LC200 Series - Buying Used, Any Tips? Known issues resolved?

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 21:02
ThreadID: 82337 Views:19218 Replies:6 FollowUps:8

Have decided to fork out the $$ to get into a GLX used 200 series. I need a vehicle that will tow 3 tonne and in the end it comes down to a two horse race between an LC or a Disco. Have ruled out a Disco because of reliability issues and the fact they depreciate like an anchor.

It will be a business vehicle, so given that the cost is shared with the tax man decided on a TD V8. Ruled out the 100 series - IMO the 200 series has much more refinement, better economy and more power than the 100 series.

My dollars will only stretch to a 2008 model. I have scoured the forums about known issues.

I would be glad if anyone can expand on the following issues (and are there any I have missed?)

1) High oil consumption. Local salesman was rattling on about the fact that Toyota identified that some badly designed hose was the cause of the issue and when changed, fixed the problem. Is this correct? If so, was it a vehicle recall?

Or did the oil problem just go away when the engine wore in?

2) Tail shaft clunks - was the long term fix for this applying correct amount of grease? Or is it a reoccurring issue?

3) 6th gear not engaging. I believe this was a software issue that could be resolved by a software upgrade. Correct?

Anything else to look out for?

Any help much appreciated.

Cheers , Zane

Reply By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 22:06

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 22:06
Hi Zane.

Have you tried the LCOOL forum - all those Q's have been extensively dealt with. But, in short (I have the 2008 VX model):

1. I had this problem but the Toyota mechanics sorted this in about 15 minutes with a standard fix. Hasn't used a drop since;

2. I didn't have this problem - refer to LCOOL;

3. Correct. But you have to remember to do the gear change.

For me, the main issue with the 200 is the GVM problem. If you are going to option up with heavy kit, you will immediately run into probs with the GVM and the vehicle will sit too low.

You'll need an expensive GVM upgrade incl the lift kit. Even then, you'll only get about another 250kilos carrying capacity. This isn't a problem if all you intend it for is towing which it will do extremely well.

AnswerID: 435228

Reply By: Member - Carl- Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 07:10

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 07:10
Good morning Zane,

The two above comments about the Landcruiser website are excellent as there are many more things than the problems you mentioned.

I have come from a 100 to a 200 and now I have a F250, so you know where I am coming from. I would rather stay with toyota than ford but this could not be helped.

My personal opinion is that I would stay with the 2005 / 2006, 100 TD 4.2 for many reasons.

Cost being the first, much nicer vehicle to tow with, less technology dramas, proven track history as the end of line of production, simpler.

The 100 has a more solid truck feel than a 200. The 200 is much more like a car and we had to spend a good deal of money to get it ready to tow 3.5 ton. Air bags, shocks and springs.

I an getting old as well because I think it is an ugly vehicle. The 100 has better lines.

Zane, this is just my opinion and you should get the one you like the best, good luck.

AnswerID: 435235

Follow Up By: Zebu - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 07:43

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 07:43
Thanks Lads - great tip re: lcool site - lots of info.

The electronics worries me , nut would be purchasing an extended warranty to cover me for 6 years 150,000km at which time I'd be rotating it out again for something newer

I am still amazed at the prices the 100 series are still fetching, with as little as 10K difference between a 06 V's 08 model.

thanks
FollowupID: 706382

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 08:32

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 08:32
I think the prices reflect the product.

We looked for ages and have never been happier with our purchase. We were a little luckier in Jan 2009 in that we paid $42K for our 100 4.2TD with 120K on the clock. Our son paid a little (!!) more at $68K for one with a legit 21K on clock. The driver took badly ill and it sat in the garage for five years with just the motor being started and idled monthly. Naturally the tyres were shot. Apart from that Toyota could not fault it. Our mechanic, an ex-Toyota senior workshop manager, also couldn't fault ours.

I did lie a bit. We were a bit happier when we got our brand new HK. It was our first car. Just joking.

You get a good 100 like ours or the son's and you won't look back. Personally I dont like too much technology that could screw up the drive down the Cnanning (one day soon) and the 100 seems to have just the right balance of comfort, technology and a top reliable motor and body. Even the other son who has a 2.4 td Patrol reckong number 1 son got a really top car.

Best of luck mate

FollowupID: 706385

Reply By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 09:10

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 09:10
Hi Zane

I am not clued up on which Toyota is which, but there was a post on here a few weeks ago about the cost of the 100,000 klm sevice on a V8 Toyota diesel, $15,000. Not sure if it was the model you are thinking of buying, but maybe worth investigating. Aparently required a set of injectors (not servieable, must be replaced) at $1000 each, plus whatever else needs to be done at the 100,000 mark.

Hope I am not leading you astray, but worth mentioning for you to check out for yourself.

Cheers, Dave

AnswerID: 435246

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 21:14

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 21:14
Hi Dave

I have a V8 toyota and there is nothing in the service manual about changing the injectors. I would say you only change them if you have a problem like using dirty fuel that the 5 micron fuel filter cannot handle. Even the fuel filter is only changed when needed not at your normal service intervals.

I have copied the service booklet and the 100 000km service is a major service as is every 20 000km service. The booklet only goes up to 200 000km service which again is a major service but there is no mention of changing injectors or even having to inspect them.

FollowupID: 706472

Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 21:22

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 21:22
G'day David,

Like I said, I was not certain of the model (nor the reason for the expensive service) but thought it worth mentioning so he could investigate for himself. I am only too pleased to stand corrected on this one, it was reported as a ridiculous amount for a service, major as it may be.

Thanks for the info,

Cheers, Dave

FollowupID: 706473

Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 09:39

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 09:39
Jane,
Have a friend with LC V8 TD ute. He loves the power for towing and load carrying but has a significant problem with the oil consumption. He bought it from Windsor Toyota and has had it back many times but they have not solved the problem. It is currently on a weekly oil monitoring program to determine how much it is using as Toyota via this dealer, have not formally admitted there is a problem.

It does seem that driving them hard from new works best but that is anecdotal. Seems to be a possible glazing problem.

With the wagon the load carrying capacity is a major issue. I have a policy of never buying a new model and wait until they have been on the road for several years. Seems now there a good and bad stories like most.

I have decided to stick with my 100 until I really have to change and that is looking less likely as I age faster than the vehicle.

Stick with the proven vehicle. Most people find that the LC100 TD is a great tow vehcile - I certainly do.

AnswerID: 435250

Reply By: Members - Bow & Nan - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 11:33

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 11:33
Problems with my 200 series

(1) When towing it uses one litre of engine oil every 18,000k. Toyota do not have a fix

(2) Clunk in the tail shaft. Toyota are going to replace the tail shaft again.

(3) 6th gear is not a problem after the software upgrade.

(4) Problems with the steering rack. I think the motor has to come out.

(5) After about 20,000k of towing the tow bar receiver pin holes ware.Toyota do not have a fix.

Toyota customer service is crap.

If you get a load of bad fuel be ready for the $20,000 repair bill.

AnswerID: 435254

Follow Up By: Members - Bow & Nan - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 11:38

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 11:38
When towing it uses one litre of engine oil every 1,800k not one litre of engine oil every 18,000k. Next time I will read my answer before I press the submit button
FollowupID: 706406

Follow Up By: Axle - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 11:47

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 11:47
Gaaawd!!!!,........And people criticise Landrover!,,,,Lol,,Lol.

Cheers Axle
FollowupID: 706408

Follow Up By: Member - Anthony W Adelaide - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 13:27

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 13:27
Gee Whiz, I love my 80 series Toyota, I can service it myself and if it breaks on the track I would have an idea what to look at.(it never does though)

For the cost of a service like that I could get another 80s.

IMHO still the best 4wd Toyota ever made.

Cheers, Wooly
FollowupID: 706419

Follow Up By: Glenndini - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 15:29

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 15:29
I agree with that. I know my 80 series inside and out by now. I also don't have to worry about it too much in the bush like many do with their $80,000 babies.
80 series, still the bestt.
FollowupID: 706435

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 23:57

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 23:57
Hi Zane,

A good idea as other have said is to check out LCOOL.org and see the 200 section. There is so much rumour about the 200 (and any vehicle for that matter) that its not funny. I have done 50K kms on my 200 and reckon its the best vehicle I have ever owned. I have had a GU Patrol, and 80 series and a few other smaller 4WD's and there is simpy no comparison, off-road or on.

Yes, it is a big vehicle, but that means more room for the family on a long trip - but it does mean more scrapes on the tighter tracks :( Off-road its fantastic, it has MORE wheel travel stock than a modified Patrol with a 2" lift (on the KDSS models). It come standard with traction control, IMHO they are 80% as good as f&r diff locks. In fact it is so good I haven't bothered with lockers on this vehicle (yet!). I have fitted TJM sidesteps, even with a 2" lift they were copping a hammering, but otherwise the same as a 100 series as far as clearance goes.

Towing. Did I mention the twin turbo V8? People rave about the 100 series TD and how good that was for towing, it has stock some 420Nm of torque. The 200 has stock 650Nm, greater than 50% more. You can imagine just how good that is. Now, people then say, add a chip to the 100 and its great, gives around 550 - 600Nm (depending on the chip) and is nearly as good as a 200. Well, a chipped 200 has over 800Nm and thats when you are thankful for the front diff out of the Tundra (Toyota equivalent of a F100 in the USA). Bottom line is, there are very few vehicles built that can come close to how well a 200 tows. It takes the saying "I didn't know it was behind me" to a whole new level.

For your specific questions;
- the oil has been an issue on a few vehicles, mostly on those driven very gently. But originally it was relatively common until Toyota bought out the the vaccum pump mod. My oil consumption was normally OK, but when towing it got as high as 1L per 5,000kms. After the mod it is less than 1L per 10,000kms - doesn't need topping up between services, but I do keep an eye on it. This usage seems on par with all modern CRD turbo vehicles - check the LCOOL section for detailed discussions on this.

- my tailshaft has been replace under warranty (have the new design one) and I haven't had the issue back in ~30K. But others on LCOOL have had it return. The clunk is no worse than what the 100 series had, but on a vehicle thats is so much quieter and smoother it is more noticeable. The clunk is simply that, when taking off there is a very small amount of freeplay and you can more feel it than hear it. While mine was replaced under warranty (and as such should still be covered after the warranty has expired) I personally wasn't too concenred about it at all.

- 6th gear was originally set to only be useful above 120km/hr. I had my ECU flashed and now it engages as early as 95km/hr. Nothing was ever "wrong" with 6th gear, just that it didn't come in early enough for our Aussie speed limits.

I have not had any other issues, but have had the ones you mentioned. They were relatively common but fully resolved by Toyota IMHO. There has also been the odd issue with a leaking steering rack, originally the engine required removal but they now have a new method where the engine mounts are loosened and the engine tilted insitu, gives enough clearance for steering rack removal. There has also been several vehicles have total fuel pump and injector failure, but this has always been traced to faulty fuel. The Toyota warranty doesn't cover this, but your vehicle insurance should (check this - any CRD has this issue so make sure your vehicle insurance covers it).

Anyway, I have had many 4WD's and the 200 is head and shoulders above the rest. Yes, you probably couldn't fix it on the side of the road, but there is more chance that a 20 year old 80 will break down than a new 200 IMHO. The 200 has been out for 3 years now and the toothsayers are still trying to find its archilles heel. It does have the odd quirk, but still has the legendary Toyota reliability (and price!)

AnswerID: 435306