Buying online/ Pentax Optio 550 experience?

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 30, 2003 at 20:43
ThreadID: 8206 Views:2025 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
G'day guys

I've decided to go digital and buy a Pentax Optio 550.

Done a bit of reaserch and they sound the goods.

Thinking of purchasing online through ccccamerahouse. This is the best deal I can find.

Link here

Does anyone have experience with this camera or ccccamerahouse?

Any info appreciated.

Goodsy

[ View Image]

Reply By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2003 at 20:53

Thursday, Oct 30, 2003 at 20:53
Goodsy,
Check out a site called dcpreview. It will give you the rundown on all digi camera's and opinions from people who have brought the camera.
I have an Olympus C740 that was about the same money, heaps of options, a 10x digital zoom but 3.1 megapixels. It is a great camera. Have had it for about 5 months now and taken about 500 shots so far with no problems.ne cede malis
AnswerID: 35747

Follow Up By: Brendon - Friday, Oct 31, 2003 at 12:32

Friday, Oct 31, 2003 at 12:32
The Olympus is a great camera. 3.1 Megapixels is not top of the range, but unless you want to print larger than A4 quality it is great. Good lens and optical zoom makes it excellent value for money. Also easy to use for the non-technocrats
FollowupID: 25852

Reply By: Russell Terrano - Thursday, Oct 30, 2003 at 21:12

Thursday, Oct 30, 2003 at 21:12
Try http://www.steves-digicams.com/ like dpreview. I've got a An Olympus e100rs and a Nikon 5700. The Olympus Brand seems to sport the best lenses.

Over 8000 photos in three years, printed less than 30 the rest on CDs

AnswerID: 35750

Reply By: Goodsy - Thursday, Oct 30, 2003 at 21:34

Thursday, Oct 30, 2003 at 21:34
Thanks guys.

Anyone own an Optio 550?
AnswerID: 35753

Follow Up By: pathfinder - Friday, Oct 31, 2003 at 12:34

Friday, Oct 31, 2003 at 12:34
I own an Option 330RS - very similar camera - biggest diff is 3 megapixles vs 5 - great camera; very user-friendly and compact. 330RS was the duck guts for $800 when I bought a year ago. Of course, in the world of technology, things have gotten better and cheaper since then so may be better options now - Choice magazine recently did a very comprehensive review of a huge number of digitals and presented a very informative table which will allow you to compare 'apples with apples'...
FollowupID: 25853

Reply By: joc45 - Friday, Oct 31, 2003 at 00:51

Friday, Oct 31, 2003 at 00:51
Also worth checking out is the ISO equivalent of the camera. Many of the cheapies only run ISO 100 equivalent. Pay more and you can get selectable ISO up to 400 or even 1600 or so. Very handy for shots without the need for flash.
Don't buy a camera which does not take rechargeable batts. AA alkaline batts run out pretty quick when you only take one shot at a time.
And worth checking what a second battery costs - it's a pain when the batt runs out in the field.
Gerry
AnswerID: 35769

Reply By: Member - Kevin - Friday, Oct 31, 2003 at 10:07

Friday, Oct 31, 2003 at 10:07
Hi Goodsy, Check out the new Cannon 300D great cameraHumbie
AnswerID: 35780

Follow Up By: Goodsy - Friday, Oct 31, 2003 at 16:35

Friday, Oct 31, 2003 at 16:35
You mean this one?

Canon EOS 300D

Bit more than I wanted to spend mate.
FollowupID: 25862

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Oct 31, 2003 at 13:35

Friday, Oct 31, 2003 at 13:35
goto www.dirtcheapcameras.com.authey are in bleep ney.

I got my fuji S602Z from them, and couldnt be happier with the service either.
AnswerID: 35802

Follow Up By: Goodsy - Friday, Oct 31, 2003 at 16:36

Friday, Oct 31, 2003 at 16:36
Glade to hear you didn't have any trouble with them Truckster. hey are my second choice. Only price separates them.
FollowupID: 25863

Follow Up By: Glenno - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2003 at 22:48

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2003 at 22:48
I just order a Nikon lens and body from these guys. Very happy with the price. About 25% cheaper than Brisbane.

Glenn.
FollowupID: 26134