Generators in tandem

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 15, 2010 at 21:30
ThreadID: 79387 Views:6794 Replies:7 FollowUps:15
Can you connect a Honda 2KVA in tandem with a Honda 1KVA? If so, what would be the realistic available power under load?

Kim

Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 15, 2010 at 21:46

Tuesday, Jun 15, 2010 at 21:46
Kim

I am no sparky but i have bought lots of very expensive equipment for companies that synchronise AC power. From my limited understanding you dont want to connect to AC power sources. It isn't like DC power.

I would be very careful.

AnswerID: 420981

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 12:36

Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 12:36
Alan,
The inverter Honda's are specifically designed to be paralleled.

The only requirement is the end user parallel units of identical size. ie, 2 x 1KVA's can be paralleled as can 2 x 2KVA's. Definitely not a 1KVA with a 2KVA.

All the "lots of very expensive equipment" is built into the unit at the factory.

FollowupID: 691280

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 21:04

Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 21:04
Thanks Geoff

I wasn't aware that they were designed that way, i just know in general there is major concersn connecting two or more AC power sources togethor

FollowupID: 691379

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 22:43

Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 22:43
Hi Alan,
You are on the whole absolutely correct with your summary of paralleling AC gensets.

Just to throw a curve ball, Honda included the feature in their inverter range straight from the factory!

From my research it would appear the Honda's are the only small portable units with the feature!

FollowupID: 691404

Reply By: Member - res.q.guy (Vic.) - Tuesday, Jun 15, 2010 at 21:53

Tuesday, Jun 15, 2010 at 21:53
Hi Kim
I have a Honda EU20i, and in the owners manual there is mention of a harness from Honda that connects two EU20i's together.
But states "Never connect the different generator models and types" .
(Page 26 of the owners manual)
Neil
AnswerID: 420983

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Tuesday, Jun 15, 2010 at 22:08

Tuesday, Jun 15, 2010 at 22:08
Thanks Neil

That answers the question.

Kim
FollowupID: 691201

Reply By: Member - lyndon NT - Tuesday, Jun 15, 2010 at 21:58

Tuesday, Jun 15, 2010 at 21:58
NO! If you could join them the power would be 2 +1
You can join 2x 2kva Honda's = 4kva or 2 x 1 kva's = 2kva.

Cheers Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 420986

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Tuesday, Jun 15, 2010 at 22:17

Tuesday, Jun 15, 2010 at 22:17
Giday lyndon

Thanks for your input. I'll advise the mate that he'll have to shell out a bit more cash to make the units compatable.

Kim
FollowupID: 691204

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 09:35

Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 09:35
Hi Lydon
Sorry but it is not as simple as that.
The problem is synchronization of the ac waves
Not to hard with inverter type genny with the correct interconnections.
A standard genny is a much bigger problem as the frequency is speed dependent
Both the speed & the output wave form have to be synchronized ,THAT is quite a bit more complicated.

FollowupID: 691250

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 19:42

Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 19:42
hi peter
As said, The Honda's are designded to be joined as long as the capacity is the same, obviously you would only use the leeds recommended.

Cheers Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 691361

Reply By: GerryP - Tuesday, Jun 15, 2010 at 22:36

Tuesday, Jun 15, 2010 at 22:36
No! Don't do it!

AC power is a waveform that alternates between positive and negative values. The only way you can join them together is to properly synchronise the two waveform outputs and that needs special hardware.

If the two sources are out of synch, you'll end up with lots of sparks and brown smoke and nothing will work any longer...

Gerry
AnswerID: 420991

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 00:11

Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 00:11
Gerry,
The inverter Honda's are specifically designed to be paralleled.

The only requirement is the end user parallel units of identical size. ie, 2 x 1KVA's can be paralleled as can 2 x 2KVA's. Definitely not a 1KVA with a 2KVA.

All the "special hardware" is built into the unit at the factory.

FollowupID: 691221

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 09:00

Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 09:00
ditto what Geoff said
FollowupID: 691245

Follow Up By: GerryP - Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 10:10

Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 10:10
Hi guys,

In that case, I stand corrected. In fact, if Honda actually provides that capability already built-in, I am truly impressed.

Interestingly, I had some testing done on my Engel genny just last week and the AC was about as square and ugly as possible (not a sine wave in sight) and the 12 volt DC with light load sat at over 18 volts. Was seriously looking at swapping to a Honda and you may have just convinced me.

Gerry
FollowupID: 691254

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 11:05

Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 11:05
G'day Gerry,
You've found the two "features" that make the Sawafuji electronics in the Engel totally different to the Sawafuji electronics in the Honda!

If you dig deep enough on the Engel website it actually states the output of their unit is square wave. The output is no accident, it was designed into them.

That always impresses me! By its very nature a rotating electrical machine produces sinusoidal AC power, Engel have managed to create a square wave output by introducing a level of complexity with their electronics! The output would have been a cost decision rather than an electrical engineering decision.

This is the output of a Honda EU10i at about 600 watts load,

A touch woolly. For the price of the units it is absolutely brilliant sinusoidal AC! The waveform, frequency and voltage control is constant right through to full load and even into overload. In fact right up until the overload protection kicks in and kills the output.

The DC output of the Honda is very similar no load to the Engel. I wouldn't use the DC output from my Honda for anything, especially for charging batteries!

Hope that helps,

FollowupID: 691264

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 11:42

Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 11:42

Did you ever get around to putting your scope thingy onto a Kipor to see if their claimed sine wave powe is pure?

Jim

FollowupID: 691270

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 12:32

Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 12:32
Hello Jim,
I've never been able to get access to another Kipor after the aborted attempt with the one with the engine problems.

If I ever get hold of one again I'll let you know what I find.

FollowupID: 691279

Follow Up By: dbish - Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 12:53

Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 12:53
Hi Jim I have a Kippor 2600 & have scoped the output & it is same as the Mains, Un fortunately cant post pic on this forum as only a visitor. Daryl
FollowupID: 691285

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 13:06

Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 13:06
Thanks Geoff and Daryl,

I've got a Kipor 2000 that I'm quite happy with. Reassuring to know it is putting out clean power.

FollowupID: 691288

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Tuesday, Jun 15, 2010 at 23:16

Tuesday, Jun 15, 2010 at 23:16
As per other replies... IT IS A BIG NO NO.
connecting two incompatible gensets together, and especially out of sync, can can have catastophic results for both you and the gensets.
DO NOT attempt this, it is extremely dangerous.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 420998

Reply By: dieseltojo - Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 20:39

Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 20:39
Hi Kim,
My friend and I both have the 2kva units. I thought it was a good idea to get a cable set up from honda to double the output if required. It is ok with the proper gear from Honda.
But the set up costs around $50 to $500 so we didn't go ahead. But it certainly is possible and ok with the right equipment to put both units in sync. Different thing between the two kva and one kva set up though I reckon.
AnswerID: 421106

Reply By: wafarmer - Thursday, Jun 17, 2010 at 01:20

Thursday, Jun 17, 2010 at 01:20
The Yamaha inverters can be interconnected also as I have the "special" cable for them.

It is not rocket science with inverter generators that are set up for it there is nothing in the cable or connectors except the necessity to have plugs which leave no bare live conductors when one genny is disconected.

Using the "correct" hardware you could make your own cable as there are no special components needed although as usual all disclaimers and safety caveats apply to protect the foolish and increase the wealth of the greedy.

The above does not apply to conventional generators.

wafarmer
AnswerID: 421142