OUCH at Gunshot

Submitted: Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 15:48
ThreadID: 80617 Views:7254 Replies:12 FollowUps:23

Related Pages

This has gotta hurt LOL

Reply By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 16:06

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 16:06
I wonder what would have happened without the trailer holding it back?
Could it have flipped right over?
AnswerID: 426759

Follow Up By: taswegian - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 16:19

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 16:19
I reckon thats a nappy full. LOL.
FollowupID: 697354

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 16:29

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 16:29
Mike,

I think it would have been even uglier

FollowupID: 697358

Follow Up By: camwill69 - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 16:38

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 16:38
Do you have to go thru gun shot to get to the cape or is their a chicken track?

Cam
FollowupID: 697359

Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 16:41

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 16:41
Ther is a chicken track but this guy took the idiot track. Dead lucky to get out in one piece. What a fool!!
FollowupID: 697360

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 16:52

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 16:52
Not a nice thing to happen on the trip of a lifetime.

Lucky it was not a lot worse.

FollowupID: 697361

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 16:55

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 16:55
Hey Kev,
Lucky it's a Patrol,A Tojo would have to get dragged out of there LOL
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 697363

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 17:03

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 17:03
You notice he has the family still in the vehicle...bloody idiot
FollowupID: 697365

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 19:36

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 19:36
There is a chicken track, though it seems to be getting more difficult. You can see the newish drop cut into the creek at the end of the clip (the black soil up the creek). Lot of damage to the creek environment unfortunately for the thrill of the traverse.

FollowupID: 697390

Follow Up By: gbc - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 17:50

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 17:50
Sad part is he'll be on here next week telling newbies 'Yeah take your trailer on the OTR - we did it easy'.
If he'd have flipped - chances are he would have drowned his whole family.
FollowupID: 697472

Reply By: Fatso - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 17:19

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 17:19
It's not only a stupid place to drive it is also topped off with a lousy piece of driving
AnswerID: 426763

Follow Up By: CJ - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 17:43

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 17:43
No we are all experts hay!
FollowupID: 697372

Follow Up By: Fatso - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 19:15

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 19:15
I don't think you have to be much of an expert to pick where that bloke went wrong CJ.
His main problem is that someone put that up on youtube
FollowupID: 697383

Reply By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 17:22

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 17:22
Not a whole lot of damage either.Snorkel and dented guard were all I could see (plus whatever set the horn off). He was lucky he didn't ingest an engine load of water through the broken snorkel which went very close to the surface.
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

AnswerID: 426764

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 17:28

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 17:28
and a horn that is stuck on hahaha

FollowupID: 697370

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 17:28

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 17:28
I guess the passengers window is a million pieces in the drink now.
Imagine how far out of whack the windscreen pillar is too.
It will be an extended stay at the crash shop I think.

I bet the front seats would need hosing out as well.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 426766

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 21:28

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 21:28
I saw a 100 series do it last year and he put his spare wheel on his rear wheel carrier through his back windscreen.
You are too far from anywhere to be taking silly risks like that, especially when it is a family event.
FollowupID: 697410

Reply By: jennyb - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 17:55

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 17:55
wow...lucky they didnt have a caravan in tow!!
AnswerID: 426774

Follow Up By: Member - T N (Qld) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 19:39

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 19:39
Kedron vans cross Gunshot easy, ask the Gall boys.
FollowupID: 697391

Follow Up By: jennyb - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 22:37

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 22:37
yes, i know. ive got all of their dvds !! they are great..
FollowupID: 697417

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 18:47

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 18:47
Would have made for an interesting escape plan/rescue mission if he had landed on his roof in that narrow mud hole. How lucky are they ?????

Fred.
AnswerID: 426778

Follow Up By: Member - gujimbo - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 19:17

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 19:17
Escape i doubt it , imagine on your roof both drivers and passengers windows down in muddy water, not being able to open doors children in the back??
FollowupID: 697385

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 09:50

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 09:50
That's what I'm saying mate....wouldn't have been too good for the bystanders, or the family.
FollowupID: 697438

Reply By: WillyWish - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 19:40

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 19:40
Terrible execution when it really counted! Notice the kid on the RHS (at very start) directing driver to STOP! At least the kid knew what he was doing!!!!
AnswerID: 426781

Follow Up By: Fatso - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 20:44

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 20:44
It's OK WillyWish. The car comes from Qld.
We are so up ourselves up here when we get behind the wheel that we take no notice of anyone, especially pedestrians.
Even on pedestrian crossings.
Didn't you know James Bond got his license to kill in Qld.
FollowupID: 697402

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 20:48

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 20:48
Here goes the critics again.
Good on him for giving it a go.....no one got hurt, or even close. He picked the wrong wheel track.... that's all .....and probably couldn't even see over the bonnet far enough to know to he was on the wrong line once he was committed.
Who hasn't been in a situation where you get out ....pick your line and don't hit it perfectly?
Also....my kids would have been in the car too.....no way would they want to get out and watch, or take the chicken track....its why we go out and do it.

I bet they are still laughing about it!!!! lOL
AnswerID: 426789

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 21:19

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 21:19
Excellent Call.

FollowupID: 697406

Follow Up By: Member - Michael and Chris (QL - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 21:44

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 21:44
Here here.
FollowupID: 697411

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 23:32

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 23:32
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 697420

Follow Up By: cycadcenter - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 01:21

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 01:21
What about the stupid bogans standing there watching, it's pretty evident that he was on the wrong line from the very start,

Would have been simple to give the driver a bit of a hand with lining up in the right place and he could have nearly driven through in 2WD.

Bruce

FollowupID: 697424

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 21:27

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 21:27
Cycadcenter,
Stupid bogans?.......... Bit harsh?.....what....wearing something different to you?
Put your self in their position.......you have committed to something and there is a "stupid bogan offering directions"
Would you try to change course because a "stupid bogan" was offering advice.?

"it's pretty evident that he was on the wrong line from the very start, "
From that angle , yes...I reckon It might have looked different from the drivers seat!

Would have been simple to give the driver a bit of a hand with lining up in the right place and he could have nearly driven through in 2WD." Who?...the "stupid bogan?" Rotflmao!!!!
Yeah.... don't you all love the bloke standing on the bank telling you how to do it when they were the ones who took the cheat track???? LOLOLOLOLOL............

FollowupID: 697495

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 21:28

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 21:28
Faaaar out. Dropped my jaw. So so lucky. I wander what he thought when he looked at the footage. Family in there to boot. When we attempt those sort of things the kids and I get out.
AnswerID: 426792

Reply By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 00:54

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 00:54
Awesome! good on him for going for it.
The "ouch" is cos Im impressed by a Patrol here!
Very lucky not to pop the windscreen out.
AnswerID: 426807

Reply By: Big Woody - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 07:08

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 07:08
The way I see it the only thing this guy did wrong was to try and protect his panels from damage in the first place.
This is what motivated him to ride the bank too high on the drivers side and caused him to tip over.
In a situation like that minor panel damage is inevitable and starting from the top in the bottom of the groove and scraping a bit on both sides on the way down and his crossing would have looked like everybody elses on youtube and would have been the safest way to approach it.

Yes I crossed Gunshot in June 2009 and it doesn't look any different in this video.

BW
AnswerID: 426813

Reply By: Malleerv - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 13:00

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 13:00
I wonder if he survived?
If I did that with my wife and kids in the car the missus would have finished me off then and there.

Cheers Matt
AnswerID: 426827