Long range fuel tanks

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 19:49
ThreadID: 80643 Views:9013 Replies:9 FollowUps:15
I am looking at the possibility of fitting a long range fuel tank. I have a standard V8 landcruiser ute which is fitted with twin 90 litre tanks totaling 180litres. This is pretty good for most places but what about those really long outback trips.

I have found I can buy a 170litre replacement tank for my rear 90litre.

LANDCRUISER 79 - UTE & TRAY - 6CYL & V8
170lt REPLACEMENT
REPLACES 90lt STD REAR TANK
DOES NOT AFFECT EXHAUST
RETAINS STD GROUND CLEARANCE & RAMP OVER ANGLE
STANDARD FILLER & FUEL GAUGE

Has anyone bought one of these and is it true that it fits into the space and does not effect your ground clearance or ramp over angle. Further any problems with carrying that extra weight behind the rear axles.

Would be pretty good to have 260litres tucked away under the vehicle but is there a catch.

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 21:11

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 21:11
What about the spare tyre? We purchased our now older style LC ute with a second tank, and it came with the spare tyre loose on the tray.

AnswerID: 426885

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 21:24

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 21:24
Currently my spare tyre fits under the tray but above the second tank. Do you mean this long range tank rises up higher and takes the room of the spare tyre.

FollowupID: 697494

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 21:32

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 21:32
Hi David

For your vehicle and tanks i don't know. Our tanks are not the same as yours, and having the standard sized second tank fitted took the space for the spare tyre on the then new vehicle. However the larger tank you are looking at must take room from somewhere so it would be worth clarifying about the space for the spare tyre.

Mh

FollowupID: 697496

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 22:36

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 22:36
David, my 200 Series has a fuel capacity of 138 litres, 42 litres less than yours.

This last trip, 18,000 kms there and back towing the BT, I carried 2 jerry cans on the van's drawbar. With them full I had the same capacity as you.

One thing I wanted to check was whether or not I needed to have a long range tank installed when we got home.

Well I only needed to fill the jerries twice on the whole trip and one of those was not really necessary.

Fuel was available everywhere and I would have got worse fuel consumption than you, dragging 3500kgs around behind me. We even bought fuel at remote communities and we never felt like lack of fuel was going to be an issue.

To me, paying a lot of money to carry extra weight when you don't really have to doesn't make good economic sense. As I said on another Forum, I spent the money on a Beaudesert exhaust and a power chip instead....

AnswerID: 426901

Follow Up By: CJ - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 10:30

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 10:30
David,

I agree with Gone Bush. With wagons one would consider long ranger tanks. In your case with 180 litres already in your tanks and the fact that it is a ute means carrying jerries is not a problem as it is with wagons. Consider the cost - probably not much change out of $1,500 for you to fit a replacement tank. (not sure of cost, stand to be corrected, but the principle remains)

180 is heaps, and a couple of jerries is easy for a ute.

CJ
FollowupID: 697515

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 21:03

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 21:03
CJ

Gone Bush has some good points and to date I have not had an issue with fuel when touring on the blacktop as the 180litres I carry is certainly enough to get between fuel stops.

My interest is for going off road where there are no fuel outlets and with rugged terrain the fuel consumption goes up.

I purchase the ute so I could fit the slide on camper I have and unfortunately there is no more room to fit jerry cans inside this camper.

Your almost right on the price - about $1045 plus fitting. Definitely a lot of extra cost for about 4 jerry cans worth of fuel.

FollowupID: 697566

Reply By: ross - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 01:04

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 01:04
David,other brands say they have a 150 litre that will fit in the same spot and it does fit.
I dont know about the 170 litre into a 7* series but the 61 series I had was fitted with a tank about that size and it did not hang down and the exhaust only needed a very slight modification

I cant see the weight behind the axle being a problem.I always leave a bit of weight and a full rear tank to tame the heavy duty springs on the rear when I dont have a load on.

You can also get replacement tanks for the front tank that hold about 135litres or so
AnswerID: 426912

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 10:34

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 10:34
David,

If you need to fit an larger tank for remote areas then you will probably need a second tyre.

What I have seen and it works very well is to have both spare tyre fitted just behind the head board of the ute.
The larger fuel tank then can be fitted where the spare tyre was. This is what normally happen when a 170 Lt tank is fitted. Also having the spare tyre removed from under the tray is a bonus.

As for the extra weight behind the rear axle, I have the 170Lt tank plus the two spare tyres all behind the rear axle it has not affected my Troopie. I have change the suspension but if you are looking at remote area travelling this would have to be done in my opinion.

AnswerID: 426927

Follow Up By: Member Dick (Int) - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 17:57

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 17:57

I have a similar Troopy to Wayne and the same setup, 170Lt tank and dual spares behind the rear axle, on TJM heavy rear springs. It has not caused me any problems. If fuel is easily obtainable I only put about 90Lt in the rear tank, but when going into a remore area I fill it up. I find it is easier than carrying many Jerrycans.

Dick

Dick

FollowupID: 697551

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 21:09

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 21:09
Hi Wayne

My spare tyre sits under the tray but above the rear fuel tank. Toyota had to lift the tray a bit to fit the spare under. I hope to keep the spare in this location.

For when I intend to go remote bush I will definitely need to take extra spare tyres and I have considered taking a carcase with no rim and strapping it to the top of the slide on camper.

With the slide on camper there is no room to fit anything in between the camper and headboard of the ute tray.

I currently have airbags to help with the load of the camper.

FollowupID: 697567

Reply By: Barra-2 - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 12:06

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 12:06
My experience with my long range tank, 170 plus the 90, is it's great to drive past the outback servos, charging up to $1.95 a litre.

Just recently, filled up at Birdsville at $1.55 and got back to SA 1430 k's later without having to top up at the servos the other cars stopped at.

Another time Adelaide to Alice Springs 1800 k's.

Would I install a tank, probably not, I was lucky the LRT was in my 100 series Cruiser when I bought it. It also came with a rear steel bar & dual wheel carrier on the back from Kaymar.

Cheers from Geoff

AnswerID: 426932

Follow Up By: Roach"ee" - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 20:52

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 20:52
Have to agree with that. We just did a quick trip up to Cooper Creek ferry (ex Kadina, SA). We topped up our tanks at Lyndhurst @ $1.33 (not much more than here) and with my 276 litres, the big Chev V8 was able to get from Lyndhurst to Cooper Creek and back home without filling up again.

Someone who travelled with us felt the need to fill up again at Marree (@ 1.77).

I admit that the saving of a few dollars here and there is hardly ever likely to pay the cost of the bigger tanks I have fitted. BUT!!!!..... it also means I don't have to stop at as many servo's (regardless of the fuel price), which saves me a heap of $$$ from not having to buy the kids more ice-creams, lollies and other such expenditure!!! haha

FollowupID: 697674

Follow Up By: Barra-2 - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 07:14

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 07:14
Another good thing about them I forgot to mention, just before we leave for a big trip, I use the shop a dockets with Motormouth to find the best price, then spend the $5 in store to get the extra cents off (0.08).

Recent example $1.38 everywhere, Motormouth found 2 servos at $1.17 with .08 cents off bringing it down to $1.09 per litre.

My tanks were empty so had to use 2 dockets with the 150 ltr limit.

So this works out to be a huge saving, once you factor in the local cost and country cost against $1.09 a ltr by 250 - 260 lirtes.
FollowupID: 697692

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 13:40

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 13:40
Dont forget the extra weight comes out of your payload.
Is it really worth it

We found 145 lt and two jerries got us anywhere we wanted to go

AnswerID: 426943

Reply By: Diesel 'n Dust - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 18:13

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 18:13

[url=http://www.thelongranger.com.au/tr58u_tech.html]

Do you mean this Tank?

I also looking at purchasing one of these. And when I save up and the missus allows it (highly doubt that one!) I would install one. I saw one in Port Hedland and to me the tank didn't hinder ground clearance or ramp over angle. This V8 ute did have at least a 2" lift on it.

I did park my standard work V8 ute next to it to compare both. I know what I'd rather go for on long trips.

Personally I can't see any issues with the extra weight over the rear axle. A suspension lift would counter it.

Matthew Clements
I just love the Pilbara!
1HDJ79 RV

AnswerID: 426967

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 21:13

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 21:13
Hi there Matt

I looked on the web at the longranger tanks but could not find a price.

I found a price for Brown Davis long range and auxiliary tanks at $1045 so I am using this as a benchmark for my research.

http://store.mitchellbros.com.au/long-range-fuel-tanks/toyota/long-range-tank-hilux-4wd-2005-on-4.html

FollowupID: 697568

Reply By: Flynnie - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 19:03

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 19:03

I doubt you would ever get much use out of a long range tank given that you already have 90 litres x 2 tanks. Also long range tanks are known to crack and leak from time to time. This problem seems to be related to flexing and too rigid mounting that affects some.

Your vehicle already caries a fair bit of gear and I bet it is hovering around the GVM, if not over.

Having just done one of the really long outback trips carrying 360 litres I can say I would not do that again. No need. There are spots to refuel even if they are more expensive than city prices.

I do not like carrying weight behind the rear wheels (but I still do it). It does have a lot more effect than weight carried in front of the rear wheels. Still as others have pointed out, this can be compensated for by new springs etc.

Flynnie
AnswerID: 426971

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 21:31

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 21:31
Hi Flynnie

You raise some interesting points. I read your fuel consumption on the CSR. You managed to carry enough fuel to do the whole trip but in to do it again you would not carry that much fuel.

Your comment on these long range tanks developing cracks is a serious issue. I know I would trust the existing 90l toyota tank to endure but I am not sure on aftermarket ones.

Your right about my load rating - with the camper 670kg dry weight and then adding all the other stuff - water, food, clothes, etc the weight is right at the max. Might have to kick the missus out to add the long range tank.

But still - no where to carry extra jerry cans.

FollowupID: 697572

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 21:50

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 21:50
David,

have a look at some camper trailers (T-Van is one, I think). They have jerry cans in a cradle sitting at 45 deg or just upright either side of the wheel arches.

I just had a look at your vehicle picture. Would it be possible to construct a cradle for a jerry can and place it behind the wheel arches in the same fashion as the alloy tool box in front of the wheel arch. It would be protected by the mudflap and you would empty it as soon as possible into your main tank so weight behind the rear axle would exist for about half a day only.

Maybe mount it at 45 degrees with the handle facing the rear of the vehicle so you just slide it in and out from the back.

FollowupID: 697573

Follow Up By: Member - dave e (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 22:26

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 22:26
hi david,ive got a troopie with the same 90ltr tanks,dont put all your faith in the genuine tanks,i operate my troopy as a tour vehicle and it goes everywhere kimberley arnhem land outback nt cape york,i reckon ive found the worst corrugations oz has to offer,i have to date cracked 3 geniune rear fuel tanks,most fixed under warranty,but i now have a long ranger fitted and all seems ok now
,dunno what the v8 consumption is like but i never got worse than 700 kms out of my two tanks(thats towing big camp trailer with all the gear for 10 people plus the people,spend the extra money and support the local servos in the outback instead,get out and have a chat to them youll find it pays off(eg telling about some secret waterhole or camp spot etc) and youll meet some interesting characters that you will remember for life,that $1500 will buy you a fair few litres on the rare occasions that you will actually travel that remote.
get out there and meet the people in the bush not just other travellers,trust me some are real interesting ,some are redneck idiots,but it does take all types
happy travels
dave
FollowupID: 697577

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 22:55

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 22:55
Good idea GB

I will have a measure up and see if that is possible. I like to explore problems from all angles as the solution sometimes comes from a different area.

I did consider buy some more under tray boxes to carry more gear but maybe I should review what I already carry and rationalise that stuff.

FollowupID: 697579

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 23:01

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 23:01
Hi Dave E

Fair enough - the toyota ones do break. And the long ranger one has been holding out - has it gone through the same rough stuff?

I am not against refueling in country towns more I am looking at trips where there are no refueling or where I am spending a lot of time in the bush and not want to make the supply run into town.

All of these questions are sounding out the idea and it seems most people are saying it is not worth it considering I already have duel tanks.

Interesting.

FollowupID: 697581

Follow Up By: anglepole - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 18:36

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 18:36
I agree with Flynnie. If you run your vehicle over a weigh bridge when fully loaded and fuelled up. You will be surprised how much it weighs and most probably well over GVM.

The number of times you need more than 180 litres will be very rare.
FollowupID: 697647

Reply By: David Jje - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 21:07

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 21:07
I know with my 100series, 260 litres is very heavy. Is it worth having? Yes, but only when going remote. I never fill them both up when i know there are plenty of fuel stops along the way. Just too heavy with everything else in car.
AnswerID: 427065