Land cruiser troopy

Submitted: Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 22:23
ThreadID: 78630 Views:5554 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
This Thread has been Archived
Hi Guys,

I am in the process of planning a trip around Australia and currently looking at purchasing an early to mid-nineties model troopy. The reason for the troopy is I would ideally like to put in a 'fake floor' with a draw storage system, and be able to sleep in the back of it when I need to. I Figure the troopy is a pretty reliable unit if it's been looked after properly.

Also unsure whether to go for dual fuel petrol/gas set-up or diesel. I am leaning towards the latter.

I would love any advice or feedback on any of above as I am a bit of a novice!

Cheers!
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 22:46

Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 22:46
Having had quite a few Troopys through work and travelled all over Australia and now own a 2001 Troopy which has been very reliable over many thousand of kilometers I would reccomend a DIESEL.
AnswerID: 417462

Reply By: V8 Troopie - Friday, May 21, 2010 at 00:42

Friday, May 21, 2010 at 00:42
I done that in the early nineties with a HJ75 troopie which I still have.
Re fake floors & drawers under, you realize (I hope) that these drawers will need to be very long or space is wasted.
My set up was different, I had a single bunk on the drivers side which easily could fold out to a double bunk. Had a slide out fridge under the back of the bunk and, since the bunk base was hinged, the forward part under it was easily accessible for stowing.
During the day the bunk was always folded to single (mattress folded too) and all the room beside it could be used for stowing things.

The lot was attached to the original fold down seat mountings on the side and on the floor.
AnswerID: 417477

Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Friday, May 21, 2010 at 07:18

Friday, May 21, 2010 at 07:18