doorstep by an ExplorOz Member whom I have corresponded with, but have not met in person either. These random acts were enacted all because those persons have enjoyed the entertainment and knowledge value, through the various discourses via this Forum.

My association with 3 ExplorOz National Gatherings has cemented a camaraderie that exists between a whole range of people and has built on this friendship from those instances.

I do hope that the friendships cemented through this medium will continue and I thank all of you, past and present, who have made my association with you via this site, a memorable one.

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 12:10

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 12:10
Well said Willem. And a nice counter to some of the other recent discussions about what this forum is ir isn't.

AnswerID: 402815

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 12:34

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 12:34
Good one Willem, I agree with all you have said, may I just put out there though that even though I haven't been on here as long as you, (started lurking about late 2004) there have been in the past that I recall, numerous times that you have gone out, sometimes in the middle of the night to help others, Also when we were held up in Pt Augusta in 2008 on our way to Birdsville you offered us, perfect strangers, to come over for a cuppa, well even though we couldn't go at the time we certainly did appreciate the offer.(and by the way will make it a raincheck lol) 'what goes around comes around' I think they call it 'Karma' these days.

Well said and thanks for the thread.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 402817

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 13:33

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 13:33
Hi Willem

Nice to hear that you have been on the receiving end. As Deanna says, more often than not you have been on the giving end.

On our first big trip (three months), we had friends to meet and stay with along the way, and met more when camped and neighbouring campers have seen the sticker or recognised the rig. You certainly meet wonderful people through ExOz.

We don't make it to group gatherings, but have met quite a few members. There are other "friends yet to meet out" there.

AnswerID: 402825

Reply By: peterll - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 13:34

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 13:34
Indeed Willem..there are many here that I have never met since lurking began along long ago..and there are two that I met by chance while perusing the underside of a rented vehicle near Chambers Pillar. Those with whom I have corresponded and met have been truly wonderful people..shirt of the back kind of folks..and yes..born comedians in some cases.

I began wandering the old country in the early 70's and so feel I have seen much and experienced a lot and yet I still sit and read with wonder of the travels of Willem and Judith via your personal webpages...excellent that they are.

The past few trips up the track I have driven by your abode and smiled thinking one day I should drop in and say hello, you don't know me but you seem like a good bloke.

I will just say ..Thank You Willem..and thank you to all who contribute their knowledge ..okay and even some Phriday Funnies.

Peterll
AnswerID: 402826

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 14:59

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 14:59
Hey peterll are you here or there? Will you be at your usual address (here) in mid-March?
FollowupID: 672332

Reply By: Member - OzGazza (VIC) - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 13:38

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 13:38
Well said - Young fella.
AnswerID: 402828

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 14:48

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 14:48
Thats ok Willem, took me ages to find that copy of the Karma Sutra, hope you enjoy it.....lol.

Your dead on about great people on this site.

Theres a bunch of EOers over here in WA, we started with MM's, then after a trip or two became friends and now mates.

Feel very proud, as well as privilaged to be part of the gang and looking forward to Wiluna this coming June.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 672329

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 14:51

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 14:51
OOPs....Sorry Gaz,

All fingers and thumbs today.

Cheers......Lionel.
FollowupID: 672330

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 15:15

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 15:15
Willem, what a simply lovely Post and your sentiments are so very true. It is a very special Family to which we belong - I very much miss the bouncing repartee those who have been on here a long time would know what I mean - but, it is still the very best Goblet of Information & Knowledge - and so willingly shared by interesting and knowledgable people.
AnswerID: 402844

Follow Up By: peterll - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 15:36

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 15:36
Minimwanka!..lol hey Ruth..well I am 'here' unless SHE..says I can be 'there' by mid march. minus 23 is not nice.

And yes, young Ruth..dispite some restrictions of late this is the place to meet the most wonderful of people.
FollowupID: 672338

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 16:30

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 16:30
Well Peter - it's just that I will be passing by 'here' going up the Track but you will be probably taking part in the Winter Olympics - especially at minus 23.
Poor "Minimwanka" - Buster the Cat keeps trying to eat her hair.
Have you seen any polar bears - it's only plus 38 (and I'm not even in the desert!) and there' no polar bears here.
FollowupID: 672355

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 18:13

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 18:13
Hi Ruth,
Polar bears are here! Scouts Honour!! I saw them last weekend at Sea World!!!

LOL.....

Planning to be out around Birdsville June/July...... be great to catch up for a cuppa if you're out there!

FollowupID: 672385

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 18:14

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 18:14
Hi Willem,

You do have a way with words mate. Good on ya, nice thread!

AnswerID: 402875

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 21:09

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 21:09
G'day Brian - you're such a dag! Nah, won't be there until a bit before and then a bit later (not really trying to avoid you, really). I haven't seen the polar bears yet - could I put my tinnie in their pond do you think.
FollowupID: 672428

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 07:58

Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 07:58
Hi Ruth,

dag??.... yep... that's me!! ;-))

The polar bears got a bit active while we were there..... got really close to the viewing window, and geeeeze.... they are BIG! Not sure you'd want to be in a tinnie in their pond..... I'm pretty sure I wouldn't anyways!

LOL....

FollowupID: 672466

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 18:46

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 18:46
Hi there Willem, You see old fellah there are some benefits of being "Grandpa" of the site!! LOL
In fact I have vowed when our travels take us through your home town to make ourselves acquainted with you & had sort of thought I would bring along a bottle of "fire Water", maybe Glennfidich or better. But......... now that I know you enjoy a cuppa, maybe a box of Bushells tea bags instead?

If you are ever looking for a gate opener on your remote travels please keep me in mind. Lol Take care & safe travelling
AnswerID: 402883

Reply By: Member - Lotzi (QLD) - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 18:49

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 18:49
Good on you Willem, I do believe that you are one of the foundations and characters of this site.

I suppose a random act of kindness is when you pull up when someone is stuck on the side of the road broken down and use your sat phone to help them out of trouble without asking for compensation, amongst other deeds.

Keep up the good work and humour.

Cheers and all the best.

AnswerID: 402884

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 18:57

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 18:57
Yep, it works both ways

AnswerID: 402885

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 21:06

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 21:06
'lo, Bonz! You good?
FollowupID: 672425

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 21:07

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 21:07
Yep Ruth, doing OK!

FollowupID: 672426

Follow Up By: peterll - Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 10:12

Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 10:12
Hiya Ruth...ok..got a leave pass..cya in March

yes yes..I know..shhhh no chit chat..

FollowupID: 672473

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 21:36

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 21:36
Only yesterday i had a call from a forumite with an open offer to come and help me move out of my factory to another . From the bottom of my heart, i thank you.

There is a bed here any time.
Murray

AnswerID: 402905

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 22:22

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 22:22
That's the trouble with this website/forum, too many friendly people.

In fact I find that with the whole 4wd touring community. They are too friendly and way too helpful.

When I think about it I might sell the Patrol and by a Dunnydoor so I don't have to put up with you all.

Actually, it is one of the reasons I still have a 4wd and probably the main one I will keep it.

I have been the recipient of Willem and Judith's hospitality more than once. I took a mate there last year. He is right exploroz is a pretty good place to be.

Andrew was blown away with how friendly you lot in the bush really are Willem.

One day mate, if you get really lost and find yourself in the big smelly place on the east coast you will have to let me return the favour. But your town is prettier than mine so we will probably meet in SA again before you get over here.

AnswerID: 402911

Reply By: Member - Brad S (SA) - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 22:57

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 22:57
Id quot circumiret, circumveniat.

What goes around, comes around.
AnswerID: 402912

Reply By: Best Off Road - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 23:08

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 23:08
Where's my jar of Olives?

AnswerID: 402915

Reply By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 23:24

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 23:24
The internet is certainly a minefield. One wrong step and you're in strife. What a great and positive post Willem. I have many friends on this Forum. I just haven't met them yet !! Cheers.

Roger B....
AnswerID: 402921

Reply By: Member - Royce- Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 23:39

Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 23:39
No where else like it... I second your thoughts.
AnswerID: 403022