Barkley Hwy -north to Riversleigh & Adels Grove
Submitted: Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 10:33
Nova Drover
Will be leaving Mt Isa 10th August to go to Adels Grove. What is the road which turns off the Barkley Hwy east of
Camooweal that goes through Thorntonia Station then onto
Gregory Downs & west to
Riversleigh. We have a 4wd ute towing a tandem dirt road van, is the road passable for van towing, we plan to take two days to do this strech, plan to
camp at the
Gregory river for first night. Would be interested in all comments.
cheers,
John.
Reply By: philip t jones - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 10:52
Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 10:52
I havent been that way for a little while but it should present no problems, it can be a bit lumpy between the turn of and Thorntonia sometime but take it steady and it shouldent be a problem.
Reply By: Member - John and Val - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 12:13
Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 12:13
John,
Travelled that road 2 or 3 years ago. It is sealed for some distance north from Barkly Hway - contrary to what is shown on Hema map. The rest was a pretty good surface as I recall. Like you we camped at the
Gregory River.
Just watch out for sharp and unpredictable corners especially further north, which could be tricky with a van in tow if you weren't expecting them.
Val
| J and V
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 13:27
Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 13:27
Cant help with the road from Camoweal end but road from
Gregory Downs is excellent for first 40k to Xstrata
Mine TO then still good to Adels/
Lawn Hill. Minor
washouts in a few
creek crossings.....as of 3 weeks ago........oldbaz.
Reply By: Member - Syd R (QLD) - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 13:55
Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 13:55
Just been there. Just go! Roads are great.
Reply By: Graham & Ann - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 15:43
Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 15:43
In 2003 we came in past
Riversleigh towing our van from Mt Isa that way, roads were pretty good then, last 15km as you got into the
Burketown shire was worst, formed gravel road that hadn't been graded in a long time, not pot holed just very rough hard white stone surface. Nice drive,
nice camp spots along the river, probably somewhere near the 2nd?? crossing maybe best. Enjoy
Reply By: Missi C - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 15:47
Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 15:47
Hi there, Just thought I would mention we have friends working at Adels Grove for the season. They are worth a good chat. Names are John & Diane. Just don't get too friendly with John as you won't get home and as for Diane,
well a glass of red won't go astray.
You can tell them Del sent you.
Safe traveling
Follow Up By: Joe n Mel - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 22:03
Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 22:03
As above ..... roads are very good atm but watch for sharp corners and dips/crossings .....
Cheers Joe n Mel (
Doomadgee Roadhouse)
Reply By: Marion - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 20:17
Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 20:17
Hi we were there last year, towed a Tvan no worries just take it easy and watch out for the cattle, cheers Marion
Reply By: Nova Drover - Monday, Jul 05, 2010 at 08:18
Monday, Jul 05, 2010 at 08:18
G'day,
Thanks to you all for your replies, sounds as though the road is OK, and the trip interesting. Will take note of warnings of cattle and sharp unsuspecting bends. Looking forward to a red wine with John & Dianne. We intend to go out via
Gregory Downs then onto
Karumba &
Atherton Tablelands. This is our third major trip, first NSW south coast & Gippsland Victoria, just before the bad fires last year, wonderful trip, we will go back again someday. The 2nd trip
Carnarvon Gorge,
Longreach &
Windorah great to see.
Again thanks for the info.
cheers,
John.
Follow Up By: Graham & Ann - Monday, Jul 05, 2010 at 13:10
Monday, Jul 05, 2010 at 13:10
Not sure which way you plan on going to
Karumba, but the mostly dirt road is a nice drive from
Gregory Downs to
Burketown and over to
Normanton, visit the Leichardt Falls and Burke & Wills site along the way. We've been both ways and think this is by far the most interesting.
Reply By: Member - Scott A (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 21:12
Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 21:12
Don't mind me dropping in John, though currently doing research for the same trek - noticed this thread and dropped in. Cheers to all for your response to John's question, I have also valued from it.
We leave from
Newcastle this Friday (6th), heading out to
Broken Hill 1st and then up, probably a few days behind you though you never know.
Have a safe trip,
Scott
Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 22:57
Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 22:57
Was there two weeks ago...all good and you should not have any problems. A read of our blog will give you some more detail.
Cheers, The Landy
Reply By: Member - John & Jenny S (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 15:37
Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 15:37
G'day All,
Yes did the trip from Barkley Hwy to Adels Grove via
Riversleigh, got your reply Scott in Isa before we left, so couldn't tell you anything. The road is quite good after Thorntonia
junction good sealed road to there, The gravel road is OK some corragations in patches, the worst was where they had just graded a section which was not watered and rolled and it was just loose stone but only a few KM of it, Once we turned of the Cammoweal-
Gregory Dns road onto the
Riversleigh -
Lawn Hill road it was better, just watch the sharp dips and curves as mentioned in an earlier thread, We camped beside the 2nd
Gregory River crossing which was absolutly a special spot, then onto
Riversleigh Fossil site and Adels Grove the next day.
Lawn Hill NP Boodjamulla is a great experience. The road from Adels Grove to the century
mine turn off was the worst, very rough, then good to
Gregory Downs, watch for the
mine road trains going in both directions, the dust is a
hazard.
You maybe already there by now Scott if not enjoy the trip the scenery is beautiful so many different trees.
cheers,
John & Jen.