Starting Fiddle

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 09:28
ThreadID: 8138 Views:1130 Replies:5 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
Hi,

I have to do a fiddle when starting my HJ60 cruiser diesel. It invloves slowly turning the key to a position between the on and start position to ignite the glow plug light on the dash. If I don't do this when the enigne is cold it will turn over but is difficult to start and will also produce a large plume of white/blue smoke from flooding I presume, as the smoke is not produced when the fiddle is emplyed. Is this someting that I can rectify at home? I do have a good mechanical aptitude, but I am very new to diesel engines.

Owen
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: zigglemeister - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 09:40

Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 09:40
Hi Owen,
Most diesels of that generation, you have to turn the key to "on" and wait for the glow light to go out before starting, especially when cold. If the glow light's not coming on when the key's turned to "on" it sounds like maybe there's a problem with the electrical contacts within the key cylinder. Question - when you do your fiddle and the glow light comes on, does it stay on for a bit and then time out and turn itself off, or do you have to just regulate how long it stays on yourself?
Tim Z
AnswerID: 35353

Follow Up By: ogray - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 09:47

Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 09:47
Hi Tim Z,
The glow light stays on for a split second only, hence the need for the fiddle when the ignition is turned to the on position.
When the fiddle is deplyed it stays on for about 5 seconds and goes out by itself.

Owen
FollowupID: 25548

Follow Up By: zigglemeister - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 15:25

Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 15:25