12v impact wrench-- any good?

Submitted: Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 12:49
ThreadID: 80614 Views:12134 Replies:11 FollowUps:11
Gday, 80 series cruiser
Looking for info about 12v impact wrenches would like to throw my wheel brace away.There are some being sold on ebay the kci ezy wrench is one that sounds the goods if the ad is to be believed. Has any one used one of these or do they know of any other make up to the job.

Thank you for feed back,
Tazzie.

Reply By: Notso - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 12:55

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 12:55
Mine works, it was from Repco, cost about $70.00.

Much easier than jumping on an extension bar and while the wife bashes on the other end with a hammer.
AnswerID: 426744

Follow Up By: taswegian - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 13:02

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 13:02
My missus bends 1/2'' breaker bars using one leg! LOL.

Thanks , Tazzie.
FollowupID: 697323

Reply By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 13:11

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 13:11
I got one 2nd hand from an EO member after posting ThreadID: 74723.

Only used it a few times but it certainly does the job.

AnswerID: 426747

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 13:13

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 13:13
These should ONLY be used to UNDO wheel nuts, not do them up. They have too much torque and it's not controllable. Having said that, I have a Shentai and it's brilliant.
AnswerID: 426748

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 13:26

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 13:26
I agree. I hand tighten the wheel nuts. My wife has used the impact wrench & undid the nuts easy. Used a wheel brace to tighten them after.
FollowupID: 697327

Follow Up By: Tenpounder (SA) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 14:34

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 14:34
Hi there. I agree with the others: it works really well AS LONG AS you have enough voltage, so I have the engine running (the driver cannot supply the impacts at low voltage, so the armature just spins). In my case, I have found that 'three clicks' of the rachet is OK on tightening, and then check with the wheel wrench, but it wouldn't be hard to stretch a stud if you are not very careful. A wheel change in under 5 minutes has to be a benefit!
FollowupID: 697331

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 15:08

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 15:08
Hmmm... Mine works fine with out the engine running, Chris. Your's may have a problem?
FollowupID: 697338

Follow Up By: Tenpounder (SA) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 15:17

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 15:17
Hi there. You could be right, that the unit is faulty. But I suspect it had more to do with the fact that I was running it off the second battery which may have been a bit 'down' at the time (like maybe 11.5 to 12 v) after few days of camping and little running to recharge. I'd had some connection issues on that trip, if I remember correctly.
All it means is that, IF you are running it without the engine running, and IF the driver won't cut in, don't dispair until AFTER you have started the engine and tried again.
FollowupID: 697341

Follow Up By: Roach"ee" - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 08:42

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 08:42
Doing nuts up with the Shentai (or similar) is quite okay as long as you don't go mad. I actually only allow it to "hit" once or maybe twice. Three times (IMHO) would be risky.

I used to have 2 of these jiggers, but sold one and bought a Makita 18 volt 1/2" Impact Driver that I carry in the Patrol. I use it in combination with a 90 foot/pound torque limiting extension bar, so I don't have to worry about over-cooking the wheel nuts when I put them on.
FollowupID: 697434

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 14:27

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 14:27
I almost bought mine from bunnings.... then saw that a 4WD mag was offering one for free with every subscription. The subscription (12month) cost me $8 more then the bunnings price.. so I got the mag and the Mrs got the ezy wrench. Mrs keeps it in her "hoon" ute she uses to tow the horse float. She's happy... and I got the 12month sub for $8.....
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 426752

Reply By: Member - Charles Jenkinson (WA - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 17:30

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 17:30
I got mine from Repco as well. Think I paid $80 for it in Perth. Does the trick very well!

Have used it to change one tyre in anger, and recently to change wheel bearings and brake pads (at separate times). Very reliable, easy to use, and pain-free.

Agree about not using them to tighten - but I tend to be a stickler, and use a torque wrench to manufacturer's specifications. At least I know they're on right!

Hope your unit serves you well, and saves your back.

Charles
AnswerID: 426768

Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 17:59

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 17:59
One of the best tools i ever bought
I got the Shenti used it a lot.
As others have said watch the tighten up, i let it hit 3 times when the nuts are home and thats enough, and final check with the wheel brace.

Also handy for general mechanical stuff.
Son's mate came around with an old bmw couldn't undo the 30mm rear axle nut, a couple of wacks with the shenti and it was of.
He was amazed and was of to get one.
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

AnswerID: 426776

Reply By: StormyKnight - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 21:53

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 21:53
Dick Smith have one at the moment, I got it for $49, I think they are now on special @ $39...

...haven't had a chance to try it yet though....
AnswerID: 426797

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 08:01

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 08:01
As an alternative, you might consider an oversized 4 way wheel brace. The bigger sized ones give far more leverage and I have yet to find a wheel nut that gives problems.
AnswerID: 426816

Follow Up By: taswegian - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 08:37

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 08:37
Thank you all the for helpfull feed back they seem the way to go.

Tazzie.
FollowupID: 697433

Reply By: henpecked - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 22:16

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 22:16
Just curious. Would an impact wrench be suitable for lowering & raising caravan legs, or are they too coarse or rough?
AnswerID: 426897

Follow Up By: Roach"ee" - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 08:41

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 08:41
It would work okay I reckon and yes, it would be a bit "violent" once the slack had been taken up and there was resistence being encountered....but nothing that you couldn't put up with. Usually, once you reach the point where the leg is in position, you stop cranking anyway, so once the dog clutch locks up on one occasion you would just stop the machine. All good.
FollowupID: 697509

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 12:14

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 12:14
I think a cordless drill type impact driver would be better in this application.
FollowupID: 698038

Follow Up By: Fatso - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 16:43

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 16:43
2 speed cordless drill. No impact required.
It has to be the 2 speed gearbox type to wind caravan stabalisers up & down.
FollowupID: 698062

Reply By: Member - Brenton H (SA) - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 09:29

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 09:29
Have one and used it a few times but found that with all the gear in the car when camping it was quicker to use the wheel brace than search for the 12v impact wrench which was usually packed by Murphy under 10 ton of everything else.

oh...do watch out for poor quality sockets as I have seen several split.
AnswerID: 427350

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 13:27

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 13:27
Agree about the sockets. Ditch the supplied ones and get a decent set. I split 2 of my originals..
FollowupID: 698042

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 14:04

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 14:04
Be sensible and buy IMPACT SOCKETS they are softer by design and dont bleep ter like normal ones.

Cost $22 for the size for a 100 ser.

As far as the wrench is concerned I wouldnt be without it.

Used it to put towbar and bullbar on also to redo towbar when putting Kaymar carrier on
I do the wheel nuts up to just touching and give it two hits.
Checked with a torque wrench and seem about correct.

AnswerID: 427369