Thumb Twidling at Port Headland

Submitted: Monday, Jun 21, 2010 at 22:36
ThreadID: 79534 Views:3849 Replies:8 FollowUps:9

I've been in Port Headland now since last Thursday morning. I wasn't actually planning to be here however circumstances had led to it.

I've been writing up my blog on what I have been doing so far since I left Perth. Hopefully I will finish it before I leave, whenever that will be :)

I left the convoy I was in Wednesday morning on the Gary Highway, and Dad and I drove continuously with only minor rest breaks before getting to Headland about 8:10am Thursday.

Repairs, repairs, repairs.......

I didn't mind the 23 punctures I got whilst crossing the Gibson, or the two tyre shreddings either.

I broke a spring a few kilometres east of Nipper Pinnacle, 90 kilometres east of the Gary Highway....that was the worst thing that happened.

Also the hole in the radiator didn't ease my mind at all.

Luckily the radiator held up due to some nead it type substance.

The spring was welded 3 times before eventually it broke for the third time just past Punmu.

So Friday I had a brand new radiator installed -yay!!!

As it turns out both my front shockies are rooted too. That would explain the bouncing up and down on the springs, leaning to the right of course.

The ute goes in on Wednesday. It's hard to get work done here at short notice.

If all goes well the Fair Maid and myself (only) should head east again around lunchtime Wednesday where I will make for Well 33 and beyond. I still plan this even though I have to start work again 5 July. No way I'm gonna waste anymore of my hard earned annual leave.

Alan: Is there a Bunnings here?

Local: You have to be joking right!!

I cant believe how busy this place is. Accommodation was really hard to find. Lucky I look cool with my sunnies on.

It is so embarrassing driving around here with the front of the vehicle bouncing up and down like some yank tank in a movie from the '70s...

Tyres: No one here has the tyres I want - Coopers of course, stick with a good thing right, 23 puncture is OK when your the leading vehicle in a convoy????

Anyway I ended up getting Toyo M55's. The woman at the counter said, Quote: "You will not get a puncture with these until they are bald".

Wow. What a statement. It must be true because she looked pretty cool...

Anyway - Now I have 2 new toyos at the front, 2 98% coopers at the back and 4 spares - 1 x 70% cooper, 2 x 100% cooper and 1 x 100% Toyo....I hope I make it.

Hopefully fully loaded the 4wd will make it to the repair shop on Wednesday. I haven't got any where to stay Wednesday night so it will have to be ready.

Now 2 things I have learnt from this....
1. Carry a pressure sprayer for narrowing down punctures
2. Buy an Eco- Billy for hot water on the run

All good fun really.....

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Jun 21, 2010 at 22:50

Monday, Jun 21, 2010 at 22:50
Hi Alan

Glad you're still smiling in the face of adversity. May it all go smoothly from now on.

AnswerID: 421687

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 11:31

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 11:31
Thanks MH

FollowupID: 692129

Reply By: Member - John - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 06:21

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 06:21
Allan, just wondering what you mean by the following statement, "Carry a pressure sprayer for narrowing down punctures". Hope you get it all fixed Wednesday... John

AnswerID: 421697

Follow Up By: Ozhumvee - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 08:39

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 08:39
When travelling in those sort of conditions we carry a 5 litre garden sprayer filled with water and a little bit of detergent to lower the viscosity and make it "wetter".
It is an emergency fire extinguisher, hand washer and when sprayed on the tyre picks up air leaks very quickly.
Fire is its main use as any build up of grass is up under the vehicle usually in an hard to access position where you cannot throw water on it effectively. Water under pressure in either a stream of spray will quickly wet it down and extinguish it.
FollowupID: 692106

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 11:38

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 11:38
Hi John,

I've a smaller version that Peters, only a 1 litre (Purchased at PH Repco).

Instead of using 300ml to 1 litre of water to find a puncture, now 1 litre could last probably a whole trip (mixed with a bit of detergent).

FollowupID: 692130

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 07:52

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 07:52
Thanks for the update Alan,

Good to see you're keeping your spirits up despite all the problems thrown at you. Hopefully the next part of the trip will be problem free, there's no doubt you've earned a break from hassles.
Regarding tyres maybe you could get a set of these they tell me they are guaranteed puncture free.
My Nissan driver mates told me about them, they swear by them.

PhilImage Could Not Be Found
There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 421700

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 11:40

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 11:40
That's what I want.

Can you please order me 4?

FollowupID: 692131

Reply By: carlsp - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 08:18

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 08:18
I certainly admire your spirit.
AnswerID: 421703

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 11:41

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 11:41
I guess a little spirit goes a long way out here!!!

FollowupID: 692132

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 08:42

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 08:42
Talk to Mick about spending time in Headland, he had to cool his heels for over a week without the vehicle last year while it was repaired.
Plus everything is so expensive there and accomodation is scarce and even more expensive.
AnswerID: 421710

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 11:43

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 11:43
Hi Peter,
I heard all about his time here, never thought it would happen to me.

If all goes to plan my accom bill will be just under $800.

FollowupID: 692133

Follow Up By: Ozhumvee - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 12:47

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 12:47
Yes we originally camped in the van park for a night and then moved into prebooked cabin at a horrific cost of over $200 a night for two nights.
When Micks engine let go properly we escorted him back into town and then went bush again as we couldn't afford to stay.
We heard that 3 bedroom houses were $2.5k a week!!!
Met a bloke who had bought a block of land and was putting two demountables on it, living in one and letting the other which gave him a very good income stream.
FollowupID: 692135

Reply By: madcow - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 09:19

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 09:19
Mate i'm feeling yoiur pain but in a few years time you'll look back and laugh about it. We stayed at the caravan park next to the airport last year and it caught fire!!! We bleep ourselves as we had only just setup and went into town for look around. It is a mining town with prices to match
AnswerID: 421719

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 11:46

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 11:46
You're right - time heals all wounds lol..

You're right about a mining town, every second person is wearing work attire, no wonder it is so expensive here.

FollowupID: 692134

Reply By: Dasher Des - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 12:07

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 12:07
A few years ago, we had a trip similar to yours where every day, we had a problem from wires coming loose to a blow-out and fridge troubles. After about a fortnight, we would get up in the morning and try and guess what was going to go wrong today. Became a bit of a joke and something to talk about around the camp fire for ages after that.
Enjoy the trip and make light of all these little life experiences.
Dash
AnswerID: 421732

Reply By: Brian Purdue - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 18:14

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 18:14
Where, exactly, are you?
AnswerID: 421764

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 18:17

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2010 at 18:17
Sorry. I missed the LOL thing.
The place was named after Peter HEDland nothing to do woth a port on a headland.
FollowupID: 692162