GU owner with an old Mercedes.

Submitted: Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 15:56
ThreadID: 8056 Views:1651 Replies:2 FollowUps:0
G'day all,

A mate of mine who drives a GU (thus the connection to this great site) fell in love with, and bought a 1983 Mercedes 280 SE (W126). The viscous coupling on the cooling fan is not viscousing any more. It spins freely at rest and doesn't rotate when the engine is running. Merc want about $900 for a genuine. Does anyone know a cheaper way out? Is it able to be repaired like a Toyota? Anyone know of one from a wrecker? (sorry, recycler) Are there any after market fans available.

Mal T.

Reply By: fj45ute - Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 16:49

Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 16:49
Have you tried to do anything with the current one? The coupling on my crusier was a bit weak so you can undo the coupling, it splits into 2 halves and apply more of the vicous goo (can't remember the proper name) to the plates inside and then put it back together, can help to stiffen the fan back up. A replacement one from toyota was usual toyota extreme price and didn't have any luck looking for a non genuine one.

Cheers MAtt
AnswerID: 34998

Reply By: Mickl - Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 20:51

Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 20:51
If it's not the type that splits in half, it may still have a plug on it somewhere and contain a type of oil, so check for this. If it is the factory sealed type you can either take it with you to the wreckers and see if you can find one from another car that will fit, or can be made to fit. Another option is to fit an aftermarket termo fan kit ( see Repco or similiar) or worst case (not as bad as shelling out for a new one) fit a non viscous type fan (once again wreakers or aftermarket)
AnswerID: 35026