Camping with baby

Gday, proud to say I am a new father to a bright and playful 6 month old boy. This put a sudden stop on our gypsy-like ways around the place. The story of that 2 year trip will come later.

I am getting itchy feet to go camping again but not sure how he will go.
Has anyone else taken a 6 month old out camping?
Any advice? He doesn't travel too well (unusual seeing we live in the country). If 6 months is too young what age is good?
I'm going a bit bonkers just going from work to home to work to home etc etc 2 hour day trips just aren't cutting it any more.
Cheers
Barnesy
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: siukalo - Wednesday, Feb 10, 2010 at 02:27

Wednesday, Feb 10, 2010 at 02:27
Hi

I have been camping with my little boy since he was around 6 months old. As you know I had itchy feet like you too and I went camping with him in the winter.......

I just had my mrs at the back try to keep him settle. We try to stop every two hours during the trip so he can get out and see some stuff.

I think the biggest hurdle for us was to keep him warm at night. A sleeping back just don't cut it, as they produce very little heat to keep themself warm in the bag, so I bought one of those Coleman platinum heaters and put it next to him. The unit comes with a fan so it can spread the heat around the tent. Just remember to keep an opening of the tent for fresh air to get into the tent if not the CO2......

While we are at the site, we carried our pram to stroll him around the place, and we have a big tarp for the rainy days. Just make sure you bring plenty of snack to keep him / her happy......

Happy camping
AnswerID: 403520

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 10, 2010 at 05:47

Wednesday, Feb 10, 2010 at 05:47
Barnesy,

our little girl did her first camping trip at 6 weeks.! And wasn't a problem. She is now 4 mths and we are off again this weekend, don't let age be a barrier, my parents took me out at a very young age as well.

cheers unc