MK Triton rear wheel bearing replacement help needed

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 14:40
ThreadID: 83018 Views:17324 Replies:4 FollowUps:8

Related Pages

G'day,
Just wondering if anyone's replaced the wheel bearings in the rear of their MKs. I'm in the process of doing mine & am after some advice on how to take the old ones off the axles. I was told (by a toyota owner) that it's a floating axle design, so just need to stand the axle on it's end, support the brake backing plate where the bearing's situated & belt the axle end with a copper hammer until it's off. Would this be the best way to go? I'm in the process of doing this, but thought I'd better get a second (& 3rd etc...) opinion before I go any further so I don't bugger it. Any advice will be very very much appreciated!!!!

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 15:03

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 15:03
Roo,

I am sure that you have a bearing that is pressed on to the axle and that it will have to be tapped off or if it is really bad, cut off.

Replacing the bearing you will have to be a bit more careful and make sure it is seated correctly on the axle.

If you have a floating axle, which I doubt, it is a lot easier. The bearings are on a stub axle and hub and not on the axle.

This is from another Toyota driver who loves his floating axles.

AnswerID: 438678

Follow Up By: Member - Roo H (WA) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 16:48

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 16:48
Thanks for your info Wayne, much appreciated.

Unfortunately I found out I needed a priest to help with this problem!

The set up with my Triton is the axle is one piece (not floating like my mate suggested), with the bearing fitted in to the brake backing plate which the axle passes through, then it has a collar pushed on to keep the bearing in place, and a circlip holding the collar in place. The seals are fitted into the diff tube.

I've now been told the bearing & collar need to be heated to be removed, same for the new replacement bearing. An oven was suggested. Shame it needs so much work to replace these bearings, as if they fail while out exploring the country, it could become a dangerous predicament!

Anyway, as the axle's out now, I hope to be able to find a mechanic tomorrow who can replace the bearing for me.

Thanks again mate & all the best!

Roo.

FollowupID: 710464

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 15:05

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 15:05
Hi Roo H. I'm pretty sure there is a castleated nut and lock ring holding the bearing in place which has to be removed first. You will then have to break the outer casing of the bearing to enable removeal of the backing plate. ( Cover the bearing with heavy rag first) once the backing plate is off the inner part of the bearing will either have to be pressed off or carefully ground down to a shell on one side to remove. Instalation is a bit easier but make sure you fit the backing plate on first. There may be a spacer before the bearing as well. Bob

AnswerID: 438679

Follow Up By: Member - Roo H (WA) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 16:49

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 16:49
G'day Bob, thanks for your reply.

Sounds like you've described the front end replacement for me (castellated nut sounds like a front end hub).
At least it sounds like something Triton owners can do on a weekend at home, unlike the rear.
It's a real bugger there's no workshop manuals for Tritons, so much of the work done at home is trial & error (sometimes expensive error too!), but at least what you learn like this can help others in a similar situation :)

Thanks again for the info mate, much appreciated!

Roo.

FollowupID: 710465

Follow Up By: greybeard - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 16:59

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 16:59
have a look here(manual) for an online copy of the MK triton ( L200 ) manual.
If you google there is also engine manuals available online. HTH
gb
FollowupID: 710467

Reply By: brad72 - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 23:05

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 23:05
I have a toyota hilux with what sounds like the same rear axel.
Had to send my axel to an auto engineer to have the bearing removed and replaced.Not an easy job to do if you do not have the right jig.
good luck
AnswerID: 438828

Follow Up By: Member - Roo H (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 02:20

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 02:20
Thanks Brad, interesting to know it's not just mitsubishi using this design.

I managed to replace it myself today, which I've explained how under my call for help.

FollowupID: 710626

Reply By: Member - Roo H (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 02:17

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 02:17
Ok, desperate times call for desperate measures, so with all the mechanics in town either booked out till after the new year, closed until after the new year, or don't exist any more (even though they're still listed in our local directory which came out over the weekend!), there was only one way to get it done, and that was by doing it myself, slowly! So if it helps anyone else, here's what I did:

First up, I used a 9" grinder with a cutting disc to cut a slice off the collar, as close to the axle as possible. After doing this, I used a 4" grinder with a grinding disc to finish taking metal off the collar until it was thin enough near the axle that I could use a screwdriver to crack it through and relieve it's tightness. After this, I was able to leaver the collar off that part of the axle and away from the bearing. Once the collar was off, I was able to hit the end of the axle with a copper hammer until the bearing came off, which also freed the brake backing plate. Once this was seperated, it was easier to tap the bearing cone out. After that, I tapped the seal out which was between the backing plate & axle hub. The other seals are in the end of the diff tube.
Once all this was done, I degreased everything then had a break!
Oh yeah, before I started I heated my oven up to 290c (my oven doesn't go any higher) & put the new collar in it. Lucky I did too!
Now, before anything, I fitted the new cone & seal, then put the backing plate back on the axle (It's important the backing plate goes on before the bearing 'cone', as these 2 do separate!). Then I put the new bearing on & seated that (as much as it would go). I used a 750mm length of 50mm water pipe & copper hammer to tap the bearing down, though I'd reckon the length would depend on the axle length. Now for the fun part! With the bearing in place, it was time for the collar. With it heated up, I used tongs to take it from the oven on to the axle, put the pipe back on, then took a sledge hammer & with 4 good hits, got the collar down far enough to put the circlip back on. Even at that temp, it was a tight fit!. After it cooled, I put some fresh diff oil on the new bearing, then fitted it back in the diff. Done!

All up it took me about 3.5 hours, but now that I've done it I reckon I could do it again in less than half that time (including re fitting the brakes & bleeding them). I'll be doing the other side in a week or 2, so will take some pics which may help to clarify some of my description.
Hope this helps anyone else with a Triton (or any other 4X4 with a similar set up) in my situation, & all the best for the festive season everyone!

AnswerID: 438838

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 06:47

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 06:47
Roo,

Good to see that you have mastered the art of wheel bearing replacement.

Fortunately with the Troopie when I have to replace wheel bearings I don't have to heat any parts up.
I don't think that my wife would appreciate car parts being place in her new oven, but I do have a gas BBQ that I could use if the needed.

FollowupID: 710632

Follow Up By: Member - Roo (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 17:18

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 17:18
I've been doing wheel bearings for years Wayne, but always on trailers using the old ford & holden hubs. This was very different for me though, having an axle for a start! Dismantling the brake assembly wasn't something I looked forward to either, always takes me ages to re fit the brake adjuster & spring assembly. I don't know how other 4X4s are put together, but the Triton's a pain in the butt in that area!
lol, my girlfriend gave me a funny look when I put the collar in the oven, but she loves me :o)
I intend doing the front bearings soon, which I expect to be another challenge, but after doing the back now, I reckon I can do it without the help of white goods (I hope, anyway!)
Off to pack the old girl now, then off to Perth tomorrow for a few weeks leave. Will be taking everything I need for another bearing change too, just in case, as it'll be a 1700k drive & you never know what can happen.
All the best mate & thanks for your support!

FollowupID: 710685

Follow Up By: Member - Ray C (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 23:04

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 23:04
Hi Roo, Thanks for the info on the rear wheel bearings . I did the fronts on mine about a month ago. If you can do trailer wheel bearings you will find the job as easy as. Cheers Ray.
FollowupID: 710732

Follow Up By: Member - Roo (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 04:51

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2010 at 04:51
G'day Ray, no worries about the info mate, more than glad to help out :o)
Sounds good about the front, so hopefully I'll be able to get in to it within the next few weeks. I hope to do the other rear soon too (now that I know how it's put together), but this time I'll be taking pics of each step, just in case others want to know what to expect.
All the best,
Roo.

FollowupID: 710738