tv aerials

Submitted: Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 19:29
ThreadID: 78713 Views:6676 Replies:7 FollowUps:19
hi all,
we are heading off soon for an unplanned (where ever the road leads)trip of aus and were wondering if you might give us ideas on what type of tv aerial would be best.

Reply By: fugwurgin - Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 19:47

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 19:47
hi mate
we are 3 months into a trip similar to yours.
we have a small lcd tv with a digital tuner and use a "happy wanderer" antenna. its a t-piece that comes apart in 2. $100 from dick smith. we pick up most available channels when in towns, spoke to many caravanners who have huge masts with massive house antennas, general consensus is we get what they get.
its light, portable and does the job.
AnswerID: 417866

Follow Up By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 19:51

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 19:51
We also use the Happy Wanderer, with a set top box, and get a very satisfactory reception without breaking the bank Sets up easily on a pop top van using the already fitted roof clamps. Good luck, and travel safe.

Roger B...
FollowupID: 687921

Follow Up By: mintrax - Monday, May 24, 2010 at 09:17

Monday, May 24, 2010 at 09:17

Could you tell me, is the happy wanderer multi directional or do you have to twist it around to find best reception?

Michael
FollowupID: 687961

Follow Up By: fugwurgin - Monday, May 24, 2010 at 09:43

Monday, May 24, 2010 at 09:43
it is designed as a multi directional but we find we need to sometimes spin the t section slightly if there are trees etc. its not a fussy antenna just put it up and hit scan on the tv. we usually just lean it against the tent.
boosters for caravan antennas in my opinion are a bit of a gimmick and waste of money, im not saying they dont work but in my experience if you get a fuzzy signal the boosters seem to amplify the fuzz and you end up with more fuzz. save the money and buy a good antenna to start with. just dont expect reception everywhere regardles of how fancy the antenna is.
FollowupID: 687962

Reply By: Notso - Monday, May 24, 2010 at 08:22

Monday, May 24, 2010 at 08:22
Any of the recognised antennas will work Ok for you. Make sure you get a really good quality signal booster. They will make a huge difference to your signal quality.
AnswerID: 417899

Follow Up By: Notso - Monday, May 24, 2010 at 08:24

Monday, May 24, 2010 at 08:24
PS Make sure you get a signal booster that will run off your 12 volt supply, that's providing of course that your Telly does.
FollowupID: 687958

Follow Up By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Monday, May 24, 2010 at 10:08

Monday, May 24, 2010 at 10:08
Make sure you purchase a high definition tv then you wont need a set top box, can get them from Dick Smith for about $300.
Safe travels
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 687965

Follow Up By: Notso - Monday, May 24, 2010 at 12:22

Monday, May 24, 2010 at 12:22
I'm actually referring to a Signal amplifier that sits between your Telly, and the antenna and amplifies the signal before it reaches the telly, (or the set top box)
FollowupID: 687975

Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, May 24, 2010 at 12:15

Monday, May 24, 2010 at 12:15
We use a 'TRAVELLERS MATE' by Saturn Antennas. Check it out.
Very compact and good reception- regional and city.
Has 34 db amplifier. Comes with heaps of cables & fittings.
We just set up ours on a tent pole.
(No affiliation etc etc)

AnswerID: 417922

Follow Up By: paulnsw - Monday, May 24, 2010 at 21:27

Monday, May 24, 2010 at 21:27
The Saturn is seriously poor reception compared to other aerials. Digimatch Explorer $69.95 from DSE or Jaycar kills it at fraction of the price.
FollowupID: 688052

Follow Up By: paulnsw - Monday, May 24, 2010 at 21:30

Monday, May 24, 2010 at 21:30
all omni directional aerials are rubbish and unless you are parked on top to the TV transmitter dont work.
Other issue 50% of TV transmissions are in vertical polarisation and makes those aerials even more useless.
FollowupID: 688053

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 09:36

Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 09:36
Hiya Paul,
The old saying "it works for me". I have had good reception in very fringe areas with the 'Travellers Mate". Maybe I was just lucky- but it's worked when & where I've wanted it to.
Oh...and my sophistacated TV is just a laptop puter with a USB plug in 'TV Tuner' from Jaycar. (Both digital & analogue).
The only comparo I have had is with a fellow camper who had a 'Winnegard' (sp??) and a reputable TV set- and he couldn't pull in the signal we were enjoying.
Have you used the 'Travellers Mate'. ??? Hmmmm.

FollowupID: 688075

Follow Up By: paulnsw - Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 10:13

Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 10:13
is technically impossible for a heap of junk omni directional aerial to work in "very fringe areas". Why do you think they make large Yagi aerials if you could erect a heap of junk omni aerial. Omni directional aerials receive in a cardioid polar pattern and are well known for their extremely poor sensitivity. The heap of junk cannot do vertical transmissions. Consider you got badly ripped off for what is an expensive Frisbee.
FollowupID: 688076

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 10:26

Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 10:26
Paul,
When you have the pleasure of using the mentioned device- then you can offer your comments.
Til then, have a Bex and a good lie down !!

FollowupID: 688080

Reply By: Graham & Ann - Monday, May 24, 2010 at 18:04

Monday, May 24, 2010 at 18:04
Been caravanning form many years, lots in the regional/outback areas, where fringe reception is often the norm. Have tried many antenna and while the T bar Explorer or The Happy Wanderer Antenna ( T Bar type) maybe ok in good reception areas they are basically just a small set of plastic coated rabbit ears. A set of $12 rabbit ears mounted on a pole will be better in some instances espcially with ATV Band 2 that ABC works off. (Bands 1 & 2 have VHF channels up to Ch 5a.)

The Exlorer C3 or similar should give far better results for digital tv (DTV) or ATV band 3,4 & 5 (Ch 5a and above) but no good for poor or fringe area band 1 & 2 ch's.

Check out these two at either Dick Smiths or Jaycar amoung other stockist.
Jaycar CAT. NO. LT3172
DIGIMATCH VHF/UHF ECONOMY 7 ELEMENT RECEIVES BAND 3, 4, AND 5 (CHANNEL 6-12 AND 28-69) LT3172 - Digimatch VHF/UHF Economy 7 ElementReceives Band 3, 4, and 5 (ch 6-12 and 28-69)

or this one (we use earlier version of it and added a set of extenable rabbit ears to end element to get band 1&2 channels in fringe areas)
Jaycar CAT. NO. LT3175
Log-Periodic 32 Element VHF/UHF TV Antenna Specifically designed with digital TV in mind, this combination VHF/UHF log periodic antenna picks up all the frequencies where digital TV is transmitted. The VHF band 3 elements fold in for compact. Receiving only VHF band 3 (channels 6-12) and UHF bands 4 & 5 (channels 28-69) means doing away with those dastardly long elements which are only for picking up ABC analogue, the balun has an F-type output for connection to your coax down lead.

AnswerID: 417960

Follow Up By: Graham & Ann - Monday, May 24, 2010 at 18:07

Monday, May 24, 2010 at 18:07
images didnt show up, try again

FollowupID: 688018

Follow Up By: paulnsw - Monday, May 24, 2010 at 21:34

Monday, May 24, 2010 at 21:34
absolutely the two best aerials available. I have both and carry both because I have the space. If limited to space I would take the bottom Explorer unit.
FollowupID: 688055

Reply By: Member - Laurie K (WA) - Monday, May 24, 2010 at 18:44

Monday, May 24, 2010 at 18:44
You don't say how long you will be away. If you are out of range, you won't get a signal, or in a lot of towns a crappy signal. A satellite setup wont cost you the earth, and gets a perfect picture wherever you are (weather dependent). You have a range of every ABC and SBS ch in Oz, plus GWN and Win (WA) or Seven Central and Imparja ($55 hookup fee - ripoff) east of the WA border. Plus NITV.

I even have my Foxtel box hooked up - need a dual LNB for that.

AnswerID: 417969

Follow Up By: Member - Laurie K (WA) - Monday, May 24, 2010 at 18:47

Monday, May 24, 2010 at 18:47
Forgot to mention - my Strong box (receiver) runs on 12v.

FollowupID: 688028

Reply By: Mr Z - Monday, May 24, 2010 at 20:20

Monday, May 24, 2010 at 20:20
any idea on what a setup like this might cost?
and a decent place to purchase?

thanks,
AnswerID: 417986

Follow Up By: landseka - Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 10:24

Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 10:24
Don't call anyone else but SatPlus! Well, you can but you will find them hard to beat for service, knowledge & honesty.

They even have a shop here in WA now.

Stay away from 'kits' as they seem to be over expensive.

A dish (85cm I would recommend) and LNB a couple hundred, reciever (Strong 12v hard to beat IMHO) maybe $180, tripod $60ish then just some cable & fittings $40ish.

Five hundred should get you set up to receive perfect tv anywhere.

You will of course need a 'card'. Speak to SatPlus about that, they come in a couple colours for various prices, ;-) from memory about $90 for a genuine card.

Cheers Neil
FollowupID: 688079

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 10:29

Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 10:29
Look here

www.accessantennas.com.au

I have the version with the flat topped dish.

You get all the gear including a signal strength meter, an inclinemeter and can even get a box that will allow you to record to a pen drive or a computer.
Also you get a book with most places angles for tuning in it Worth its weight in gold.

Have found it easy to set up and an 80cm dish is really the minimum to get good reception no matter what others say.

Only problem with sat tv is you need a clear line of sight to the NE as trees interfere with the signal.

Not usually a problem.

Have been using mine for 13 months all arond the country.

FollowupID: 688081

Follow Up By: Graham & Ann - Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 12:23

Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 12:23
Will 2nd landseka's plug for SatPlus for service, knowledge & honesty at least in all my dealings with them... We've been using sat tv for the past 6yrs all over the country and agree that 85cm dish works well. Iin very cloudy heavy thunder storms make a cover for the lnb out of a milk carton or simmilar, keep the rain off it and picture still works. Reason to carry both 'normal antenna' and 'sat dish' is that commercial sat tv ch's are limited, and you miss the local news etc. Enjoy your travels and tv
FollowupID: 688091

Follow Up By: Mr Z - Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 21:59

Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 21:59
Thanks for the info I'll look into the options available
FollowupID: 688183

Reply By: mongrel2you - Wednesday, May 26, 2010 at 13:49

Wednesday, May 26, 2010 at 13:49
thankyou for all the info we have purchased an aerial now based on feed back we leave in mid august and i suppose ( though i dont think the tv will get much use ) if the style bought doesn't perform we will ugrade to something different

again thanks everyone
AnswerID: 418225

Follow Up By: Member - Laurie K (WA) - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 22:55

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 22:55
Just got back into range, and I bought my setup from Access Antennas, and Jamie couldn't be more helpful.

Highly recommended
FollowupID: 688568