Permits Permits Permits

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 00:04
ThreadID: 76374 Views:4478 Replies:7 FollowUps:11
This Thread has been Archived

Related Pages

Gees I am new to the outback travel planning and I am stunned by the number or different permits I have to have. I need a secretory just to arrange the paperwork.
There has got to be an easier of getting all these permits for camping and entry in to different areas. That Desert Parks Pass is hexy do I need that to do the Oodnadatta Track and then up to Yulara and the Rock.
Cheers
Wayne B
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 05:41

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 05:41
Hi yu Wayne
From memory when doing the Oodnadatta Track you don't need the Desert Parks Pass, unless you intend to go into Lake Eyre.
Go into Treks and have a look, can get all the info there.
Cheers
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 406271

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 08:25

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 08:25
Hi Wayne
Firstly the places that you have outlined require no permits, with the exception if you want to visit Wabma Kadarbu Mound Springs Conservation Park, which the Desert Parks Pass covers. If you thought that you were having problems with the easy places, just wait until you venture into very remote places, that is when the fun starts when applying for permits, that is if you get them granted. My remote trips are planned well over 12 months in advance and I usually start applying for the various permits at least 6 months before heading off. If you are coming in from NSW, make sure you drop into the Flinders on the way up to Marree before starting the Oodnadatta Track

Cheers

Stephen
Smile like a Crocodile

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 406281

Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 09:59