Jerry can filling off vehicle
Submitted: Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:57
brushmarx
We are all probably aware that jerry cans should be placed on the ground prior to filling, apparently to prevent static electricity causing a big bang.
Does the same principal apply to filling a trailer mounted quad/motor bike, generator, ride on mower or the like?
If a trailer or vehicle mounted jerry can can cause trouble, why wouldn't a fuel tank?
Anyone with knowledge, or a theory?
Reply By: Notso - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 19:33
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 19:33
Yes
well the theory goes that you should ground yourself on the vehicle before you start filling the tank. For example, you open the filler cap, pick up the pump nozzle, lean against the car body somewhere like the roof then insert the nozzle into the filler hole. Any static will be discharged through you hand that's leaning on the car rather than jumping as a spark between the nozzle and the metal filler hole.
That's my theory!
Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 20:41
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 20:41
Hi Brushmarx
I am assuming that you must be talking about petrol, as opposed to diesel. If such is a problem, why not put it on the ground anyway. I travel with my trailer, and have a 4.5 kW gen set in my trailer hooked up to my Waeco, and I have never had any problems. I obviously turn the gen set off, but I fill it whilst in the trailer and never worry about anything.
I always filll my diesel jerry cans whilst they are in the ute of my hilux, and have never had a problem there, wven with the second battery in close proximity. Maybe I am just lucky.
Marc
Follow Up By: Member - peter f (VIC) - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:21
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:21
gooday .
in my case .i carry 7 jerry cans of petrol on the roof . and to lift each one down to fill it
there is a real chance of hurting your back or something , i filled them at
Boulia 2 weeks ago and I asked the operator and he said yes . but some go nuts if you do it .
cheers mechpete
Follow Up By: Parso - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:40
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:40
Why would you, or anybody else, ever carry seven jerry cans on your roof?
Centre of gravity, etc.
Follow Up By: olcoolone - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 22:02
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 22:02
I wouldn't be worried about filling them, I would be more concerned with the weight on your roof and being top heavy.
Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 01:36
Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 01:36
Please tell me that you are not serious, Seven jerry cans of volaitile, highly inflammable liquid on the roof of your vehicle. That actually scares me.
Follow Up By: patsproule - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 06:17
Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 06:17
I'm with Marc - 7 Jerries of Petrol on the roof is nuts - that's 140+ litres! I am fairly sure you will find it contravenes a law or rule, not to mention the issue of all the weight up there. Perhaps it's time to invest in a proper long range tank or maybe a diesel?
Pat
Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:04
Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:04
Wow, Pete, thats a habit you would be better to lose. Apart from the dynamics of lifting, the wind resistance & weight would mean you use at least one gerry to carry the others anyway. Far too risky for me...get a long range tank.......oldbaz.
Follow Up By: Member - peter f (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:05
Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:05
when you do a trip with bikes down the CSR , and the like thats what you
need to do . I do have a long range tank already , and its all about driving
to the conditions , I,m not into damaging my 4wd so I take thins very
carefully , haven,t had a problem . I don,t have the money to by a diesel
so you make do with what you have .
cheers mechpete
Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:44
Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:44
Fair enough, although I think I would be transferring the fuel to the trailer
somehow, assuming you are towing one..cheers....oldbaz.
Reply By: Roughasguts - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 07:46
Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 07:46
Quite interesting.... So If I'm to fill my stainless steel cruise tank on me glass boat. Can I blow me self up from a stray static spark from the fuel nozzle on the un grounded fuel tank.
Follow Up By: Member - david m2 (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:46
Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:46
i havn't blown up yet and Ive been doing it for 20 years glass and alloy boats.
Mate of
mine filled his boat one day and put the pump nossle in his rod holder instead of his filler cap. he put 80l in and hes still here. Made one hell of a mess though.
Reply By: brushmarx - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:00
Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:00
I used the jerry cans as an example so the modifiers wouldn't have a stroke over an off topic subject.
I was filling my ride on mower while it was on the trailer, and thought "is this safe?"
Boat motor tanks, motor bikes, quad bikes, generators etc all have fuel tanks in the trailers sitting on rubber tyres. If a jerry can in the same trailer is considered dangerous, I assume the same may apply to fuel tanks.
And yep, I was talking petrol, not diesel.
Follow Up By: OREJAP - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:29
Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:29
Interesting post this!! For awhile now I have been whinging about the over regulated world we live in. OH&S gone wild in some aspects of our lives. "Where is your reflective vest" "You cannot touch that dying man because you have not got your eye protection and gloves on" I cannot help the local plumber on the roof of my house because I do not meet OH&S safety principles....there are numerous examples of rules & regulations...YET....WE the majority of us....probably 96% are unskilled in handling volitile fuels.....We can drive into a servo....fill our vehicles....jerry cans etc....w/out the slightest thought as to WHAT IF!!!! and the authorities let us.....to save $$$$ the greedy Oil Companies sacked all the driveway attendants who use to serve US. I was at a servo recently paying for my diesel and an EFW (Educated. Bleep Wit) came up to the consul operator (who was serving me) with his 5ltr can of unleaded....he was told by the attendant..."You cannot bring that in here. Put it outside." This bloke stood there confused....demanding he wanted to pay for his petrol. Even when explained to him about bringing fuel inside the servo he could see nothing wrong with his behaviour & stormed out of the servo after paying his $$$. I watched this (yes he was an Australian who spoke & understood English) bloke hop into his vehicle with his fuel next to him & drive off.....I was waiting for him to light a smoke!!!!
Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 17:07
Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 17:07
A little something I found on youtube.
Fuel pump fire
It still could of happened filling a regular nozzle if you look around in related videos
Shane
Reply By: Teraa - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:43
Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 20:43
what about 44's on the back of a ute ?
Reply By: SDG - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 02:01
Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 02:01
It is illegal to sit on a bike while refilling. To me sounds safer. I was filling
mine one day while bike was on the side stand. The bike had a slight movement(from some clown bumping into it while walking past) thus resulting in a spark with the stand where it contact the ground. Hate to think what could have happened.
On a similar note it is illegal to allow a child under 12 I think to fuel vehicle. Fair enough. What I was not aware of, is that they are not even allowed to open a jerry can. I was told off, and my son made to wash his hands, after I allowed him to take the lids off the two jerry cans i carry on the trailer being towed by my bike while I filled the bike. He did not handle nozzle.
Warning.
A few years back here, there was a fuel tanker driver checking the contents of his tanker after a delivery. He could not find his torch. He lit his lighter to see instead. You can imagine what came next.