Ohh what a feeling --- seems there is no end to it.

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 12:39
ThreadID: 77866 Views:4096 Replies:7 FollowUps:15
Text for ABC online below.
What I find interesting is that Australia is not so much affected by these recalls. Now is that because Australia gets only the very best vehicles without faults Toyota make or is it because regulators in Oz are asleep and have no teeth anyway.

Toyota recalls LandCruisers
Posted 2 hours 57 minutes ago

Toyota has recalled its LandCruiser Prado 150 model across the United States, Canada and Europe as it faces increasing concerns it has sacrificed its legendary quality to become the world's number one carmaker.

It has now recalled 7,500 Prado and GX 460 models in Europe, adding to 9,400 GX four-wheel drives recalled in North America and 446 in Canada.

All production and global sales of the GX 460 have been halted.

It recalled 870,000 Sienna minivans across north America Friday because of corrosion problems that could cause the spare tyre to fall off.

This brings it to roughly 10.5 million vehicle recall notices worldwide in the last seven months, bringing Toyota under intense scrutiny after overtaking General Motors as the world's top carmaker in 2008.

More than 50 deaths in the United States have been blamed on accelerator pedal defects that allegedly caused the vehicles to speed uncontrollably.

Toyota has agreed to pay the largest civil fine ever sought against a carmaker by US authorities, $16.4 million ($17.8 million).

Toyota said it has implemented a number of measures to respond more rapidly when customers complain of problems with their vehicles and to improve its overall quality standards.

"We are proud of the vehicles that Toyota produces and are confident they are among the safest on the road," the carmaker said in a statement.

Earlier this year, Toyota released a statement saying that accelerator pedals for Australian vehicles are sourced from a different supplier, and the company did not expect any recalls of Australian vehicles.

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 13:59

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 13:59
I might stick to my old 60 I think.

I haven't seen any recalls on them lately.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 413637

Follow Up By: Member - William H (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 21:37

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 21:37
I'll stay with my HJ47 tojo.

Good night all.

Cheers for now...Williamh...Bunbury...WA.
FollowupID: 683828

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 14:36

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 14:36
The Prado 150 and GX460 (I think that's a Lexus SUV) have been recalled because the Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) is cutting in a little late and may promote a rollover if the tail gets out of shape in a tight right hand turn.

The VSC is supposed to get a vehicle back in shape after the driver lets it get out of shape.

All these "driver assist" gadgets (and I own a 200 Series with all this stuff) is producing lazy, unskilled drivers who, if they get into bother, will blame the manufacturer for not saving their bone idle skin.

Maybe it's time the manufacturers stopped their march towards a driver-less vehicle (look at the latest Lexus and Mercs) and we human beings got back to learning some skills and being responsible for ourselves.

AnswerID: 413643

Follow Up By: Ozhumvee - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 18:38

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 18:38
Gone bush, it isn't just the carmakers to blame for the lack of skills either.
Here in NSW most of the main highways and roads are divided, when they are two way next to each other there is a continuous double line so most city drivers under the age of 40 have next to no overtaking skills except where overtaking lanes exist. They have next to no experience of crossing to the wrong side of the road to overtake and as a consequence cannot judge safe ovetaking distances or oncoming vehicle speeds.
The lucky ones are those that live outside of major centres and so acquire these skills as part of normal driving.
When teaching my kids to drive they were each taken to a large area of dirt like a friends paddock and let loose to slide, spin and do whatever, all gained valuable skills which will hopefully aid them in their on road driving.
Most wouldn't know what to do if they lost control of a vehicle, probably slam the brakes on and accentuate the problem.
FollowupID: 683786

Follow Up By: Mike DiD - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 21:01

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 21:01
"All these "driver assist" gadgets is producing lazy, unskilled drivers "

- I assume you also said that when Pwer Brakes, Power Steering and ABS came out.
FollowupID: 683821

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 22:20

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 22:20
Sure did.

Especially power steering.

I've got no muscles in my arms anymore.

FollowupID: 683841

Reply By: Rockape - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 14:58

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 14:58
Yep!!!!!
it don't happen in Australia, the legendry Toyota ute used by most graziers and mining companies is losing it's status.

A hard work vehicle made for the bush that has it's a/c and alternator under slung. Last week one of ours seized both, add to that the 3 motors that have seized through water leaks (never lost a Hz motor through loss of water), the a/c condensers that eat out (old ones didn't), some of the doors rusting out on the pillar joins (the old ones didn't) and the engines that are still using oil + some weren't even painted properly underneath.

Watched the fitters try to pull some glow plugs, easy just twist them off. They couldn't get them out, as they had corroded in. You may say that is because of the conditions these mine vehicles operate in, guess what! the old Hz plugs could be pulled out even at the end of their life.

Have a good one, and remember to carry a diagnostic computer with with you if you own one.
AnswerID: 413648

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 22:02

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 22:02
Hi Rockape, I got an email featuring a cattle move and one of the pics in it was of the one you have there of your rig pic, unbelievable pics. Wouldn't particularly like meeting them on one of the dirt roads up there whilst towing a van.LOL

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 683838

Follow Up By: Rockape - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2010 at 06:03

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2010 at 06:03
Yep,
I would hate to get caught in the middle.

Have a good one
FollowupID: 683859

Reply By: Member - Wayne B (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 15:28

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 15:28
I wonder if the fact that all recalled vehicles are LHD has anything to do with it.
AnswerID: 413652

Reply By: Member - Jeff O (VIC) - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 17:48

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 17:48
I'm a not so happy Toyota owner at the moment.
My 2008 200 Series has now done nearly 75Km.
The vibration and noise that I have been experiencing at approx 1400 rpm has been getting worse .I reported this to my dealer for the first time about 18 months back, and every time it has been serviced.The standard answer is. It is not a safety issue ,will not cause any problems, are we are looking at the problem?".
It has also developed a little BRRRRP noise just after starting.The noise lasts about 2 seconds and sounds like an electric pump .
It is going in for further tests on Thursday..
I am going to Wiluna for the gathering in June . A good percent of my travelling will be done at 40 kph/1200 to 1400 rpm .The noise and vibrations give me the "Tom Tits".
I am concerned that if it is not fixed before the warranty runs out I might have a fight on my hands..I will be asking for an answer in writing.
I have also lost my spare remote key.
Toyota will kindly supply and program another one for $620.
Mr Minit will do the same for $400.Can anyone please help with a better price?
I am located in Melb
Jeff.o

AnswerID: 413668

Follow Up By: Member - Ups and Downs - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 18:42

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 18:42
Jeff

I don't know if it's the same sort of vibration as in my Troopy which is there between 1800-2000rpm.

I was told not to worry about it, and 350,000km later it is still there, but hasn't caused any problem.
See you in Wiluna.

FollowupID: 683787

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff O (VIC) - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 18:53

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 18:53
A mate suggested that I can solve the noise problem by turning up the radio Ha Ha

FollowupID: 683789

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 20:35

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 20:35
I think that the BRRRRP noise might be the the doovey that changes the airflow direction ie floor/face, face, screen/floor etc....just play with it a litte and see. In my D40 it is OK if left on face/floor but shifted to any other position and for a couple of seconds after start up I get the BRRRRP noise:-)
FollowupID: 683810

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff O (VIC) - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 21:31

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 21:31
I will try it in the morning

FollowupID: 683826

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2010 at 07:42

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2010 at 07:42
You may be able to get the problem seen to after warranty end by sending then a registered letter detailing the problem and their responses to date. Thus showing a "paper trail" extending "back" into the warranty period.

We did that with a falcon once and stuffed them right up when the service manager said "it was out of warranty. My wife took great pleasure in extracting the "evidence" and it should have been on you tube. The seat was crooked and our right arms were getting very sore on long drives. They moved it in line with the steering wheel and we got better. Cost them a quid too. GOOD.

Send the letter even if you don't worry about it later. Its a legal link that is very hard for them to get around. Proof the problem existed in warranty.

FollowupID: 683869

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2010 at 07:45

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2010 at 07:45
Patrol 22

Thats the same noise we get from the air pump we had installed in the engine bay when you first turn it on. We only turn ours on when needed. Maybe yours comes on with the ignition.

I don't suppose . . . . .

FollowupID: 683871

Reply By: Fab72 - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 20:21

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 20:21
Toyota reliabilty is only as good as the brainwashed Toyota diehards make them out to be.

My elderly neighbour complainned to no end about his Commodore because after 175,000kms, his battery light came on (voltage regulator) and the engine developed an oil leak (rear main seal).

He brags about the fact that his very expensive Rav 4 is brilliant because it's a Toyota. However in the two years and 35,000kms he's owned it, it has been back to have the Auto rebuilt twice, towed home from the Flinders Ranges for a broken engine mount and had problems with the electric windows.

But he still goes on about Toyota reliabilty.

Having worked in the industry for 20 years (6 at a Toyota dealership), I can honestly say that many (not all) Toyota owners are either naieve, ill-educated or just caught up in the "It's a Toyota, it must be good" hype. The worst being Camry owners.
AnswerID: 413703

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2010 at 07:15

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2010 at 07:15
The hype that Toyota manages to generate has always fascinated me.

I have talked to a lot of people over the years and when you get down to the actual facts Toyota is much the same as everything else.

They have had some shockers and some good cars, yet because of this brainwashing they get away with charging a premium for it. Nice work if you can get it.

I had a long chat with a the Hertz manager at Brisbane airport when they started to put those 6cyl Aurions in the fleet instead of Falcons. He reckoned he had nothing but complaints about them with some people refusing to drive them.
I too drove one, never again it was like going back 10 or 15 years.

Locally here (rural Toyota heartland) the V8 75 series is regarded as as joke. Most people who traded their 6cyl wish they hadn't. Problems are endless and never fixed Oil leaks, Oil usage, drowning them, odd noises etc etc. Good used 6cyl fetch a premium and sell instantly.

As for fitting a narrower track back axle......what were they thinking? Saving money most probably. Only Toyota could get away with it, and then charge extra for the privilege.

Part of the problem is that a lot of Toyota owners never drive anything else so they start to believe what they get told. "Toyota is best".

FollowupID: 683866

Follow Up By: Fatso - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2010 at 08:14

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2010 at 08:14
You blokes are on the right track here.
I was in a 4x4 club some time back that was dominated by 80 series cruisers.
I used to reckon there was a "TOYOTA CODE OF SILENCE" that you signed up to when you bought one. That meant you never ever ever mention in the presence of anyone who doesn't own a Toyota any faults at all that Toyota's have or might have.
Another thing to do was to exaggerate any rumours or whispers about supposed faults with Land Rovers. Seems they were intimidated by them.
They talked for years about one blokes gearbox problems his wife had with their Discovery when we all knew it was just that the transfer case was in neutral.
"It was the inherent problem that Land Rover have in their production line where a certain grub screw was left loose" was the explanation from the cruiser boys.
FollowupID: 683878

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2010 at 12:45

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2010 at 12:45
Aw don't get me started Fatso.... from memory

Corolla: Inlet manifold gaskets, thermostat housings, front crank shaft seals.

Camry/Celica: Boot water leaks, lifting crashpads, headlight switches, auto transmissions, steering rack bushes, balance shafts

80 series cruisers: Front diffs, trunion bearings, axle seals, sump gaskets, manual gearboxes, diesel (1HZ) bottom ends, transfer boxes, useless LSD's.

Tarago: Exhaust whistles, intermediate shafts.

Supra/Cressida: Harmonic balancers, heads.

4Runners (V6): Exahust manifolds..this was my most hated job. The RH one is a right royal biatch to get out.

.............and the list goes on.

In my opinion, the last good diesel motor Toyota put their name to was the 12HT that came out in the 60 series Sahara's etc.
FollowupID: 683916

Reply By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2010 at 07:50

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2010 at 07:50
And our son was thinking of getting a 200 series. Luckily he found a 2003 100 series TD that had only done 21000Kms.

We also stayed away from the 200 because of all the automatic driver asleep stuff. Besides we had enough remotes in the house as it was.

I still like Toyota and hope they get their act back on the right road. Only wish Holden or Ford made something as good as the 100 series (in size also). Still a traditional "Bathurst" family here.

AnswerID: 413740