Sand Flag Height

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 09:48
ThreadID: 82298 Views:7139 Replies:8 FollowUps:2
On a recent trip into the dunes of Beachport etc, I could not help but notice the different heights (and lack of) sand flags.

We have our EO flag mounted onto the flat of the ARB Bull Bar, which would put it well over 3.5 metres from ground level to the top of the flag. Is this too high? Some people had a token flag onto their 1.2m UHF aerial, I even saw one flag on a 12" rubber ducky aerial off the roof rack! Majority did not have any flag, whilst some had flag on about 2m pole.

How high should the flag be? Low enough to miss trees etc, but high enough to be seen approaching the crest of the dune/or through/over the top of the scrub?

Craig

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 10:25

Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 10:25
Craig

i think that a little heigher than a little bit low is better.after all,the reason why you have one is so is that other vehicles can see you approaching well b4 they see your vehicle.

AnswerID: 435044

Follow Up By: CraigFox - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 10:46

Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 10:46
That was my thoughts exactly! We had a few close calls with oncoming vehicles with a flag lower than roof height or no flag at all.

FollowupID: 706154

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 16:14

Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 16:14
I mounted a flag on the bull bar for the Googs Track trip. It seemed high enough to me at about 3m but I did not meet any oncoming traffic.

The biggest problem I had was with overhanging trees. My flag got caught up and ripped to pieces in just a few short k's where there were a lot of overhanging branches. It was mounted on the left because the way I did it that was easier. Next time I will mount it on the right hand side of the car to minimise such contact.

The other thing I thought was that it would be better mounted leaning forward so that it was in front of the car. When climbing a dune the flag is actually behind the car if mounted vertically I question how much warning it actually gives. I accept it is better than none but probably not much.

AnswerID: 435064

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 17:57

Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 17:57
Craig

Look at what I used for the Canning Stock Route

............................... A squid pole ($25)
................................A "Bra".. purchased from St Vinnies
................................Very strange stares female staff are free
................................trying to explain yourself is priceless

I have a thoery......... 95%+ drivers in the desert are male
...............................We can spot a "Bra" at 500 mts, with no effort at all
...............................For a male, it's better than a beacon
...............................SAFETY plus achieved

and of course you need this configuration

Problem solved

AnswerID: 435072

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 18:31

Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 18:31

straight out of your cross dressing draw are they??

LMAO.
FollowupID: 706193

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 19:10

Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 19:10
Hi Craig
I am not sure if there is a set ruling, but from a safety angle, some reports of at least 3m from the ground or higher is recommended. The higher the distance from the ground, the easier on coming vehicles will see you approaching from the other side of a dune. A flag mounted on the 1.2m aerial will offer no or very little safety, as the vehicle will be on top of a dune before the flag will be see = no warning to the other vehicle and a head on collision. I see you also use an EO flag, which are great, as their bright safety orange make them easy to see from quite some distance, which is what you want to happen, to be seen.

AnswerID: 435080

Reply By: Big_Fisho - Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 19:42

Thursday, Nov 04, 2010 at 19:42
well the usual height ive seen them is around 3.5m and they are telescopic...in regards to tree's etc you could mount a spring base on it so it folds over like a UHF aerial OR if you wanna be a bogan like me have 12ft uhf aerials on ya ute and mount it on the top of that lol
AnswerID: 435083

Reply By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 20:12

Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 20:12
G'day, it can't be too high! - it can only be too low! regards,
"the only thing constant in my life is change"

AnswerID: 435145

Reply By: Flynnie - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 22:01

Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 22:01
I heard that it should be a minimum of 3 metres from the ground to comply with C.A.M.S. (mining not auto) standards. I have not been able to confirm this.

My Black Widow sand flag reportedly complies.

I go full height unless there are too many hits on trees and then I take out one section. It would still be over 3 metres.

Flynnie
AnswerID: 435158

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 22:13

Friday, Nov 05, 2010 at 22:13
While a min of 4m is the accepted height for some dune buggy clubs, this is far too tall for many of the coastal tracks covered in low scrub & generally ends in the thing being ripped off. The ideal position is central on the bull bar & 3m off the ground would be sufficient. If playing in the Millicent buggy park on some of the large dunes then add another length.
Cheers Craig...............
AnswerID: 435159