Nissan 2.8 L Diesel - Any Good

Submitted: Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 11:23
ThreadID: 78102 Views:3153 Replies:5 FollowUps:0
I'm helping a mate (who isn't computer literate) find a 4WD via the web. We are in a remote area (King Ash Bay, NT), so the search is web based at the moment.
He is prepared to travel to get a good vehicle. He has family in Brisbane area, so a trip down there to pick up a vehicle is no problem.

He wants a Nissan Patrol, 4.2 Diesel wagon preferably under 250,000 km and not older than 1994. Budget is up to $15,000.

From the search so far, there are very few that meet his wishes in the price bracket. But there are heaps of 2.8 L.

Neither of us have any experience with this motor. He will not be doing heavy towing, but will do long distances from time to time.

I'm looking for information and advice on this motor. Any known problems. What to look out for. How does this small motor go in the Patrol in real use - power, torque, economy. The natural fear is that it is under powered.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Norm C

Reply By: Member - Nathan & Lyndsey (WA) - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 11:43

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 11:43
Hi Norm.

Best place for info would be - www.patrol4x4.com/Forum.

Good luck :)

Lyndsey
AnswerID: 414826

Reply By: outback epicurean - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 13:46

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 13:46
Had one for 10 years. reliable and no mechanical problems much more reliable than 3.0 motor. Certianly no stump puller but used it to pull a camper trailer quite a lot. 7 km/l was common or about 8km/l without trailer.
AnswerID: 414849

Reply By: Gossy - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:35

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:35
I have had mine for 6 years. Done the Simpson crossing twice, heaps of trips to the Flinders, Googs, etc etc. The car is exactly the same as the 4.2 so no worries about toughness. It does have a smaller gearbox but because you are not towing it doesn't matter.

I mention the Simpson because I was a support vehicle for 6 motorbike riders. Alot of weight etc so it's had a hard life with no problems at all. Nothing has broken on mine; only $ spent has been on preventive maintenance.

Economy is great on the open road and averaged 13litres/100km crossing the Simpson. Brand new Holden diesel did 18 and a new petrol pajero did 28 so I was all smiles in Birdsville :)

If speed and power are not your needs then I highly recommened the 2.8 td. I did add a 2.5 inch exhaust which did make quite a difference to driveability also.

Mine now has 270,000km on the clock and expect to get 600-800 with regular care (I change oil and filter every 5000km's which you should check if possible that the owner has kept some type of maintenance record).

good luck.

AnswerID: 414857

Reply By: patrolmann - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 17:02

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 17:02
HI
I have had my 2.8TD for three years now and have had a great run out of it. Bought it at 199ks and now done 290ks
Regular service is essential so check that has been done at 5000k intervals.
They have a smaller gearbox than the 4.2 and if they have towed in 5th a lot they can have issues.
Mine has had a head done at 180ks and I also have had a 3inch mandrel bent semi stainless exhaust from the turbo back which improves power on take off.
No power plant i agree, but i keep up with all the 3lt and 4.2lt when we travel.
I tow a 1480 kilo van with mine and on hills it does lack power but on the open road there is no problems.
Try putting the question up on the patrolforum.com.au
I love mine
Patrolman

AnswerID: 414871

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 20:31

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 20:31
Thanks for the replies. I've put a post on the Patrols forum as suggested. But since they have a process that my post has to be cleared by a moderator before it is published, it has not appeared after a few hours.
Hopefully it will show up soon.

Norm C
AnswerID: 414900