Tardis has its new front end .

Submitted: Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 13:36
ThreadID: 78695 Views:4090 Replies:7 FollowUps:14
Further to the thread 78295 concerning drawbar box -

Well its now made and fully loaded -

Side views to show all doors open and items enclosed ..

Tim Webb of Horsham is the builder ..

Jeep is now capable of 1000 Kms of travel before refill .. Water increased to 80 litres - Stubbie capacity increased to a full slab LOL ...

Still fully solar powered and nearly ready for the Kimberley 2011 trip.
All I have to do now is re-wire the Tardis and place a small fuse box somewhere handy ,,,

Reply By: Mandrake's Solar Power- Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 13:38

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 13:38
S/be previous thread 77825 ooops ..
AnswerID: 417787

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 14:34

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 14:34
Steve,
you should have put the dunny at the top mate..... then all you had to do was open the top lid and sit on top... all done mate... lol..

Now you have to open the side... pull the dunny out... set it up... all takes time if in a rush... lol...

How does the new mods and extra gear up front affect the tow ball weight? The box is almost as big as the camper....lol..
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 417797

Follow Up By: Mandrake's Solar Power- Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 14:43

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 14:43
I know I'm a bit of an exhibitionist !!! But there are limits ...

Tow ball weight just measured at 90 Kgs ... Still well within the parameters for Jeep and trailer ..

FollowupID: 687879

Reply By: Paul G K (vic) - Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 14:42

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 14:42
Bit of a worry to caryy gas cylinder on side, if pressure relief valve was to operate it will give off liquid gas instead of gas vapour

Regards Paul
AnswerID: 417799

Follow Up By: Mandrake's Solar Power- Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 14:55

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 14:55
Paul ,

What's the likelyhood of that happening ? And if it does the liquid will squirt out into the box and freeze the aluminium sheet - There's no flame or electrics anywhere near so explosion's not a concern ...

I've stabilised all movement by making a cradle to hold the bottle and there's a firm foam pad on the upper lid to hold the bottle locked into the cradle .. It aint gunna move ...

FollowupID: 687882

Follow Up By: dirttracker - Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 15:07

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 15:07
Steve,
I would check the legalities of carrying a cylinder in that fashion. Even if you don't mind, it may fail registration is contrary to regs. Just a thought.
FollowupID: 687884

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 16:12

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 16:12
Hi Steve,

I would suggest you rethink your gas cylinder storage. Here are a few links to LPG safety bulletins, they ALL state that you MUST carry a gas cylinder upright.

Kleenheat Gas

NSW fire brigade advice

QLD gov advice

The problem is that if the PRV was to vent, it would now vent liquid that would expand 270 times its volume. In a sealed space like yours, with the shine shining down, the potential to vent is very high. If/when it does, this could easily rupture under that pressure as your locker seams well sealed. Even if is didn't rupture, the gas would now sit at the bottom of the locker and any stray spark or static electricity on opening the locker .....

For your own safetys sake, you need to rethink its layout and venting.

FollowupID: 687889

Follow Up By: Wilko - Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 16:13

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 16:13
Hi Steve,

There are adaptors that screw on the gas cylinder to make it safe to carry in that fashion, I it would expand 288 times so it would be like 288 gas cylinders leaking upright.

Otherwise it looks great.

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 687890

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 16:25

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 16:25
Hi Wilko,

The POL adaptors for transport only seal the gas connection in case it leaks or the valve starts to unscrew in transport, it does not affect the PRV (pressure relief valve) port and its venting. Unfortunately, there is no method of making it safe to carry a gas cylinder on its side.

FollowupID: 687891

Follow Up By: Wilko - Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 17:51

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 17:51
Hi Captain,

The adaptor was being used so that acetylene cylinders could be safely laid/stored/operated on their side on a mine ute.

It replaces the valve and afaik lifts the intake point to the highest point of the cylinder(when its on its side).

It then works the same as an ordinary cylinder, you do have to lay it down so that the intake is at the top of the cylinder though ( marked by an arrow).

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 687903

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 21:04

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 21:04
Hi Wilko,

I think we are talking about two different things, the acetylene adaptor sounds like it replaces the whole valve assembly and repositions the PRV intake, given it has an arrow indicating direction. The POL adaptor is simply a "seal" on the LPG valve in case the valve itself leaks or isn't turned off fully.

FollowupID: 687934

Reply By: Mandrake's Solar Power- Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 16:21

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 16:21
Many thanks for the advice everyone - Looks like I have two choices -

move that shelf down to enable the cylinder to stand upright

OR

the cylinder will have to go on the side of the camper on one of those bracket / holders ..

AnswerID: 417812

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 17:36

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 17:36
Steve, I would also be concerned about that expanse of sheet metal bouncing stones back into the rear of your car and possibly break your back window.

I reckon you will have more chips than a fish & chip shop on your tailgate.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 687900

Follow Up By: Mandrake's Solar Power- Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 18:03

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 18:03
Dave ,
Think I have that covered - Tow hitch has a full width mud flap attached and I have a polycarb stick on rear window cover -

After the trip back from Horsham to Melbourne I checked the front of that box very carefully for nicks and dents and there were none so it looks like the mud-flap works on bitumen - Hopefully it will work just as well off the black stuff !!

STeve

FollowupID: 687904

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 18:36

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 18:36
Aerodynamics of a brick now LOL

Steve, do you any more info on the tardis branding etc? Seems like a well-sealed setup.

AnswerID: 417850

Follow Up By: Mandrake's Solar Power- Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 19:20

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 19:20
Its a Stockman POD with Camper option .. 65 litre water tank and side mounted jerrycan holders .. otherwise standard ..

The POD

Very light and great for towing but tiny on storage which is why the box became the option ..

FollowupID: 687915

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 18:42

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 18:42
Steve,

What is the turning circle like now with the box so far forward??

AnswerID: 417851

Follow Up By: Mandrake's Solar Power- Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 19:18

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 19:18
G'day Sir Kev ,

Haven't done a good test yet but I did come close when doing my usual expert reversing bit -- LOL

I think that where I will take this baby it will be OK ..

FollowupID: 687914

Follow Up By: Mandrake's Solar Power- Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 19:26

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 19:26
Kev ,

I think that photo doesnt do the distance any justice - My tow hitch is a long one to come out and beyond the rear spare tyre on the jeep ...

Its all bloody awkward but it works nearly ...LOL
FollowupID: 687917

Reply By: Member - Boeing (PER) - Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 18:45

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 18:45
Steve, Is there enough room to lower the shelf that the gas bottle is on so that it can sit upright. From the pictures, it looks like it may go close.

AnswerID: 417855

Follow Up By: Mandrake's Solar Power- Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 19:24

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 19:24
I was looking at that before and I could either lower that shelf OR cut a round hole in it and drop the gas bottle down through the hole 100 mm and it'll fit BUT that still doesn't get around the enclosed space / not-vented bit referred to above ...

I think I will have to move my electric junction box and mount the gas bottle at passenger side rear on one of the gas ring holders welded to the sub-frame ...

That way that shelf can stay where it is and support some spare food and drinks .

FollowupID: 687916