Catch can

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:05
ThreadID: 81902 Views:7982 Replies:9 FollowUps:11
Can someone please explain the reason why one would fit a catch can to your vehicle there must be a good reason I just can't find the info. I have a turbo diesel with an intercooler standard is there any advantage to fitting a catch can.

Reply By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:40

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:40
Yes there is!!!! it could state a little time to explain, so having a diesel turbo motor, the turbo blows air into the intake manifold at pressures of around 12 psi, some like mine get up to 15 psi (with out any problems). What happens is the "sucking" of the air from the air filter can cause oil being sucked from the blow by pipe. Which comes out of the rocker cover (on most TDs) and goes into the intake pipe between the air filter and the turbo in let. This is why oil is noticed in the intercooler, and if this build up to much you can loose boost pressure. And I believe this is a major reason for the Nissan 3.0 Lt problem.
I first noticed this problem after fitting my snorkel and putting an oil based filter in the snorkel as well as having one in the air box. I now do not use any other filter but paper ones. Mine was that bad oil was leaking out of the turbo, turbo was ok. All for now cheers
AnswerID: 433038

Reply By: Rockape - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:42

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:42
Mate,
the main reason for fitting a catch can to a modern diesel is to stop the oil going back into the engine to be burnt, this oil lines the piping and and can cause problems with sensors and turbo. The egr valves also pump some horrible crap back into the engine.

Have a good one
AnswerID: 433039

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:04

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:04
The engine can start to run the oil rich vapour & self destruct!

FollowupID: 703814

Reply By: Member - John - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:05

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:05
G'day, yes there is. A catch can will intercept any oil from your PCV to the suction side of the turbo and hence the intercooler. It is quite common when you inspect your intercooler, to find oil contaminating it and lessening the cooling function. A catch can "catches" the oil and allows you to drain it away. Most catch cans sold do not work, they have an inlet and outlet at the top and don't allow for any oil to dropout. Easily fixed, needs a seperator of some sort, to make the air/oil path longer and s/s mesh packed into the can.(S/S saucepan cleaning pads) Hope that is easy to follow? John

AnswerID: 433043

Reply By: Roach"ee" - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:47

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:47
I agree with the other respondents.... but would just add that the most professional catch can I know of (and use on my 6.5 Chev V8 diesel), is the Provent 200.
Provent 200
AnswerID: 433048

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 22:40

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 22:40
Do they have a filter in them? I use a Greddy catch tank & have found that if I loosely fill it with coarse steel wool it catches more oil.

FollowupID: 703845

Follow Up By: carlj - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 06:53

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 06:53
Do you drain the oil back to the engine or do you manually empty the container at regular periods if so how often
FollowupID: 703869

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 08:13

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 08:13
Hi carlj ,
I manually empty mine via a tap on the bottom. Save having to diconnect the can and remove.
My Can has a clear hose up the side which shows the level of oil in the can.

Another problem I have heard of, some people use to smaller hose from the rocker cover to the can and from the can to the intake after the air filter which restricts the amount of air that can flow though the can, which then wont collect the oil. The volume of air just isn't there.
Below is a pic of my setup.
Catch Can

FollowupID: 703880

Reply By: Eric Experience - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 21:12

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 21:12
carlj.
The most important function of the catch can is to protect the MAF from contamination, a contaminated MAF can cause over boost or incorrect injection.
AnswerID: 433050

Reply By: Ruffy-Dan - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 23:03

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 23:03
Two further reasons for fitting catch cans, albeit usually on more modified engines, is to stop oil getting into the turbo, being heated and fed under pressure into the engine creating a further fuel source. This excess fuel will cause higher engine revs which forces more oil in which increases revs which forces more oil in... i think you get the picture.. Higher boost usually causes greater crank case pressure exasperating the problem. You simply wont be able to shut the engine down as it's creating it's own fuel source.
Secondly, a droplet of oil hitting a turbo wheel at 38,000rpm will knock a blade or two off without hesitation..

Dan
AnswerID: 433061

Reply By: Muntoo - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 00:05

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 00:05
Well ya learn something new everyday.

Excuse the dopeyness, but where does one mount one of these catch cans?

Sounds like they are cheap insurance.
AnswerID: 433064

Follow Up By: Member - John - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 01:39

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 01:39
Depends on your vehicle, but mine, Patrol TD6, is mounted on the vacumn cannister bracket, can hardly see it, but is easy to plumb up the hose from PCV and to air inlet. Can supply some pics if you wish. (next week)

FollowupID: 703863

Follow Up By: carlj - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 06:55

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 06:55
look forward to see the photos
FollowupID: 703870

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 08:00

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 08:00
I am not sure of other vehicles but my Isuzu MU has another tube coming from the rocker cover and goes down to the dip stick, so we plumbed it into there. But had to make up a non return valve so when we turn the motor of the ball bearing drops and the oil flows into the sump.
FollowupID: 703878

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 09:47

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 09:47
Hey Carlj,
Here'eBay links an .
There are heaps of different sizes & shapes. I bought mine from eBay, $49.00, then some hose 22mm about 1.7meters, 4x hose clamps to suit, 12mm hose 200mm 4x 15mm hose clamps 2x 12x 20mm barbed screw fittings, 1'2 dozen zip ties, all up about $85 and an hours work.

FollowupID: 703886

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 13:20

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 13:20
Just thought I would check how much it has collected,
I installed it on the 17th of May this year and I've traveled 7000 k's and it collected about 25 ml in the outlet hose.

FollowupID: 703915

Follow Up By: Muntoo - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 19:08

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 19:08
Excellent. cheers guys.

Might head over to the 4wd action forum , see where they go on a Bt50/Ranger.

FollowupID: 703973

Reply By: Member - Julie & John (VIC) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 09:15

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 09:15
Gday...

Well, well, well - I learn something new every day.

I have only had two turbo-diesel vehicles - Hyundai Terracan CRDi Auto and now a Discovery 3 TDV6 Auto.

No-one has ever mentioned the need for an "oil can" for these, although I have never heard them mentioned anywhere previously for that matter.

Are these "oil cans" mainly for the Toyota/Nissan variants? (My son has a 2000 HiLux 3ltr turbo-diesel manual) - and if the need is so desparately imperative, how come the manufactuers are not fitting them to their vehicles as standard.

I am constantly learning from these forums.

Julie & John
AnswerID: 433079

Follow Up By: Member - John - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 15:55

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 15:55
Really only important if you have an intercooler.......... Cheers

FollowupID: 703928

Reply By: workhorse - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 18:33

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 18:33
Just emptied mine on my 2000 Courier TD and after about 8500km I emptied about 25-30mls of oil that would have ended up in the intercooler. My old intercooler pre catch can was full of oil. I think it's a cheap, easy addition to do yourself.
AnswerID: 433283