Tips on charging up outside of CV parks - where do you go

Hi everyone,

This goes out to all those who try to mostly stay away from CV parks. How do you top up your power supplies and what sort of places can you get a quick plug in, bearing in mind it's a 15amp lead?

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Johnny boy - Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 08:20

Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 08:20
Hi Zigdog,
what have you got as in setup ,how many batts ,I am guising you dont have a solar panel but do have bateries so in my thinking you need to,

A- buy a gennie ...but they make noise

B- Charge useing your car whilst traveling,but you need good size cable and you will want to drive a fair bit for a good charge.

C- put on solar and bite the bullet ,I did :)

If you hook up to power be it gennie or mains you will need a good charger like a C tek at about 15 or 25 amps there not cheap but very good.

Speak to mandrake on this site he will explain this all better than me and Im just learning so please dont take my advice as gospil LOL!

Good luck , Regards John.
AnswerID: 403724

Follow Up By: zigdog - Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 08:31

Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 08:31
Hi John,

I forgot to add water to my question too.

I have 12v supply from vehicle but it'll never fully recharge the banks. Have 210amp hours and a good deep cycle charger in the KK, just wondering about long stay options and top ups on the move.
FollowupID: 673280

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 09:00

Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 09:00
Remember you only have to replace what is used
If you have 8Oah or 8,OOOah is not relevant, if you recharge daily you will only have to replace what is taken from the battery system daily.

On the move daily it's not a hassle, but if you camp for weeks at a time you need to have a recharge system that works daily, so it only has to put back what is used that day and the battery system stays close enough to fully charged.