how to do it?

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 07:06
ThreadID: 8164 Views:1872 Replies:8 FollowUps:8
This Thread has been Archived
I will go to Oz in Feb'04 and want to do some longer outback trips after a while of learning and short trips. obviously I want to buy a 4x4 when I come but t should also be able to handle everything later. I have to problems. first i have no experience yet and second (as usual) only little money. I want to go for a 75 Landcruiser as I read here and there that its a good low cost choice. I saw a offer online for a '96 75 Landcruiser with all kind of equipment (camping, spar parts, tools etc) and ready for trips (heavy weight supension, dual batterie etc.). All for 16500 $ but with 320k km. Now is this example worth looking in or is 320k anyways to much trouble for the future? What are good ways to find the right car (where e.g.) and how do I know its a good buy (simple things to check for anot yet offroader)?
I assume I am the 1 million user asking these questions but anyways I would be gratefull for any help from you pro's.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Tony - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 07:22

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 07:22
First off if it's a Deisel model with 320k on the clock and servised properly it should be good for another 300k, and the price looks ok.

Check out the trip planning section on this site its very good, buy a map of Australia and go from there.

Before you arrive arrange to meet with someone and they will be able to help you on your planning.
AnswerID: 35515

Follow Up By: reisender - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 07:27

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 07:27
Thanks for the info. It is actually a disel (I thought it would be the best choice) and it has proofen service for the last 60k-70k add. it would get a last service just before handover. Is it enough to know bout the last 70k of servicing?
FollowupID: 25669

Reply By: reisender - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 07:24

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 07:24