Any solutions for seat belts jamming off road?

Submitted: Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 22:46
ThreadID: 77766 Views:4691 Replies:8 FollowUps:12
Hello,

I have an HJ 61 Landcruiser that has aftermarket Klippan retractor lap sash belts made in 2004 in the back seats. The passengers often complain about the belts locking on them, worse off road, which makes their journey much less enjoyable. It constrains their freedom of movement to the point they are just held back against the seat at all times, not just heavy braking.

Klippan say they are the main suppliers of OEM into Australian cars. Has anyone found a different brand that is more suited to 4WD than Klippan, or know of recent upgrades that will make a difference if I simply replace the existing with new Klippans??

Tim

Reply By: Fab72 - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 23:01

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 23:01
Mmmm. That's odd. There are three auto manufacturing plants in Australia. Holden (Commodore, Ute and Statesman), Ford (Falcon & Territory) and Toyota (Camry). They all use seatbelts supplied by Autoliv.

I wonder who Klippan supply? The retractor ball locking mechanisims are very precise bits of equipment. It doesn't take much to throw them out of whack and cause them to lock prematurely.

I'm assuming you know how they work, so unless you have jacked up the rear or front of your vehicle to make it sit uneven, I'd suggest replacing the belts with the genuine units, not aftermarket B/S stuff.
AnswerID: 413212

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 23:39

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 23:39
Klippan is the product name, manufactured by Autoliv.

I can rotate the retractor mechanism slightly and it makes a little difference when fiddling with the vehicle stationary, but the passengers still find they lock during normal driving whether the retractor is perfectly level or angle slightly forward - the natural line of pull for the webbing.

FollowupID: 683316

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 23:48

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 23:48
Klippan/Autoliv have a PDF on how to release a locked up retractor which might help some people. I don't think it resolves my problem tho.

http://www.autolivaftermarket.com/pdf/Lockup%20retractor.pdf

FollowupID: 683318

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 06:24

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 06:24
Tim..... I stand corrected, well actually I sit corrected..hehe.
FollowupID: 683323

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 23:05

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 23:05
Here is a solution....... If they don't work the way you expect, buy ones that do?
Othrewise.....change your driving style?

Buggered if I know??????
AnswerID: 413214

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 19:29

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 19:29
Hairy

You (soon to become a Western Australia dill)...!

Fair dinkum I’ve been reading the posts, and noted you can’t find the WA border without a gadget.

Us tough blokes down here in Victoria take solitude in cranking up the Latte machine in the morning, then forming an expedition to find grubs for breakfast!

Kim

FollowupID: 683407

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Apr 18, 2010 at 09:13

Sunday, Apr 18, 2010 at 09:13
Roflmao!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 683468

Reply By: Doodle - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 23:27

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 23:27
Hi Tim,
I regularly use a large office type “bull dog clip”. The type of clip which replaces the small paper clip when a larger one is needed.

In the normal seating position and belt fastened, just pull a couple of inches of seat belt out and clamp the bull dog clip at the top of the belt to stop it from retracting. These office clips are strong and hold the seat belt from locking too tight. This does not reduce the seatbelt functionality unless one pulls out a long length before fastening the clip. Try it.

Cheers…… Doodle
AnswerID: 413215

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 23:41

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 23:41
sooo, it turns it into a semi non retractor that will lock properly in an emergency? Interesting idea that would help. Thanks
FollowupID: 683317

Follow Up By: Doodle - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 00:01

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 00:01
That's exactly right Tim.
The early retractable seatbelts were not as comfortable as modern ones. There was no hight adjustment which was not good for people built close to the ground, like my co-pilot. Most seats belts rubbed across the side of her neck. I used to clamp them off with just that bit of slack. Does the trick.

Cheers.... Doodle
FollowupID: 683320

Follow Up By: B1B2 - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 12:42

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 12:42
G'day Tim,
My 80 series retractor belts have locked up since new. I also use the bulldog clips to allow a bit of slack and it works well.

FollowupID: 683369

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 07:51

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 07:51
Clothes peg does the trick for me, same idea as the bulldog clip. If you dont use it and have to get out on a hill you wont be able to get the belt back on and thats a bad thing.

AnswerID: 413230

Follow Up By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 14:34

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 14:34
We had the same problem at work - to the extent that blokes weren't wearing seatbelts when off road - it all went pear-shaped when one vehicle rolled and three guys were injured (one ejected). The only thing that saved the back seat passenger was the cargo barrier which prevented the roof crushing him.

The up-shot was that my department then supplied an over-engineered clothes peg - a piece of flat steel shaped similar to a capital 'I' but with enough 'hook' on the harizontals so that the seat belt could be threaded through like a buckle. This allowed for adjustment and stopped the belt retracting and locking.

I've never used it - just keep my seatbelt on!

...but the clothes peg seems so simple.

Tim
FollowupID: 683380

Reply By: Rip64 - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 19:24

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 19:24
Well,up until 6 years ago, I worked 23 yrs at Autoliv and its Aussie owners before them. Some retractors are more sensitive than others, and some retractors are fitted into vehicles right on the limit of their locking range.If close to Campbellfield in Vic. they will have Engineers to help, if not loosen 9/16 unf fastening bolt and extract and retract the webbing as you slightly pivot retractor around mounting bolt. Find its centre point of lock range and tighten bolt in that position. Klippan do build a global product very well.
AnswerID: 413306

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 19:53

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 19:53
Rip64,

Excellent to hear from you, given your actual experience with the mechanisms.

So to clarify for my understanding, what you are suggesting is to loosen the main fitment bolt that attaches the retractor to the vehicle, and find the centre or balance point between the two extremes where the retractor locks because of tilt in the mount. By doing this is gives the best chance of proper operation and minimises incorrect locking.

Do I take it then, that the best position for the retractor is not necessarily horizontal, but is governed by internal design factors and how it was actually put together in the factory? And that a qualified technician could adjust the retractor?

I'm in Perth, and we have http://www.seatbeltsolutions.com.au/ who say they are licensed to fix seatbelts, mainly webbing I take it. I've emailed them and will see what they offer as far as retractor adjustment goes.

Tim

FollowupID: 683409

Follow Up By: Rip64 - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 20:21

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 20:21
Tim, retractors are designed to suit the vechicle they are to be installed into. The lock angle is determined by the mounting angle.
If that is 90-90 then they should be mounted in your vechicle verticle in two planes.
The problem with alot of aftermarket and self sourced retractors is that they are fitted into vechicles they were not designed for.

P.S I have seen first hand the destruction/crash testing of all Australian made safety restraints and I do not recommend PEGS or BULLDOG CLIPS.
It is truely scary what happens at impact even as low as 40km/ph through the lense of a slow motion camera.
FollowupID: 683415

Reply By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 19:54

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 19:54
It seems from the various responses, that this IS a widespread problem but the best solution is a peg or clip. Not putting down this work around, but I'd have thought a better solution would be available.

Rip64, from your experience do Autoliv make retractors for different markets, such as road cars vs 4WD/farm machinery/trucks with their inherent more movement in the seat?

Tim
AnswerID: 413312

Follow Up By: Rip64 - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 20:09

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 20:09
Yes, not that I am a wrap for engineers, but they did have a good crew there that could adapt product to suit the majority of applications.
FollowupID: 683411

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 20:49

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 20:49
Interesting, I always give the seat belts a jerk to lock them, helps to stop me moving around too much off road. Feel more secure with a locked seat belt.

If I can't reach something, it doesn't get done. Or else I relocate critical items so I can reach them.

Seat belts have saved mt life a couple of times, and some injury other times.

Did put the old manual adjustment belts in one car, worked well. Set to the point you feel is right. For me that si nice and firm. :o)
AnswerID: 413320

Reply By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 21:56

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 21:56
Fair point OldPlodder,

My passenger's experience is that the belt tightens up on her and she fells more than firm - tied in too tightly really. She's prone to car sickness, so feeling overly constrained makes it all worse. If it stayed at the one setting it would be fine, but seems to work tighter.

Tomorrow I will get out the spirit level and get all anal about getting it perfectly 90°/90°. I've blown them out with air and sprayed a bit of silicon spray into the mechanism - no much goes in, they are well sealed off. Hard to tell if any of this is making a difference; it's hard to get a 14 yo to go for a test drive each half hour ....

Rip64, the Autoliv site has the model number for the correct belt to suit my vehicle, and I don't mind purchasing a pair of new ones if it is going to fix the problem, but this seems to be a problem for OEM installations as well as aftermarket. My vehicle came in from Japan as a second hand import, so had to have retractor belts retro fitted. I 'may' be able to source new Toyota ones as they would have been fitted to the Aus spec vehicles, but as B1B2 says, his OEM on his 80 where a problem from new, so I'm not sure if that will be a solution.
AnswerID: 413329