Rear air bag pressure

Submitted: Friday, Mar 26, 2010 at 22:32
ThreadID: 77224 Views:6652 Replies:5 FollowUps:5
I’ve just taken the Prado in to get a replacement UHF aerial.

As a secondary thought I asked them to pump the air bags up to 25 PSI. This certainly raised the rear end of the car, but I’ve yet to test it with a load on the hitch.

The current camper van is a Goldsteam Crown weighing about 1,300kgs and, I suspect, quite a heavy ball weight.

I’d be interested in hearing what pump pressures others are using in a similar situation.

Kim

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Mar 26, 2010 at 22:52

Friday, Mar 26, 2010 at 22:52
The best way to set it up first off is, pump air bags to max. pressure, usually around 35psi, then load the vehicle, hook up the camper & then lower the pressure until it is level.
AnswerID: 410590

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Mar 26, 2010 at 23:37

Friday, Mar 26, 2010 at 23:37
Gday Kim,
I got mine fitted a while ago.
I assumed they knew what they were doing and left them at that.
When my car sagged..I pumped them up.
As long as my beer doesnt roll off the dash I reckon they are working fine.
Take the latte machine out of the back and it will probably level out again?

Hahahahahhaha

AnswerID: 410597

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 02:08

Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 02:08
Gday Kim,

I run my at 28psi, with a Jayco Eagle, fully loaded with extra water tank and 2 20ltr cans on the drawbar. I do have heavier coils also fitted, as others have said, depends on they towball weight etc. I would suggest doing as mentioned pump them to 35 and then leveling the rig.. Hope this assists a little.. PS without the camper and offroad I only run 6psi so the springs can compress fully.

FollowupID: 680483

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 19:55

Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 19:55
Hairy

That’s precisely what I’m talking about .... a hot Latte tipped in the nether regions brings tears to a fella’s eyes.

Wait until you get to WA and taste a bit of Bundy with Bore water.

Kim
FollowupID: 680568

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 02:06

Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 02:06
Hi Kim

I think different air bags run at different pressures. For example my air bags which are the type that sit over the leaf springs have a rating of up to 200psi. My air tank has a limit switch at 140psi.

Usually fully loaded I run around 80 to 120 psi. And I will put the loaded camper on the back of the ute and then pump the air bags up. The advertising for my air bags said they tested them to 700psi with no issue and stopped there as they felt it was getting dangerous.

I have heard other airbags - different types - will only pump to 40 ~ psi.

I think you need to consult the instructions or look on the website for your type of airbags. Or tell us what type and maybe someone has the same brand.

AnswerID: 410605

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 23:06

Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 23:06
Gday David,
Your leaf spring airbags will hold over 2000kgs. They don't need to hold that much - its just that they are thicker and stronger than the coil spring bags.
I also wondered what pressure to run mine at, but find they level the rear end nicely at about 20psi! I remove the air from them when I need some wheel travel.
FollowupID: 680614

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 09:11

Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 09:11
The red Polyair airbags have a max pressure of 30lb according to the fitting instructions.

Anything with a heavy ballweight would benefit far more from a WDH as airbags do not substitute for one of them.

They do not and cannot allow the weight removed from the front axle by hooking up the trailer to return, simply by pumping them up harder.

All they do is lift the rear higher.

AnswerID: 410622

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 20:37

Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 20:37
Would have to agree with you there Graham, but wouldn't like to see what would happen to a WDH when doing some of the tracks we do, creek crossings with the vehicle twisted 15deg to the right whilst the Jayco is 15deg to the left and this while not being level as the vehicle climbs out of the crossing.

So on Black Top or pretty good dirt roads, I would use a WDH but not for my style of tracks... So as is with everything... Horses for Courses..

FollowupID: 680574

Reply By: Rangiephil - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 10:35

Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 10:35
Quote As a secondary thought I asked them to pump the air bags up to 25 PSI. This certainly raised the rear end of the car, but I’ve yet to test it with a load on the hitch. quote

If I were you I would learn quite a bit more about your vehicle. You should also get a pump ( and Polyair gauge) as to drive around with Polyairs or similar at 25PSI unladen is IMHO very uncomfortable and maybe dangerous as it will vastly increase the roll stiffness at the back.

Polyair type bags are rated to lift 450Kgs, so should easily accommodate any reasonable towball weight at much less than that pressure.

AFAIK , the correct procedure measure the height of the rear , pump up the bags, apply the load , then let down the bags until the height is the same as unladen. Few of us do that , but it only really has to be done once.

Do you also get the dealer to check your tyres???

Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 410635

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 20:23

Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 20:23
Philip

What I asked for was an opinion based on experience, not a lecture according to the book. And no I don’t ask my dealer to check tyre pressures, because most of them wouldn’t have a clue.

Of cause I’ll test the pressures with the van attached, but I wanted to hear what other have to say.

"get to know my vehicle" you must be kidding!

Finally I wouldn’t use a WDH in conjunction with an articulating hitch, which I forgot to mention.

Kim
FollowupID: 680572