Bobtails !!!

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 16:35
ThreadID: 81877 Views:5977 Replies:9 FollowUps:12
Hi everyone,

I have a fairly large shed/workshop on the industrial side of town. The yard has a couple of old cars, trailers and various piles of timber with many nooks and crannys yet there is this one Bobtail thats determined to get into the shed.

He usualy rocks up about 11ish in the mornings and I normaly spot him before he gets too far and pop him back outside.
This ritual goes on the rest of the day until I close up. This has been happening daily for the past week.

I have to leave town for a few days shortly and dont want him getting past me where he may get locled in over that period and possibly die.

Its been warm lately but not hot, theres no food in the shed, not even a beer in the fridge.

Just curious if anyone knows the habits of Bobtails and may enlighten me as to why my shed is so interesting to this little bloke.

Cheers.....Lionel.

Reply By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 16:47

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 16:47
Maybe his girlfriend has already found a way in there ???

sorry, can't help ya with their habits etc.....

;-))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 432892

Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 18:10

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 18:10
Why not leave a shallow bowl of water and a bit of tucker (not sure what he'd eat - dog food?) just in case?
AnswerID: 432898

Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 18:16

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 18:16
Hi Lionel

I reckon they are simple things, they will be either after food, water, shelter.

Being cold blooded there body cant cool itself as we can. So if it is too hot outside they will move to find shade, if it is too cold they move to find warmth. Thats why you often see them on the road, the black surface is warmer.

It could be they smell water of food in the shed, we get them regularly in our chook yard. Sally allows them one egg a day.

Try putting a bowl of water in the yard and see if that stops him. Ed could be right as if there is one there is often their mate close by.

As a very general rule, if you have bobtails you wont have snakes ( i think because they eat the snake eggs) so it is worthwhile keeping them around.

AnswerID: 432899

Follow Up By: SDG - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 19:43

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 19:43
Venomous snakes give birth to live young. Pythons lay eggs, which are usually guarded
FollowupID: 703669

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 21:03

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 21:03
Yep, as i said a very general rule. I live in a rural area and although we encourage bobtails we have still seen snakes. Not many but they arre still around.

FollowupID: 703678

Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 21:59

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 21:59
you can add MATING to that list this time of year Allan

they certainly often find there way into sheds and houses usually because of there habit of just walking along till they come to something then following it and if a doors open in they go

its a myth about bobtails and snakes snakes will hapilly eat them and ive found them sheltering together at times

certainly a bit strange but who can ever work these things out?
FollowupID: 703688

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 15:56

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 15:56
SDG posted:"Venomous snakes give birth to live young. Pythons lay eggs"

Not true - Australian venemous land snakes include both livebearers and egglayers. Most livebearers inhabit cooler areas (i.e. southern Australia) where incubating eggs is more difficult than in the tropics (where egglayers predominate). Example - Taipan lays eggs, Tiger Snake bears live young.

Agree with GOM - Bobtails wont have any effect on snake poulations in areas they inhabit - another one of those "old wives tales".

FollowupID: 703782

Follow Up By: SDG - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 18:34

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 18:34
Your right Greg.
That blew that science lesson from school out of the water. I just googled it to check.
FollowupID: 703794

Reply By: Roach"ee" - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 18:28

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 18:28
Got me beat.

When I read the title I only opened the thread because I thought it was gunna be about a prime mover driving with no trailer. I have no idea what your idea of a "bobtail" is. Please edumacate me.
AnswerID: 432902

Follow Up By: Wilko - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 18:35

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 18:35
Hi Lionel/ Roachee,

I thought it was a cat, but am leaning towards a lizard (bluetounge?).

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 703661

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 18:46

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 18:46
I reckon it is a Shingleback Lizard

Aussie Zoo description of a Shingleback Lizard

FollowupID: 703662

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 18:48

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 18:48
When all else fails ask Wiki ;)

FollowupID: 703663

Follow Up By: Roach"ee" - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 19:41

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 19:41
Okay....shingleback is commonly known as a "sleepy lizard" here in SA.

We get them around here and I love the little buggars.... they are welcome in my shed any time.
FollowupID: 703667

Follow Up By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 20:09

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 20:09
known as "bush tucker" round here...........................................

;-))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 703672

Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 22:02

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 22:02
actually a slightly different reptile Roach"ee" to split hairs

the SA version is a tiliqua rugosa aspera and the WA version is tiliqua rugosa rugosa

the Sa versions dont have the different coloured heads

outback WA ones particulary around Kal can have striking brick red heads
FollowupID: 703689

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 16:04

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 16:04
To split hairs even further (or maybe to correctly split them) there are actually four subspecies and all are found in Western Australia. One subspecies (Tiliqua rugosa aspera) occurs from Nullabor WA through SA, Vic, NSW to QLD.

FollowupID: 703786

Reply By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 23:09

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 23:09
G`day Lionel,

Just leave some water and some pieces of apple or strawberries in your shed and don`t worry about it, it will have a party while you are away, it might even invite its friends along.

Scrubby.

AnswerID: 432937

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 00:19

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 00:19
I reckon the bobbie must be sexually attracted to you. Just loves your touch.
Once they get into their head to go in somewhere nothing seems to stop them for weeks from my experience. Can you put up a low barrier to physically stop him/her from entering?

Neil
AnswerID: 432943

Reply By: Murray48 - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 00:27

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 00:27
Bobtails will eat anything they can catch basically. They like snails, especially the big brown ones.
If you want to feed them, puppy pal is good, it has pretty well all the vitamins and minerals they need.
I feed the wild ones around our place with tomatoes, its better if you cut them into peices they can chew up.
They do not require feed every day so if you lock one in the shed accidently, it will take a long time to starve to death.
I have been told they take a mate for life so it is possible that its mate is in the shed already.
They make good pets for the kids as they are easy to keep, but you will need a licence to keep them and they cannot be taken from the wild.
The wild ones get really quiet if you feed them and they will readily accept food from your hand in a fairly short time.
AnswerID: 432944

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 08:53

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 08:53
Thanks for your replies guys.

I dont know what it is about Paula and I, but we have 3 dogs, 2 cats, 1 gallah, 1 rabbit, 2 ducks and a sheep all turn up on our door step. They must know who's a soft touch around here.

Now I have to go to the shops for a bloody lizard.....lol.

The Circus doesn't need to come to town, we've got one right here.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 432959

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 13:40

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 13:40
Lionel, why not drop an email to Bob Cooper? He will the reson for sure and i"m sure would be happy to give you some advice if you wish to do the right for its wellfare - he lives and operates a nature reserve and is dedicated to reptiles and other native wildlive and their conservation and care. YOu can dob me in and say I told you to ask him!!

Michelle
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 432994