Road & Sand Tyres for PA Challenger

Submitted: Monday, Oct 13, 2003 at 15:03
ThreadID: 7786 Views:3998 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
This Thread has been Archived
HI, as I'm a newbie to 4x4, I'd appreciate some views on some new tyres. I've a 2002 PA Challenger with factory standard Bridgestone HT's (265/70 15). I'm running them at 32 psi up front and 30 psi in rear.

I'm not too sure if it's the chasis set-up or just poor tyres - however the vehicle is a shocker in the wet, tyres howl like banshees around corners at any speed and the rear end likes to snap out under moderate throttle. Other than that I'm rapt as it floated over the sand at Double Island and Fresh Water Creek Road without lowering pressures when other 4x4's were bogged.

Driving is mainly road and highway and some sand and gravel roads. So far the Dunlop PT1 and Cooper HT's have caught my attention. Any and all advice is welcome.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: flappan - Monday, Oct 13, 2003 at 16:22

Monday, Oct 13, 2003 at 16:22
Don't know where my last post went . . . .

Bridgestone HT's actually seem to work OK. Might be a tad underinflated (have you tried the 4 psi rule ??).

Do those Challengers still have leaf spring rear ends . . . or have they gone to coils (might explain the bad handling).
AnswerID: 33618

Follow Up By: dcamoore - Monday, Oct 13, 2003 at 17:16

Monday, Oct 13, 2003 at 17:16
It's got the coil springs. Regarding the (under) inflation the car's tyre placard recommends 26psi (total joke) - so I uped it to 30 with extra 2 psi for the front as it also has the weight of the transfer box to deal with as well.
FollowupID: 24124

Follow Up By: flappan - Monday, Oct 13, 2003 at 17:31

Monday, Oct 13, 2003 at 17:31
Forget the placard . . .

I use the 4 psi rule . . .

On my Patrol 34 front 36 Rear
On my Pajero 32 Front 34 Rear

Both have BFG AT's . . .

Might need to experiment a bit to see what difference pressures make.