power option for camping extended remote stays

Submitted: Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 21:26
ThreadID: 75888 Views:7102 Replies:14 FollowUps:26
This Thread has been Archived
Im new to all this stuff, Im packing up the wife and kids and travelling OZ next year, I love 4 wheel driving and intend to stay at very remot places, this raises the question of power supplies, In my novice mind I thought that the camper trailer could have two deep cycle battereis fitted, this would be plugged in via an Anderson plug to the car and charge the battereis whilst travelling, however we are expecting to stay at some remote places ie Step Point WA more then 2 weeks. Can any one shed some light on my options or have a better plan of attack or am I deluded in my thinking?? I dont mean to be rude but I would like idears from people who have experience first hand not just people theories.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 21:32

Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 21:32
Check out the many threads on Solar. To me, that is the only way to go.

Motherhen
Motherhen

Red desert dreaming

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

AnswerID: 403323

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 21:52

Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 21:52
Yep I second that!
There are quite a few people here who can give you some great advice on solar.
Cheers
FollowupID: 672803

Reply By: stumbly1 - Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 21:36

Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 21:36
Type in "solar panel" and "generator" in the search bar and all your questions will be answered.
Maybe.........
There is a huge amount of discussion on this subject and most people have either or both.

Keith
AnswerID: 403324

Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 21:39

Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 21:39
You only have 2 real options,a small generator or solar panels.
You need to work out much power you will need for your fridge and lighting
It also depends on how big your batteries are.