Removing seats - legal or not?

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 21:44
ThreadID: 80798 Views:38536 Replies:16 FollowUps:37
Many years ago we went travelling in a Patrol and removed the dicky seat so we could instal a set of drawers, but also removed the rear seats to accommodate our large dog.

We're heading off again soon, this time in a Pajero, and I have been trying to talk my partner into removing the back seats to accommodate a second Engel and for other storage. A friend has told us that it's illegal to remove back seats which are bolted down unlike dicky seats which only clip in. Does anyone know if this is the case?

Reply By: dazza62 - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 22:09

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 22:09
Not sure of the legalities, but in our Pajero we have:-

(1) Removed third row seats and installed fitout including cargo barrier. Under floor storage area has a trap door to store non essential items out of the way.

(2) On our longer excursions we remove second row seats and have made a piece of ply that bolts into seat mounts and is covered with the same fabric as the fitout. Have tie down points to it to stow soft items that need to be accessible.

I can't see any issues with this as we are not selling the vehicle however if you have concerns would pay to check with your local RTA. I think most of the major fit out suppliers manufacture something similar to ours off the shelf. Could also check with them.

Cheers Dazza.

AnswerID: 427633

Follow Up By: i'machocoholic - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 22:20

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 22:20
Hi Dazza,

Sounds like what you have done is what I would like to do. As we are heading off for 12 months, we will have a van most of the time, but there will be times where we disconnect and head off camping/boating for a few weeks at a time off road, hence wanting more storage in the Paj.

Thank you for your response, I will gladly show my other half the positive responses from the forum if they're all like yours! :-)
FollowupID: 698312

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 22:11

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 22:11
It is and it isn't ;-)))
You can remove them for short term use as you describe.
The only problem is you are supposed to remove the seat belts for those seats as well, not practical in most vehicles these days as it requires removal of lots of interior trim.
At rego inspection time all seats and belts must be in situ.
If you wish to remove them "permanently" then it is supposed to be engineered to the smaller number of seats.
I've not heard of anyone having problems when they are removed for a trip but have heard of people being knocked back for rego when the seats have been out.
AnswerID: 427634

Follow Up By: i'machocoholic - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 22:30

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 22:30
Hi ya Peter, I'm not sure whether 12 months would be classified as short term? Thank you for your feedback, we'll keep in mind the possibility of rego being knocked back and whether it's all worth the risk.
FollowupID: 698313

Follow Up By: Roach"ee" - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 08:34

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 08:34
G'day Peter,
The way I understood it, you are NOT supposed to remove the seat belts if the seats are only being removed as a temporary measure.
So, if you are intending to do a big trip and want to remove the 2nd and 3rd row of seats, then you can do so without any problems as long as the seat belts are still in place. Apparently, leaving the belts in place indicates to the authorities that you HAVE only removed the seats temporarily; whereas removing the belts would tend to indicate that you have permanently removed the seats and as such you should have the vehicle engineered back to a 2 seater.

As long as you tell an officer of the law that the seats have only been removed temporarily (even if that is not actually the case), then you should be fine.

FollowupID: 698331

Reply By: Ianw - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 23:31

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 23:31
This came up on here a few years ago. I remember somebody got nabbed in Qld for unroadworthy vehicle because there was only 2 seats in the vehicle whose compliance plate stated it was a 5 seater.

AnswerID: 427649

Follow Up By: Ianw - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 23:46

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 23:46
Found this, thread 68121, reply 7 may help

FollowupID: 698319

Follow Up By: Ianw - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 00:03

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 00:03
See also Thread 28640

Search for "rear seats" (with quotes)
FollowupID: 698320

Follow Up By: i'machocoholic - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 08:23

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 08:23
Thank you Ian, I normally try searching on the forum before adding a new thread but my searching skills seem to be hit and miss on this website and I didn't do it in this instance.

I've now viewed the two threads you have suggested and my question has been answered. Thank you.
FollowupID: 698328

Reply By: teabags - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 07:45

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 07:45
Love these legal experts.
About five years ago I planned to do the same. Checked with relevant departments in both Qld and NSW and got the same answer.
In a Pajero and many others with three rows of seating, the third row is held in with quick release clips, meaning that they were designed for easy removal. It is legal to remove and replace these at at any time.
The second row of seats is bolted in and not intended for removal. To be legal, if you want to remove this second row it is considered a modification to the vehicle. This applies FOR ANY LENGTH OF TIME. Having modified your vehicle you need to get an engineers certificate for the modification, the registration altered and a modified compliance plate fitted. Then when you reinstall the seat you need to go through the same procedure.
To say it is OK till the next inspection is plain wrong. All you are doing is hoping you don't get caught.
If you decide to take the risk of not going through all the rigmarole just think about this:
If something happens what is your Insurance going to say about you driving an illegally modified vehicle.
AnswerID: 427657

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 08:25

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 08:25
I'd say the information you were povided with was incorrect see post below....
FollowupID: 698329

Follow Up By: i'machocoholic - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 08:26

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 08:26
Hi Alan,

As much as I would like to remove the seats, I'm not keen on foregoing insurance if something happens given the $$$ the vehicle costs and I'm not sure about going through the engineer's certificate process. Perhaps the outcome is that I'll just have to learn not to take so much stuff away and pack better! Thank you.
FollowupID: 698330

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 22:01

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 22:01
I asked a vehicle modifer about removal of seat in Queensland.

He said if picked up to advise they were only out temporarily.

In my case i had removed one permanently so that I could use part of the assembly area like this

To make it legal had the seating reduced by one with a modification plate attached.
Cost about $130 from memory

Pedro
FollowupID: 698436

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 08:14

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 08:14
To be registered, your vehicle must comply with Aus/state standards. The compliance plate states the number of seats fitted when the vehicle was accepted as complying with these standards. While there is some leniency allowing for short term removal of seats, basicly, any long term modification by removal should be covered by an engineering certificate and the registration papers should reflect this change.

To avoid having to go through the stringent 3 monthly bus inspections, we removed the rear seats from our 11 seat Troopy. This required an engineers certificate and Troopy is now a "panel van". There was no change to the compliance plate, so we always carry the registration papers so we can authenticate the change of called on to do so.

AnswerID: 427663

Follow Up By: i'machocoholic - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 08:35

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 08:35
Morning John, from what I read it looks like there's plenty of people that have done it....some go through the compliance process, others don't. I think if it was a clear cut "yes you can" without anything else being considered my partner would agree, but given his reluctance to do it in the first place, going through any additional processes will mean a flat "no" I think and we'll just do a workaround. Thank you for your response.
FollowupID: 698332

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 08:29

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 08:29
It will not be an issue.

Most States have similar requirements, but you should always check with the authority in your State.

In Queensland, Vehicle Standard Instruction Bulletin (L 5.0) dated 14 July, 2005 indicates.

Permanent & Temporary Removal of Seats from Light Motor Vehicles

For vehicles fitted with quick release seating attachments as original equipment, temporary removal of the seats is acceptable. A modification plate does not need to be fitted.

For vehicles fitted with bolt in seating structures, no approval by an approved person is necessary for the temporary removal of seats, provided the category of the vehicle does not change as a result of the seating reduction.

Vehicles with the permanent removal of seating structures must be approved by an approved person and modification plate must be fitted for the reduction in seating capacity.

Importantly, the definition of ‘permanent’ is the seats are removed for an indefinite period or not expected to be refitted.

The last point covers you providing you intend to refit at some point in the future.

Cheers, The Landy
AnswerID: 427665

Reply By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 08:49

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 08:49
Also see here:

http://www.anfwdc.asn.au/news.php?id=15

The answer is in te reply above - as long as you do not permantly change the configuration it is legal.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

AnswerID: 427667

Follow Up By: i'machocoholic - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 09:07

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 09:07
Hi Pete, I have just been spending the past 20 minutes trying to find the regs for SA relating to this and pages that are supposed to be available on the Government website no longer exist!? So reading your article has brought a wry smile to my face as according to your article all is good. I blurted out a woo hoo when reading the positive response but I still need to work on convincing the other half....just need a bit more time! Thank you.
FollowupID: 698337

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 10:00

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 10:00
SA Regs 2010

and look under the section about modifications that you must tell the SA Motor registry about. You could also ring them but they will just give the advice in my link above. I went through this last year.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 698342

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 09:13

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 09:13
My replies are probably in the threads mentioned.

I went to the QLD RTA and asked and was told the temporarily meant " for a short period" Like perhaps a week.

I went to the engineer I know and he said when he got his ticket the class was told NEVER, NOT EVEN FOR 10 minutes.

So I took mine out of the Cruiser and got a blue plate and 13 months later I put them back and got another one Cost $60 a time.
The posters who said it changes the category of the vehicle are correct.
By removing all but two of the seats it changes to the equivilent of a panel van and alters the insurance classification.
Each time I took the papers to the RTA and got the changes noted and the car inspected.
I didnt take the seat belts out as the inner buckles are on the seats in a Cruiser so they were inoperable anyway.

I know lots dont care, dont know or just do it but I wanted to be legal.

The rules as stated are correct You may remove dicky seats if they clip in but you arent allowed to remove bolted down ones.
There is a big thread in the C & M forum and the 4wd forum about the same thing.

Opionions were about the same as the threads here.

Some do, some dont, some dont care and do it anyway.

Your vehicle, your decision, however I try to be legal and avoid problems later.

AnswerID: 427671

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 09:20

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 09:20
If you do do it it would also pay to fit a cargo barrier right behind the front seats as we did.
I put a floor in and had a 60lt Waeco and a washing machine sitting there

We also had one in the rear position to stop the small stuff on top of the drawers flying forward

Would be nothing like wearing afridge around the ears if things turn nasty and the stuff starts flying around.

I remember years ago a person being killed by a slab of beer flying through a Laser hatchback and slamming the person into the windscreen.

Was just sitting in the back of the hatchback till it stopped really quickly.

FollowupID: 698339

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 09:30

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 09:30
And yet the information you were provided with is in contraction of the actual requirement that is laid out in the Queensland Transport Departments own Vehicle Standard Instruction Bulletin (L 5.0) dated 14 July, 2005 (see my post above).

I get so frustrated that we (the public) are all too often given the wrong information and information that is contrary to the actual rules. This happens all too frequently with government departments - if they are going to enforce rules and regulations they should at least know the requirements.

They've cost you time and money for nothing I'd say.....

Cheers, The Landy

FollowupID: 698340

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 10:07

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 10:07
In my case and anyone going on a trip of indefinite length this would apply

"For the purposes of this policy, "permanent" means the seats are
removed for an indefinite period or not expected to be refitted".

I thought I would be away for 6 months 18 months later I am still not home so how would it not apply.

I asked the RTA how long was a "short time" and the answer was "Hmmmmmmm".

So I did it and knew that I wasnt going to get defected.

As i had also fitted cargo barriers I could not have anybody behind the front seats and that effectively changed the vehicle category which was verified by the RTA when I took the papers in to be changed.

They also confirmed that when I took it back in February when I replaced the seats.
I prefer to accept their ruling on the day rather than read what may be misinterpreted by someone reading the rather unspecific rules.

EG How long is "temporary" Even they wont give a definite answer to the direct question.

FollowupID: 698343

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 11:03

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 11:03
Hi Graham

I was coming from the point that all too often the actual staff in government departments enforcing rules often have a complete lack of understanding of them and this leads to angst and expense due to non-compliance concerns.

If, as you did, refitted the seats then it was temporary as that was always your intention regardless of whether it took you longer to do so than you originally intended, and this is allowed under the regulation by their own definition.

If you had a Troop Carrier, for example, that was registered to take 9 passengers and you removed the rear seats the category does change to a panel van. I went through this with my 1994 Landrover Defender which only has two side entry doors, similar to a Troop Carrier.

In terms of changing your vehicles category, I don’t believe you did. It was and remained a station wagon (with 4 side opening doors – a station wagon by definition) with or without the rear seats or cargo barrier.

At the end of the day you are the person that needs to be comfortable and you need to take any steps you feel necessary to accomplish that and I can fully appreciate where you are coming from. But it concerns me that all too often we do go the way of ‘accepting the ruling on the day’ simply because those who should know and understand the rules don’t....how inconsistent is that and we pay for it!!

Cheers, The Landy
FollowupID: 698350

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 11:29

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 11:29
I prefer to lean towards what I was told by an RTA officer than rely on your rather flawed argument of what is indefinite.

When I was asked how long was I going to remove them for I didnt know therefore it was deemed to be indefinite under the rules and I agreed.

What you believe and what the RTA said are two totally different things and they are the ones that matter.

Then I dont have to argue with insurance companies over who is right or wrong.

Its no good asying " A guy on the exploroz forum says your interpretaion is wrong"

I know what the answer would be and I would agree with them.

No further discussion is really neceessary as the original question has been answered and we are just P....ing in the wind now.

Let it be its been hashed out several times before with the same old same old. each time.

FollowupID: 698351

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 11:50

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 11:50
Hi Graham....

Understand and moving on, after all I wasn't looking for an argument, just posting information that might be useful and how anyone uses it is up to them.....that is what the forum is all about, isn't it?

Good luck out there, The Landy
FollowupID: 698352

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 17:31

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 17:31
Having worked on inbound calls in a call centre in between ‘proper jobs’, I appreciate the difficulty in getting a straight answer on what may apparently be a simple question, but in their (and my) defence, I will add the following;

Phone enquiries are usually answered by newbies within the department/company; being hired as phone fodder and paid a couple of cents per hour above the minimum Award wage. They are not solicitors and have minimal training

There is a team leader who is ensuring that they keep to KPI’s on the calls. The enquiry has to be answered, notes written up and the next call answered in a fixed period. Any deviation from this will be presented at your next performance appraisal. This ensures the place has a ‘tick and flick’ mentality

The legislation/policy under which they work can be confusing and whilst it might make sense to the legislators who have access to the bill and its explanatory notes, the poor bunny on the phone has to make a snap determination as to the applicable legislation and then has to explain it.

Remember that they can only answer the question they are asked; A caller asking; ‘I want to remove the seats from my car, does this affect the registration of the car?’ will elicit a different response to ‘I’m removing my seats out for a period to move some things, do I have to tell you?

I’d guarantee you would get two different answers. They don’t have the time, energy, interest or mandate to explore the matter beyond a limited response (from experience if you do this will also be bought up at your performance appraisal).

A work colleague at this time came out with the observation that the entire call centre could be closed down if there was 2 automated responses.

1. Read the expletive deleted legislation
2. Obey the expletive deleted legislation

If you think the answer is dodgy, send a letter to get a response in writing. The have more time to formulate a reasoned response
FollowupID: 698540

Reply By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 12:07

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 12:07
Its sad how useless rules applied to vehicles - are based on financial reasons rather than vehicle safety.

One would think with all the transport dept hype ... removing the seats would reduce the structural integrity of the vehicle ....

Yet its only because some insurance company or rego dept might miss out on a buck or two .....

Thankfully the much maligned old jeep cherokee I now use for travel, has a factory designed removable rear seat squab and fold flat, back rest .... some days its a sedan ... others a panelvan with the travel kit fitted ... and even a ute when the firewood is needed .....

bureaucracy .... pffttttttt

AnswerID: 427686

Reply By: Dean - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 13:26

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 13:26
Hey Choco,
Presuming you have a cargo barrier and if its an NM paj or later, when the back seats are moved forward there is a second fitting point for the barrier. More than likely enough space for the fridge. Adds a fair bit of space but of couse not as much as you are proposing.
Dean
AnswerID: 427697

Follow Up By: i'machocoholic - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 14:36

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 14:36
Hi Dean,
Yes, we are using the second fitment point for the cargo barrier on our NT paj. Just finished spraying a coat of paint on the cargo barrier which my partner has finished making and it's come up a treat. He's been tossing up the idea of laying the seat behind me down with a flat base added to put the Engel on, and folding the the other seat forward for travelling so I can fit a couple of tubs so that may be the way to go. Not what I really wanted, but it's a compromise.... :-)
FollowupID: 698358

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 16:02

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 16:02
The reason I removed mine was that as I wasnt going to use them as there was only two of us I couldnt see the sense in carting an extra 80 or so KG for what turned out to be a 50,000k trip.

Now Im home for a while if I want to carry the fridge I just fold the seats down and sit it on them. Due to its height its impractical to put it on top of the drawers as then it cant be opened.

I got some 15mm ply from Bunnings and glued some rubber matting from Clarke Rubber on it.
Bolted it down using the front barrier bolts and slid it under rear barrier.

The fridge just sat there and never moved on any of the roads we were on.

The floor is still at home in Brissy if someone wants it for a beer donation.
It fits in a 100ser right behind the front seats.

FollowupID: 698374

Reply By: Begaboy - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 15:28

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 15:28
Dealing with the RTA is like Dealing with the ATO . Every person you talk to in either office will give you a different answer to your question - Best bet is to ring till you get an answer that you like and get them to email / snail mail you a copy of the info they have provided for you ( on letter head - applies to both ATO and RTA ) Have done this with the ATO in the past where one said i cant claim XX and the next guy the new guys says i can claim XX

Then in the event of legal action , you will be able to produce information from the appropriate agency showing you acted on information given by that agency and took action based on information they provided as Law. ( or ADR )

BB
AnswerID: 427717

Reply By: Member - John B2 (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 15:44

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 15:44
Hi i'machocoholic

If you are from Victoria it is legal to remove the rear seats if you meet the following criteria.

Removing seats
The requirements for removing seats will vary depending on:

the original number of seating positions
the new number of seating positions
which seats are removed
when the vehicle was manufactured

An Approval Certificate is not required if:

the number of original seating positions was less than 10
10 or more seating positions have been reduced to 2 - 3 seats in the front row only
10 or more seating positions have been reduced to 4 - 9 seats in a vehicle manufactured before 1970
more than 12 seating positions have been reduced to 10-12 seats in a vehicle manufactured before 1986
the number of seating positions does not reduce to below 13

http://www.vicroads.vic.gov.au/Home/Registration/PermitsModificationsAndDefects/Modifications/RemoveAddReplaceSeats.htm

I have a Black Widow set up in my cruiser and the insurance company recognises it.

AnswerID: 427722

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 21:42

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 21:42
You ripper!!!!!

Thought I was running around with an illegal car for years. Seems not.

I have printed this sheet and will keep it in my car for future reference.

Thanks John.....

FollowupID: 698429

Follow Up By: Ianw - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 14:09

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 14:09
You should note that Vicroads HAS TO BE NOTIFIED of this change ! While an Approval Cert is not required, it is a requirement to notify them.

Quote from same article but back at the top of the section

"Before a vehicle can be used on a public highway, VicRoads must be notified of any changes if it affects the description of the vehicle (e.g. change of engine, colour etc.) Other changes may include, adding or removing seats, engine size or type, change of body, LPG conversion, and for trucks and buses, amending the gross vehicle mass of the vehicle."

FollowupID: 698493

Follow Up By: Member - John B2 (VIC) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 15:51

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 15:51
Hi Ian,

The link I added informs you to advise Vicroads of the change.

FollowupID: 698513

Follow Up By: Ianw - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 17:42

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 17:42

If you read my post you woulld see the words "from the same article". I was just pointing out to readers that this info was there but you had to go back to the beginning to actually find it. Your link took us to the page following this statement. Some readers would not take the time to go back to the previous page, and therefore would have been unaware of the requirement to notify VicRoads.
Thanks for the link; I myself have been looking for this info for several years !

FollowupID: 698541

Follow Up By: Member - John B2 (VIC) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 18:01

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 18:01
Hi Ian

This is the page complete, you do not have to go back the previous page.

If you read the page in full, it gives all required info of what is required, as I do not think you have

Removing, adding, and replacing seats

Any change to the seating capacity of a vehicle must be carried out in accordance with VicRoads guidelines.

Adding seats
You should ensure that the vehicle is suitable before installing additional seats. There must be enough room in the vehicle for the additional seats and occupants and the load carrying capacity must be able to accommodate the weight of the new seats and occupants.

Additional seats must be securely anchored to the structure of the vehicle and seat belts must be firmly fixed according to the strength and location requirements of applicable Australian Design Rules.

Seats are divided into three seat categories:

Category 1 - Seats for use by adults
These seats will generally change the category of vehicle from a goods carrying to a passenger vehicle, which are subject to higher safety standards. An engineer's report (VASS Approval Certificate) must be provided to show that the modified vehicle meets the higher safety standards.

Category 2 and 3 - Seats for use by children
Category 2 seats are restricted to use by children up to 12 years of age and weighing less than 39kg.
Category 3 seats are restricted to use by children up to 8 years of age and weighing less than 27kg.

Seats in these categories do not require an Approval Certificate but must be fitted in accordance with the manufacturer's specifications. You should consult an engineer if instructions are not available. Category 2 and 3 seats do not change the seating description of the vehicle and therefore you do not need to advise VicRoads of the change.

For more information about adding seats, see the Vehicle Standards Information No.19 - Additional or replacement seats [PDF 174KB, 2pp]

Removing seats
The requirements for removing seats will vary depending on:

the original number of seating positions
the new number of seating positions
which seats are removed
when the vehicle was manufactured

An Approval Certificate is not required if:

the number of original seating positions was less than 10
10 or more seating positions have been reduced to 2 - 3 seats in the front row only
10 or more seating positions have been reduced to 4 - 9 seats in a vehicle manufactured before 1970
more than 12 seating positions have been reduced to 10-12 seats in a vehicle manufactured before 1986
the number of seating positions does not reduce to below 13

If the modification is not listed above an Approval Certificate is required.

Replacing seats
An Approval Certificate is not required for a replacement seat provided:

the seat is offered by the manufacturer as an option and is replacing and existing seat
the original seat mountings are used
appropriate seat belts are fitted.
An Approval Certificate is required if:
the replacement seat was not offered by the manufacturer as an option
the vehicle was manufactured on or after 1 January 1969.
For more information about adding seats, see the Vehicle Standards Information No.19 - Additional or replacement seats [PDF 174KB, 2pp]

Advising VicRoads
If the modification has changed the seating description of the vehicle or an Approval Certificate is required then you must visit a VicRoads Customer Service Centre with:

evidence of identity
the vehicle
an Approval Certificate, if required.

An appointment is not required.

More information
For more information on vehicle modification guidelines:

View the Vehicle Standards Information Bulletins
call us on 13 11 71
visit a VicRoads Customer Service Centre.

FollowupID: 698545

Reply By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 17:00

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 17:00
This subject has got me intrigued and confused. The different rules within the same departments don't seem to help, let alone the different states. I wonder what the legality is if I fold my rear seats down for a couple of years. It is in reality reducing the seat count by 3 so could this be rated as "illegal" too? It would be almost impossible to fit a decent cargo barrier behind the front seats in my case with the 2nd row folded down so it could be potentially more dangerous with them folded than removed.

I wonder....................
AnswerID: 427737

Follow Up By: i'machocoholic - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 18:23

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 18:23
Hi Nev,

I have realised from the amount of responses to my question that it's definitely not cut and dry as I hoped it may have been. I understand that there are legalities, but I too find it odd that different states may have different rules.

Whilst important to me that we try and utilise as much space as I can in the paj, I guess it's not mandatory that the seats are removed. I am just conscious that with a tinny on top and also pulling a van, the weight saved without the seats would add up given that with my little knowledge, load ratings/tow ratings for the paj isn't as great as a cruiser or patrol and I'd like to keep things as light as possible.
FollowupID: 698392

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 21:24

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 21:24
Personally I do feel you are concerning yourself far too much with this. Have a good read of the Queensland requirement as it is unlikely to differ from the other States. It is quite explicit; if you intend to refit the seats in the future then it is allowed regardless of how long they are out of the vehicle.

But you could ask three different people from Queensland transport and my money is on three different answers despite it being quite clear in the regulations. Put a copy of the Regulations in your glove-box and pull them out if you are ever challenged on it; I doubt you will be.

But putting that aside, I’d concern myself more with putting a tinny on top, a van on the back, and loading the Pajero up inside, the legality or otherwise of removing the seats from the vehicle may be the least of your worries.

And I am not looking to be provocative here, just trying to put some perspective on it…..

Good luck either way you go, and enjoy your trip!

Cheers, The Landy
FollowupID: 698426

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 16:00

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 16:00
Definition from Wikipedia of indefinite

1.Without limit; forever, or until further notice; not definite.
2.Vague or unclear.
3.Undecided or uncertain..

AnswerID: 427858

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 16:27

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 16:27
Can I just say in answer to the original question the only definite way to get the correct answer is to go to your local RTA and get the answer in writing.

It is extremely dangerous to rely on opinions on forums such as these as most are personal thoughts and may or may not be factual.

My reply was an actual case of going to the RTA and an engineer qualified to give the answer and plate the vehicle accordingly.

Others have voiced opinions without getting such verification .

Personally, other than things like wiring diagrams or similar I prefer to research from the proper authorities and have the correct answer which will stand me in good stead should I ever have to argue the point with the law or an insurance company.

This I did in this instance and am confident I did the right thing.
FollowupID: 698529

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 17:09

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 17:09
"It is extremely dangerous to rely on opinions on forums such as these as most are personal thoughts and may or may not be factual."

A very valid point, but the poster asked for an opinion (not a solicitor), opening the door for opinions to be offered.....

Long live the forum, and those with an opinion and view (it would be boring without those attributes!)

Beer O'Clock....good weekend to you, The Landy

FollowupID: 698535

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 18:00

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 18:00
The OP actually asked this

"A friend has told us that it's illegal to remove back seats which are bolted down unlike dicky seats which only clip in. Does anyone know if this is the case?"

It requires a definite correct answer to allow him to do the right thing.

Not an opinion

As I said and the prev reply also said Get it off the RTA in writing not an opinion off here.

I agree forums are worthwhile but for things that could end up in a legal stoush the correct info from the relevant authority is the ONLY ADVICE I would follow and so should the OP.

FollowupID: 698544

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 20:21

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 20:21
Graham

I stand corrected it would seem they were looking for specific advice and not an ‘opinion’. Mind you if it is a legal stoush you are looking to be protected from then it would be best to seek legal counsel from someone qualified, rather than relying on a 25 year old behind the counter of the local RTA Office to interpret this rather ambiguous law.

Bugger! The legal eagle will write some long-winded legal ‘opinion’ to justify the $600 bill that comes with it, and you’ll still be no better off.

I surrender! It seems like the Department of Silly Rules, and Government Bureaucracy has won the day again….I can appreciate the reason why you went the way you did….

But let me share my experience (it will be brief) when I tried to ascertain and confirm the meaning of ‘Obstructing your Vision’ meant with respect to the fitment of a HF Self Tune Antenna on ‘The Landy’. I read the rules, and I certainly complied with the mounting requirements, but what did the bureaucrats define as ‘obstructing vision’.

To cut a long story short, I asked an RTA Official (yep another 25 year old) he suggested that it was based on putting a coke can about 20 metres in front of the vehicle, and in a line of sight where the antenna was between the driver’s position and the coke can (seriously!). Well I laughed at the joke, but he was dead-pan serious, so I told him it was parked outside antenna and all, and there was no way I could pass the coke test and would he like to defect the vehicle now (okay I’m a little provocative). Now he was laughing thinking I was joking, but I was dead-pan serious….

I’m sure you have the picture. Well the antenna is still on ‘The Landy’..I wrote to my local member and said they made this rule so could they define it for me, it went to the police for comment, no-one was really sure how to deal with it and in the end they confirmed if it was mounted correctly then I would never have an issue (and haven’t). Phew, saved myself $600 on a legal opinion………and I’ve got the letter in my back pocket.

The moral of the story….there is none, do what you think you need to get the level of comfort you want.

Okay…my absolute last on this topic.

Cheers, The Landy
FollowupID: 698575

Follow Up By: Member - John B2 (VIC) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 20:34

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 20:34
Seeing it is Friday and there are a lot of pedantic replies or opinions and dispersions cast.

Answer this question how can a flightless bird fly the coop???

(Another Kiwi that flew the coop )
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kiwi

FollowupID: 698577

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 20:54

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 20:54
I have been waiting for some slow Aussie to pick that up

It took a while ROFL.

Just a play on words which may be too subtle for some.

To The Landy

I never ask the counter staff, I email them and you then get a specialist to answer.
The engineer also rang someone I couldnt and checked.

The modification code is LK1

Fair enough and thats why I put my Codan aerial on the rear.

The rule is that nothing over 75mm dia may interfere with your vision. A Barret fixed lower down complies, a 9350 is 100mm in dia and doesnt apparently.
So I just put mine where the worklight goes on a Kaymar wheel carrier.

Wife would have been crosseyed looking past it for 50,000k LOL

Hope we are all agreed and finished with this and the OP goes where he should have in the first place and he would have got the correct answer. (Hopefully).

FollowupID: 698580

Follow Up By: Member - John B2 (VIC) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 21:13

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 21:13
A bit deragatory

"I have been waiting for some slow Aussie to pick that up "

Lighten up you have chosen to live here with us slow aussies and we bowl a mean under arm.

"i'machocoholic" should have stated what state they reside in. eg "Removing seats - legal or not in Victoria??"
Your info is for Qld, mine is for Vic and we have also had SA involved, would have made for a more logical question to answer

FollowupID: 698582

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 21:43

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 21:43
Lighten up, Its been there for about 8 months, perhaps the underarm is the cause. LOL

Yes he should have stated which would have made it easier.

Lots of posts are like that though Not enough info to form a logical answer.

I notice on the 4wd Forum if you head a thread with, say just "Tyres" it will be deleted as they have rules about that sort of uninformative headings.

Australia is a lovely country, may not be so good after tomorrow if you are a pensioner. LOL

FollowupID: 698585

Follow Up By: i'machocoholic - Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 12:00

Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 12:00
Hi guys,

Thanks for the light reading!

Actually "he" is a "she" and about half way through the thread, you'll see that I'm from SA.

Anyway, I managed to glean what I needed from the responses so it's helped me in that respect and I'm grateful.

Cheers....

FollowupID: 698625

Reply By: i'machocoholic - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 18:30

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 18:30

I appreciate everyone' responses to my question - as mentioned previously I now understand that it's not clear cut, but I have gathered both people's opinions and directions for hunting legislation requirements. I have enjoyed reading all the responses and thank those for taking the time to pen their thoughts.

i'machocoholic :-)
AnswerID: 427876

Reply By: mechpete - Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 22:03

Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 22:03
just go ahead and take them out .
why draw attention to your self , I took my 2nd row seats and the 3rd row
seats out of mine when I bought it in 98 and are still sitting in the spare
room . never been back in . never been questioned about it .
mechpete
AnswerID: 427973