2 stroke oil added to diesel

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 21:04
ThreadID: 76189 Views:6941 Replies:10 FollowUps:25
Hi to all,
I am trying this method that I read on here of 2 stroke oil as a diesel additive to compensate for the low sulphur fuel that is now being sold. My question is "Do I still need to use the FLASH LUBE additive that I have been using for years to prevent algae forming in the tank"? This FLASH LUBE does state that it is a lubricant as well as an anti fungal treatment and I am now wondering if I should continue using it along with the 2 stroke oil.

Cheers: Phil

Reply By: Rockape - Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 21:20

Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 21:20
Phil,
I also use 2 stroke oil in the diesel.

I would continue using your additive, as the oil will only compensate for the lack of sulpher.

Have a good one
AnswerID: 405097

Follow Up By: pf11 - Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 21:38

Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 21:38
Hey Rockape, I thought as much but just wanted re-assuring from those who use this method. Thanks for your reply Mate.
FollowupID: 674811

Follow Up By: SNAKE No1 - Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 21:48

Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 21:48
Hi Blokes,What ratio do you use.? Cheers Snake
FollowupID: 674813

Follow Up By: Angler - Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 22:03

Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 22:03
Me too, what is the ratio ie how much per tank full?
FollowupID: 674815

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 22:20

Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 22:20
200:1

Have a good one
FollowupID: 674817

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 22:59

Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 22:59
I use 300:1 or 300ml to a 90 litre tank.

FollowupID: 674821

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 09:34

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 09:34
The recommended dose is 1:200 (oil:diesel).

Here is an easy way to calculate it (in your head): Lets say you fill your tank with 62 litres of diesel, double that = 124 and that equals the millilitres of oil to add. (124 ml).

Or another way is to put the neck of the oil bottle into the filler and give it a big squeeze. LOL.

Malcolm

living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 674870

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 12:01

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 12:01
Malcolm,
Maybe you meant halve that and add 32 millilitres of oil. Me be thinking 124 ml = 50:1

Have a good one

FollowupID: 674888

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 16:44

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 16:44
62 litres of diesel is 62 000 ml.
62 000 divided by 200 = 310

for 62 litres you would add 310 ml of oil
FollowupID: 674930

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 16:56

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 16:56
Ithink you should both go back to school!

62 litres is 62,000 millilitres.

Therefore 62,000 / 124 = 500:1

And 62,000 / 32 = 1,937.5:1

Now here's a weird thing, if you multiply the number of litres by 5 and call it millilitres you'll have the right 200:1 ratio!

62 x 5 = 310 millilitres

Or, 62,000 / 200(:1) = 310 millilitres

FollowupID: 674931

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 16:57

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 16:57
Whoops, Sorry Barnesy, slow typer!

FollowupID: 674932

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 07:28

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 07:28

You are absolutely correct. Can't believe I posted that garbage.

I don't know what I was thinking yesterday. In too much of a hurry to get out the door I suppose ;-)

If we use 50 litres (50,000ml) divide by 200 (the ratio) we get 250ml of oil to add. And as you say 50 x 5 = 250ml of oil to add (@ 200:1).

Or maybe we can still use the second option in my original post. ;-)

Malcolm

living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 675004

Follow Up By: Rockape - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 07:38

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 07:38
Rum!!!!!! I now know it affects my brain
FollowupID: 675005

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 10:50

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 10:50
Rockape

Nah! It's the humidity. I'm doing some paving in the greenhouse and have to have a Goldie about every half hour. LOL

malcolm
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 675040

Reply By: Member - John D, Wandong (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 21:22

Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 21:22
Hi Phil,
I read that same article on here and decided to give it a go after talking to some other members that are using two stroke oil mixed with their diesel, I have used it in 5 tank fills and found that the motor runs a lot smoother with less of that familiar diesel motor rattle, have not noticed any better fuel consumption or power, just the car runs smoother.
Not sure about the FLASH LUBE that you are using, never used it myself.

AnswerID: 405099

Follow Up By: pf11 - Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 21:41

Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 21:41
Hey John, as this is my first attempt of using the 2 stroke I am hoping for the same results as you have noticed. A quieter running engine would be nice.

Cheers: Phil
FollowupID: 674812

Reply By: Member - Keith P (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 23:06

Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 23:06
I have used 2 stroke in my GQ RD28 for the last few months now ...and about 6000 k...and am happy with it so far.
The sole reason for trying it was a badly worn injector pump head at 99,000 k!!!.
Apparently it was just plain worn out according to my local injection bloke...no water damage or misuse that he could see...just plain stuffed from the new fuel that we in Oz have to use now. No bloody lube in the fuel now was his verdict.
Suggested I use Flashlube...which I started to do ...but then came across information on 2 stroke...and decided to give it a go. Immediately the IP was heaps quieter and hot starts were quicker.
Not using flashlube now at all...and am hoping that 2 stroke will help save costly IP rebuilds every 100000k. As for any other sideffects...not much really...maybe a little less smoke on cold startup...and motor feels definately smoother and quieter...which is the main reason for trying it as far as I,m concerned. I have haerd of other reports of more power and better economy....and maybe mine is better in these regards....but I havent actually done any comparisons or tests on this ...so dont rightly know..BUT..the results I actually wanted seemed to have happened..ie...a Quieter IP which hopefully means a lot less wear. Spose I aint gunna find out for sure until truck is near 200000k and pump is working properly still...but there yu go.
I use the cheapest bog standard mineral 2 stroke I can find...usually Valvoline or Gulf western available from Supercheap...as I believe manmade synthetic stuff may just not be a "natural" mix with diesel...but those are just my thorts and not open for discussion.
I reckon for those who still own olderstyle IP systems...just try it ...you may be surprised...and at the ratios mentioned it wont do any real harm

HTH.

Cheers Keith
Nothin is ever the same once I own it ...........

AnswerID: 405118

Reply By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 08:24

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 08:24
Great thread but i'm curious, all you guys adding 2-stroke to your fuel are driving vehicles with multi-point injection. I wonder if it would be ok to add to a common rail engine? Anyone?
AnswerID: 405145

Follow Up By: Pezza QLD - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 08:47

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 08:47
From what I have read, yes, it is perfectly safe.
Apparently Mercedes in europe did a test on all the off the shelf additives and quite a few "not - off - the - shelf" ones and came up with and end result of 2 stroke oil being the most benificial of them all at a ratio of 200 : 1.
If you scour the european forums (it's quite popular in yankyland as well) you'll find they have been using it for years on their small 4cyl passenger cars, which I believe quite a few now are common rail.
Have not found one mention anywhere of any adverse affects on any type of diesel engine.

Pezza
FollowupID: 674861

Follow Up By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 10:18

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 10:18
Well, there is certainly a massive amount of discussion on a wide variety of forums on this. The most common finding appears to be less engine noise, which, well, is ok but i happen to quite like Miss Turtles little chug. Some are also saying there is an increase in fuel economy although it all for the most part seemed to be speculative. None reported adverse affects, however, none i read had seemed to be adding it for an overly extended period of time. The possible danger though appeared to be a loss of pressure in the rail, which i am guessing (and i am no mechanic) would be bad. However again, that was all speculative. so, what to do? well, at this stage nothing, i will sit on it, think awhile, ask my mechanic and see what he says.
FollowupID: 674874

Follow Up By: Member - Keith P (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 16:33

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 16:33
It seems....and correct me if I am wrong.... the main reason for adding 2 stroke is LUBRICATION (which is the sole reason why I use it) of older style "real" injector pumps. AFAIK...common rail systems have not a lot of moving friction parts....so to my way of thinking 2 stroke would probably be a waste of time/money in these systems.

Cheers Keith
Nothin is ever the same once I own it ...........

FollowupID: 675318

Follow Up By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 16:38

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 16:38
Keith, the more i think about it, the more i think your right. Thats pretty much the conclusion i have come to. Cheers.
FollowupID: 675319

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 16:47

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 16:47
hi tonbon nsw

i have put valvolene 2st racing oil -mineral based- (for higher hp engines) in my VW 1.9ltr crd and have now done just over 700km towing a 6x4trailer to perth and back and a 450kg camper trailer to boyup brook and return at the w/end

i'm extremely happy with it it's so quiet and is running very smooth
i am yet to try it without a trailer in tow
and as far as fuel consumption goes it did use half a litre per 100kms less on the trip sat/sunday than it normally does

but i will only be totally convinced re -fuel figures after my next trip to perth
without a trailer on the back

it is also much quieter on initial cold starts than it used to be it's lost that diesel rattle

so in all i'm very pleased with the results so far and have no regrets or negative thoughts about the long term benifits

there is also a lot of dicussion on thread 75509 - 10/2/10
13 days ago
FollowupID: 675320

Reply By: Gazal Champion - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 15:01

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 15:01
Hi all, after reading many posts on these pages re 2 stroke additive I also have just started to use it. Have not as yet noticed any difference but then I am only on the second tank full with 2 stroke.

Main reason for using it is that I have a 1HDFT and it was rattling its head off and as these motors are noisey at the best of times, from all that I have read on various forums, I thought I had better give it a go.

Finally decided to get the injectors reconditioned and the pump seen to last Thursday. Car not back yet and wont be ready till mid week.
Results are as follows
Injector Nozzles are badly worn and need replacing.
Fuel Pump badly worn with some internal scaring with signs of water ingress.

Projected costs = Injectors $1200 Pump rebuild which includes new body around $2,000 including fitting.

Summary---- add lubricant to the fuel or you will pay big time-- my thoughts.

At 200:1 200 ltr fuel = 1ltr oil
100 fuel = 500ml
50 ltr fuel = 250ml

Hope my 2 bobs worth helps.
regards, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 405196

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 16:37

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 16:37
Ok folks - Sounds great but what brand and spec are you all using please?

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 674927

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 20:15

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 20:15
G'day Crazy Dog,

I use the cheapest mineral based 2 Stroke oil I can find.

At the moment I'm using Penrite Green Keepers 2Stroke oil from SuperCheap.

Anything cheap, low ash and mineral based is the go.

FollowupID: 674955

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 16:54

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 16:54
When using the low sulphur diesel the GQ felt asthmatic, it sounded as though it didn't have any oil in it.

Began using flashlube and it was noticabely smoother and quieter. Have used it ever since. I haven't tried 2 stroke but it seems like it could be an alternative when FL runs, 2 stroke would be easier to find out bush.
AnswerID: 405213

Reply By: trainslux - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 17:41

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 17:41
Guys, when using 2 stroke, use the mineral oil one, not the synthetic.

The synthetic oil does not stay in suspention like the mineral oil does.

Castrol 2t mineral oil is what I use.

Trains
AnswerID: 405222

Reply By: Gronk - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 21:39

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 21:39
I see all of you have older style diesels......I wouldn't reccomend doing this with CRDI diesels....especially if its out of warranty.....they are very sensitive to contaniments....and any damage to the fuel pump/injector side of things may cost up to 10K of damage !!!
AnswerID: 405272

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 23:29

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 23:29
Hi Gronk

Been running two stroke oil now for 6 months in my V8 landcruiser ute. Quieter running. No adverse affects. The original post in europe was for a Freelander which I think is CRDI.

Two stroke dissolves in fuel, is less than 1% additive. Toyota allow up to a 5% additive.

FollowupID: 674993

Follow Up By: gbc - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 15:03

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 15:03
I've got 40000 kms on a colorado too - no worries
FollowupID: 675124

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 09:21

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 09:21
Trying about 300:1.

Talking to friends with 2 stroke outboards with oil injection, the ratio varies from 50:1 to 500:1, depending on revs and load. Cruising at standard revs, ratio is about 300:1. Low revs or idle the ratio goes up to 50:1.

So thinking diesel has some lubrication, 300:1 seems OK. Bottle does recommend 200:1, but for petrol.

OK, I admit it, am also a bit of a cheap skate. :o)
AnswerID: 405322

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:49

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 13:49
Hi John.
Started using 2 stroke today. I am using oil for lawnmowers etc not outboard oil.
What oil are you using?

Vince
FollowupID: 675103

Reply By: Member - G N (VIC) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:29

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:29

can any one tell me if the 2/ oil would settle after time?

eg could you add it to a bulk tank that was going to be used over a 2 month period?

or could it settle out or float to top???
'GN
AnswerID: 405496

Follow Up By: trainslux - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 09:54

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 09:54
If you use mineral oil 2 stroke, ie basic non synthetic stuff.
It will not separate and is ok for bulk storage.

Get a glass jar, and fill it with diesel, add a bit of the mineral oil, and keep it on the shelf.
Other have done this over several months, and its stayed mixed.

Trains
FollowupID: 675253