Buckets for washing clothes in!

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 18:47
ThreadID: 82998 Views:7690 Replies:15 FollowUps:6
Hi, Does anyone out there know where we can buy a good quality bucket with a screw on lid. We thought that we would put our clothes in it and have it washing while we are driving along. Most buckets out there only have pop on lids. Look forward to hearing how other people do their washing on the road without a washing machine! Thanks Mike and Helen

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:13

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:13
Hi Mike and Helen

We have never lost a lid off the clip on type of large bucket, even when one tipped over in the back of the ute with the washing in it (giving it an rougher ride than in the caravan). It leaked a bit and only a little water lost. I got ours second hand from a chicken takeaway place, but i think Bunnings have similar. We change from wash to rinse bucket at lunch time, and hang out (generally on a fold up airer) when we stop for the night.

Because the caravan rides too smoothly, we can use a plumbers plunger in the bucket to agitate, and use this when stationery. Wringing is the only hard part, and we do this together putting the clothes in a towel. I would not take a washing machine.

Sheets can wait for a Laundromat, an when we get to one, i usually do most of the clothes, towels and sheets, sometimes even if they have been bucket washed and don't look clean enough with red dirt stains.

AnswerID: 438573

Reply By: DOEY- Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:14

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:14
hi newbies

can i suggest a drum similar to those used for making home brew. They are usually 25 or 30 litres and have a nice tight screw lid. You can get the lids with or without an air hole in the top. I have 2 at home and currently travelling oz. I wish i had brought one as it would have come in very handy.
a link to an example

You can get them at home brew shops and some hardware shops, not sure if bunning sell them.
Just a thought, good luck.

Doey
AnswerID: 438575

Reply By: Members Pa & Ma. - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:18

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:18
Hi, Newbies,
You can buy things from any good camping store. Sort of , but we reckon they're too bulky they're like a rotating compost bin.
We have a plastic tub with a screw on lid Like a large jar. This is for the "smalls".

Most of the time we have a rest day where there's ample water & do the washing
when traveling outback. With portable shower for us.
We usually org anise a day in a caravan park or tourist place to re-organise the car's packing & do the washing, ourselves included! if in a town.
The back of the car gets quite disorganised when rummaging through things on the trip.
Take care,safe travels.
Bye Ma
AnswerID: 438576

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:19

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:19
Hi Newbies,

I dont think I have ever seen a bucket with a screw top. But what you could use is one of those plastic drums that canoeists use to keep their gear dry. Any good camping/outdoors store should have them. I got a smaller version (about 20l) from a delicatessen whose bulk olives came in it. Just needed a good wash out.

Val.

AnswerID: 438577

Reply By: Charlie - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:47

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:47
Nally do some great buckets with the pop on lid, I brought mine from Reflex Equip,twice the price and twice the thickness of a normal pail.
AnswerID: 438579

Reply By: Member - DW Lennox Head(NSW) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 22:09

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 22:09
Hi Newbies

We use these buckets and have never once have they even moved. Being square makes for easy packing.
Have fun
DW
AnswerID: 438599

Follow Up By: Member - DW Lennox Head(NSW) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 05:18

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 05:18
I should have added that the lids are snap on and do not come off easily so therefore are watertight.
DW
FollowupID: 710389

Reply By: Wilko - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 22:36

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 22:36
Hi Newbies

Most farming supply shops sell 2nd hand containers that have snap on lids or buy the land newspaper and look in the for sale classifieds .

These lids are held on tight and waterproof thanks to a metal over cam/centre clips.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 438600

Reply By: Farmboywa - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 22:50

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 22:50
G,day newbies, I havn't tried it but I can't see why a plastic esky couldn't be used for the clothes to slosh around in, between uses as an icebox cooler.
AnswerID: 438602

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 23:35

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 23:35
I think you'll find the lid does not seal sufficiently to ensure no spillage.

Mh

FollowupID: 710382

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 23:03

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 23:03
A long time ago I bought a bulk bucket with a handle of cold power from bigw. We still use it.
AnswerID: 438604

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 23:04

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 23:04
The bucket that is.
FollowupID: 710380

Reply By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 23:51

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 23:51
Hi Newbies

We have just bought a Wonder Wash manual washing machine for the 'smalls'. Havent tried it yet, but it will get a work out at Christmas.

We generally camp in the one place for a period of time, rather than travelling daily, so this is not an inconvenience to us.

One other thing, this subject has been on here before... I recall some saying that they put a rock in the bucket with their clothes and washing water. Appearently this assists in agitating the suds/water.

As mentioned by Old Girl, we buy bulk washing powder in a 20 litre bucket with handle... bloody hard to get the lid off, so I doubt that it would spill if it fell over. I guess you could pack other stuff around it to minimize the possibility of it tipping over.

Safe travels, Dave

AnswerID: 438610

Reply By: Kelvo - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 04:52

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 04:52
Not a bucket but we use a 'Dry bag' Product link

Put clothes in, half fill with water & detergent, close bag leaving 1/4 of the bags volume full of air, and secure to the roof rack.

I am from the UK, but have used this while travelling in southern Europe, being outside in the sun it heats the water (May get too hot in Oz?) and the air space leaves room for the clothes to slosh about.
AnswerID: 438620

Reply By: newbies - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 13:11

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 13:11
Thanks to everyone for their helpful tips and hints. We will have fun following these up and seeing how they work.
Hope to see you all on the road in 2011. Have a happy and safe Christmas and New Year. Mike and Helen
AnswerID: 438665

Follow Up By: Racey - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 14:49

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 14:49
Go to your local hot bread shop they usually have plenty of buckets with clip on lids.
FollowupID: 710448

Follow Up By: Farmboywa - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 18:46

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 18:46
G'day newbies, if you get around to using an old esky and the lid does leak as suggested by mother hen you could try spreading a pillow slip over the top as a gasket between the lid and the container. A bead of silicone gutter sealant allowed to dry around the lip of the container may be effective as a seal. The idea of the rock in the bottom of the bucket as suggested by others is probably more for ballast than agitation. You would hope the plastic bag on the roof rack would be a black one, otherwise you may be accused of hanging out your dirty underwear in public!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 710476

Reply By: Member - Longtooth (SA) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 21:58

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 21:58
Try the camping section at BigW/Target. They have the blue screw on lid 20 litre bucket you are seeking.
AnswerID: 438717

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 18:15

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 18:15
Also go to a hardware store and ask them if they have any left-over chain buckets .... when you see one you'll get the drift - Dad sourcing his washing machine that way..... screw on lid and about the right size...
AnswerID: 438784

Reply By: Member - Lewis Lee (WA) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 11:48

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 11:48
Hi Newbies.....we got a bucket with a screw on lid from BCF and used it for washing.
AnswerID: 439040

Follow Up By: newbies - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 16:19

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 16:19
Once again thanks for all the useful tips on where to look for our washing bucket. Managed to locate a beauty in a Bunnings Hardware store today. It goes under the name of Willow Camper Can (25 litre with an optional tap outlet). Next trick is to see if it works when we are on the road.
Wishing everyone a very Happy and safe Christmas and hope to see you on the road in 2011.
Regards Helen and Mike
FollowupID: 711221