Help with fitting external hatches on a Caravan

Submitted: Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 19:54
ThreadID: 78576 Views:4898 Replies:4 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
I'm embarking on a project for our personal use. Today I bought an old dunger of a Caravan and will gut it. I'm not about to rip apart a $25,000 van for my first attempt.

Then I will build what we really need. Q/S bed, couch with drawers underneath, robe and shower cubicle inside. Everything else (kitchen, 2 storage drawers, and fridge will slide out for outside living. All of this is fairly routine for me. However I'm a complete novice with aluminium and hatches.

My question is this; what is the best way to fit external hatches to an existing van? I need them to seal well.

Any, and all, advice will be appreciated.

Cheers,

Jim.

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Boeing (PER) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 20:11

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 20:11
Hi Jim, Can't offer much advice other than a visit to a caravan repair place and pick their brains and of course tell them what you do as there must be heaps of caravaners that want drawers for their vehicles.

Sounds like a great project and it would be good to see some progressive photos over time.
AnswerID: 417181

Reply By: Dave... Adelaide (SA - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 20:15

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 20:15
G'day Jim

Sorry l cant help you with your question mate, but l am hoping you might post some pics up here as you progress along with the build up...I am planning on doing something along the same lines myself, making my own off roader, custom built chassis etc.......

Cheers.....Dave
AnswerID: 417182

Reply By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 20:35

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 20:35