Toyota V8 Diesel 79 series problems. Information please...

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 08:36
ThreadID: 82839 Views:17510 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
Apparently the earlier of these had an oil consumption problem.
I have heard there was a recall to fix this.
What was the fix?
Which models does it effect?
If buying second hand, how can you tell if this is fixed?
Any other problems with this model?

Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 08:54

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 08:54
G'day Twinkles,
Have a look at Land Cruiser Owners On Line. There is a heap of good information there.
AnswerID: 437775

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 09:59

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 09:59
The link does not work for me.

Also I have never had much success getting any info from that site. They want me to register with full details before being able to view the forums. Not how I do things. If I think it is worthwhile I will register but I will not do that before seeing what they have to offer. The front pages are in need of update as well.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 709370

Follow Up By: pt_nomad - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 12:00

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 12:00
Your loss Flynnie. It is a non commercial community site thatis not that intersted in your details.
I dare say you'd get past with minimal details being entered for registration.
There is a point of difference to this forum tho, users need to use their real name, no hiding behind a nick name.
Paul.
FollowupID: 709380

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 13:00

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 13:00
Flynnie, I'm on LCOOL under the same nom de net as I use here.

My full name is not publicly displayed at all.

My full name is here on EO as well (not displayed) so I don't see any difference.

FollowupID: 709386

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 13:27

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 13:27
I too am a LCOOL devotee, will find me there as Captain :)

Its a great site with heaps of toyota specific info.

FollowupID: 709390

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 23:59

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 23:59
Well I bit the bullet, did a giant leap of faith and had to fight off an anxiety attack as I gave my details to Lcool and registered.

Could not have done it without the follow ups in this thread.

Flynnie

FollowupID: 709435

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 08:55

Sunday, Dec 05, 2010 at 08:55
Well done Flynnie. Now take a couple of deep breaths, and log in and have a look through the archives.
The site is your oyster, you'll never know what you will find there, pretty much all your questions can and usually will be answered.

FollowupID: 709447

Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 09:06

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 09:06
I have a Feb 2008 V8 Troopy from new – At 60,000Ks I don’t have the problem.
My brother-in-law brought a 200 series June 2008 and had an oil problem from new– I think it was an oil seal in one of the turbochargers.
Regards Dennis
AnswerID: 437779

Follow Up By: you eat the bear - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 10:01

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 10:01
Likewise.

Jan 2008 LC 76, 55,000 kms and no issues.

FollowupID: 709371

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 10:03

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 10:03
Hi Twinkles

I have had a VDJ79 ute from new. Now at 90,000kms. Yes mine was one that had an oil problem.

Some had a ? malformed opening for the scavenging oil pump and toyota recognised this and under warranty fitted a double seal. That fixed the problem.

Not sure on the ratio of V8 70 series that it affected but not all had this issue. This also only seemed to affect the 70series.

The other issue that again only some experienced was really noisy injectors. I had one changed on warranty. I mean it was so noisy you would thing I had dropped a inlet valve into the piston or some other extra noisy loose part.

Other than that there are no other main problems. They really are a great ute. Lots of power. Quiet smooth operation. Better fuel economy - unless you drive it hard which is easy to do.

If buy one second hand ask about the oil consumption - maybe the tell maybe they don't but it was an easy 1/2 day fix. You would hear a noisy injector.

Other than that check normal second hand things for wear and tear.

One recent thing I have experienced is at 90,000 km I have worn out my clutch. I do tow a heavy trade trailer and have planks, ladders, tresles all the time. Reading the research it says for normal use of not being loaded all the time the clutch is fine. For vehicles that are permanently loaded you will wear the clutch out prematurely.

I also have upgraded the suspension but again more to do with the loads I carry.

Hope that helps.

AnswerID: 437786

Reply By: Flynnie - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 10:08

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 10:08
More or less in order answers to your questions

Some did, some did not.
No recall - fixed on as needed basis.
V8 76 78 79 & 200
You can't tell if buying second hand unless you know the vehicle history.
Lousy seats, weak rear brakes, glare from bonnet, low mounted alternator, as for other common rail engines injector replacement is very expensive.

You may wish to have a look at my profile for a more balanced view of the vehicle.

Flynnie
AnswerID: 437787

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 13:02

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 13:02
Toyota keep a record of all their vehicles that have had recalls fixed. Once you have bought your vehicle you can see your toyota dealer and check what recalls yours has had done, AFAIK.
Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 709387

Reply By: Twinkles - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 15:16

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 15:16
Thanks everyone. I've joined LCOOL too. I didn't bother with all the details of a vehicle. I was still accepted.
AnswerID: 437810

Reply By: Member - C J- Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 17:38

Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 17:38
I have 2008 GXL,It consumed approx 2-3 litres in about 5-6000 km,the dealer fitted an extension on the oil pickup, while that improved oil problem slightly, so then I looked at and changed to synthetic oil and that has fixed the problem, it now uses about 1/2 litre in 10000 km.
AnswerID: 437820