Duel Battery Setup

Hi Everyone,
This is my first time so go easy.
I'm looking at setting up a Duel Battery system in our 105 Diesel (non turbo)LandCruiser.
While I think I've got a clear understanding of the standard setup I'm wondering what is involved to also wire in my engel Battery Pack?
i.e main battery, agm Deep Cycle Battery and then the Engel BatPac in the rear
I currently have a 12v charger wired into the back coming directly from the Main Battery?
Any help would be most welcome and hugely appreciated.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2010 at 22:58

Sunday, Apr 25, 2010 at 22:58
Hi Jack, just connect your Engel Battery Pack to the deep cycle battery but be sure there is a fuse at both ends of that cable unless it is a very short cable with no chance of faulting.

Cheers
Allan

My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 414282

Follow Up By: Outback-Jack - Sunday, Apr 25, 2010 at 23:06

Sunday, Apr 25, 2010 at 23:06
Thanks Allan,

Appreciate the advice, If I could impose a little more, does that mean I continue to run the 12v engel charger? and will it run the aux batterys down together or drain the BatPac first?
FollowupID: 684501

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 25, 2010 at 23:15

Sunday, Apr 25, 2010 at 23:15
I assumed that the charger was a 12v dc to dc charger from the main cranking battery (and hence, alternator) to the auxiliary battery.

Regardless, with the BatPac in parallel with the aux battery, they will behave as though one battery during charging and discharging. I would have thought that the BatPac was to be used to run the fridge when removed from the vehicle and be recharged when returned to the vehicle. Have I got that all wrong?

The alternative is that if left permanently together, the BatPac will simply be adding some capacity to the aux battery.

Cheers
Allan

FollowupID: 684504

Follow Up By: Outback-Jack - Sunday, Apr 25, 2010 at 23:26