Roof Rack Awnings

I am thinking about purchasing an awning that attaches to a roof rack. The pull out type with 2 poles. I have a 100 series cruiser and a TJM alloy rack. How have you found these? Are they good value and easy to erect and put down? How do they attach to the roof rack? Any tips would be appreciated.

Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you respond

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 14:16

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 14:16
Gday Steve,

How have you found these? Excellent
Are they good value and easy to erect and put down? Mine takes around 1 minute to put up or pack away
How do they attach to the roof rack? I made a couple of angle brackets...Ill take a photo if you want.
I think it cost just over $200 on ebay.

Hairy
AnswerID: 405190

Follow Up By: Member - Steve R (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 14:32

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 14:32
Thanks Hairy

A photo would be great when you get time.

FollowupID: 674903

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 15:13

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 15:13
Here ya go.
FollowupID: 674912

Follow Up By: Member - Steve R (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 15:20

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 15:20
Thanks very much Hairy. The photos give me a good idea how to attach it. Thanks for taking the trouble.

FollowupID: 674914

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 15:41

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 15:41
No Worries..........Cheers
FollowupID: 674916

Reply By: Member - John H (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 14:20

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 14:20
I bought an ARB one - taken it quite often on trips but rarely used.
Good for shade & light rain, very quick to erect and simple to use 'cause it's always stored ready to go.
I attached it with small angle brackets from Bunnings - 2 bolts into the roof bars, and one into the track which is the back of the awning. Easy to do & no traps.
AnswerID: 405191

Follow Up By: Member - Steve R (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 14:33

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 14:33
Thanks John

FollowupID: 674904

Reply By: Mick O - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 14:59

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 14:59
Steve, I have a Gunya awning attached to the full length ARB steel rack. Simply bolted direct to the side brackets of the rack. Used it often. It comes into its own when you're pulled up on the roadside for a break, lunch etc. Great for shade. Conversely, it's a bit of extra cover during inclement weather. Have you seen the Foxwing awning from the Oztent people. It looks great and had I not just upgraded to the ute, that would have been my next purchase.

AnswerID: 405194

Follow Up By: Member - Steve R (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 15:21

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 15:21
Thanks Micko. I'll have a look at the foxwing.

FollowupID: 674915

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi_In_Aussie(Wagga) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 19:32

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 19:32
There is a foxwing for sale in the trader section right now.

FOXWING Awning. BRAND NEW!!!

Never been used. mounts to left hand side of car. Comes with mounting brackets for Rhinoracks. 2.2m poles instead of 1.9m standard. All pegs and ropes are brand new. Excellent 4x4 accessory, contact for more info and photos.
Price: $900
Name: Jacko84
Phone: 0408 846 659
Email: Send Enquiry
Submitted:20 Feb 2010
FollowupID: 674946

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 15:08

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 15:08
Hi Steve
We have a 120 Series Prado with the Toyota Cross Bars, and have a Black Widow 2.5 metre awning mounted to it. It usually takes under 2 minutes to unroll the awning, put the legs out and peg it down. Can highly recommend them. When in the bush, it becomes our kitchen and sleeping quarters and shade producer for lunch stops when there is no shade. Below are a few photos showing what they are like.

Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

AnswerID: 405197

Follow Up By: Member - Steve R (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 15:19

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 15:19
Thanks very much Stephen. The photo's looked great.

FollowupID: 674913

Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 23:59

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 23:59
Ive also have the black widow 2.5 metre awning and I think its maybe the best thought out unit on the market.
I dont even use guy ropes in gentle weather
When it does need guy ropes,I tie them to gerry cans or anything with some weight.
That way you dont have guy ropes extending out from the awning for people to trip over.

The poles are adjustable for height and tension with a twist and lock action and can be dropped quite low to allow water to run off in a cloud burst.

The horizontal edge of the awning has some bead channel that would allow another section of canvas to be added to extend the length or to form a screen for privacy

I paid $699
FollowupID: 674997

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 16:30

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 16:30
We too have a Gunya, very well made, bit dearer than the others but it is canvas.
I've heard that apparently the company has stopped making them due to increased competition and a lack of sales due to cheaper but inferior imports which are usually made of a polyester fabric.
We've been thinking of a foxwing, the biggest downside is that the poles are not integral with the design and must be stored seperately. Also because of the huge surface area it is very advisable to use two to erect and peg every pole down.
AnswerID: 405210

Follow Up By: Member - Steve R (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 18:19

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 18:19
Thanks Ozhumvee. I'll look into the Gunya brand.

FollowupID: 674942

Follow Up By: rumpig - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 22:47

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 22:47
Gunya no longer exists, they closed up shop when Mr and Mrs Gunya had a messy divorce so i was told by a mate who knows Mr Gunya personally. like said earlier, they were also struggling with sales against the cheaper imports aswell.
FollowupID: 674989

Reply By: Cruisevessel - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 18:57

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 18:57
I have the Foxwing Awning and can fit my poles in with the awning no worries.

I keep the pegs and ropes in the car though as they don't fit in the awning, but these take up very little room under the front seat.

Cheers Steve
AnswerID: 405230

Reply By: David H - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 20:57

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 20:57
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Advertising/Self-Promotion Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 405484

Reply By: Wizard1 - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 11:15

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 11:15
Recently became the owner of an ARB 2.5M awning. Fitted it the other day to the ARB steel rack. Drilled 6 hoies and wacked it on, took 1/2 hour to fit.

Looked at all the others, Gunyah, etc. But at the end of the day I wasn't going to be living under it. It was a temporary source of shade and some protection from rain. Didn't need the XX ounce canvas, etc, etc. as it isn't a tent and wouldn't be used as one.

The TJM one is the same as the ARB.

At $295 it was a bargain and I am sure will do a great job. Even had a mate make an exact copy of the ARB awning. For all the mucking around getting the materials, having canvas sewn, I am sure he couldn't have made it for what I paid for a new one.

Heading to Coololah Beach this weekend camping and to give at a try out..can't wait
AnswerID: 405558

Follow Up By: Member - Mike P1 (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 12:31

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 12:31
Wizza, where do you get the ARB unit for $295. Over $400 list price??
FollowupID: 676021

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 14:41

Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 14:41
Yes, quite a steal if I do say so....But what a great piece of kit!!!!

Used on the weekend and it was fantastic. Gave us somewhere else to sit when raining. Even the wife kept raving about how good it was and how easy it was to setup.

Worth every cent.
FollowupID: 676475

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 11:57

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 11:57
I have a Bob Burrage awning 5m x 2.5m, $380

AnswerID: 405566

Follow Up By: gazza414 - Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 10:40

Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 10:40
I can't see your pics Baz---interested in Bobs work
thanks
FollowupID: 675451

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 08:05

Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 08:05
Steve,

I have a home made one for the vehicle. Tent poles attached to the roof racks and a tarp.

Also bought two, with a filler, from Gunyah for the camper.
Excellent quality but it seems they have pulled the plug.

AnswerID: 405696

Follow Up By: Member - Steve R (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 16:38

Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 16:38
Many thanks to all who replied. I've got lots of good suggestions. Thanks again.

FollowupID: 675488