How to Cook Barramundi...????...and enjoy it...?????

I was given some barramundi fillet's yesterday, and I gotta tell you, they are not one of my favourite table fish.

Tonight I cooked up the barra, and, as in all previous attempts, they tasted like cat food. I have never ever, including restaurants, enjoyed eating barra, although they are magnificent sport fish on the end of your line.

Today I went fishing in the Hunter River, at Stockton, NSW, and brought home some beautiful flathead, my favourite table fish (after KGW from Phillip Island).... look out tomorrow :-)))

With all the hype over Barra, what is a decent receipe, to make them palatable, without all the fancy sauces etc. Is the stuff from Wollies Barra even ????

Fred.

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 21:27

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 21:27
Fred, is the barra wild caught salt water? Barra that has lived in fresh water, be it stocked dams or upper reaches of rivers tastes like mud.

We live in the NT in a prime fishing area. Although we rate barra about fourth down the list as a table fish (Threadfin, Fingermark (Golden Snapper) and Mangrove Jack are all better in my opinion), Barra is still a great eating fish.

My best 'easy way':
Using fresh salt water barra, if fillets are thick (ie from a fish longer than around 60cm), slice fillets down the middle, so each piece is not more that 15mm thick. My wife likes it even thinner at 10cm or less.
Roll in seasoned flour (with salt and pepper)
Beat an egg or two and coat the floured fish with that
Shallow fry in a pan in good clean oil, not too hot.Cook till a light yellow / light brown.

Serve with chips and salad. Tastes great just like that. If it does not and the fish was frozen, I'd suspect how fresh it was before freezing.

Some added ideas for variety:
If you have some ripe mango, slice thin and lay over the fish. Mango is great with fish. I freeze mango flesh when season so we have a supply out of season.

Or, if you grow your own tomatoes, some cooked tomatoes with onion and a bit of garlic go great as well. I freeze cooked tomatoes and onions when in season as well.

Living where we do, we eat fresh fish about three times a week. Over 50% of the fish we consume is barra and we love it. But most times, we are eating fish caught that day.

Hope you can get to enjoy some barra. If not, head north some time and try in fresh.

Norm C
AnswerID: 440134

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 23:13

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 23:13
Threadfin? do you mean threadfin salmon with the whiskers? we are getting those in the brisbane river, I wasn't aware they were highly rated as a tablefish, are the like Dart or Tailor that they need to be bled and eaten soon after for best results?
FollowupID: 712033

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 09:05

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 09:05
That's the ones. Blue nose salmon look somewhat similar and are not nearly as good. But Threadfin (aka King Salmon) are a great table fish. When you fillet them, there are some big nobbly bits (can be the size of golf balls on a larger fish) on the backbone.

Give them a try. If it is the right fish, they are great eating.

We bleed all fish we keep, but no, they are not like tailor. I don't think they are related to the common Australian Salmon that is go for cat food (or eating very fresh).
FollowupID: 712058

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 09:53

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 09:53
G'day Norm. I use both methods you describe, quite often, but not with barra as i'ts only available in supermarkets down here. I actually cooked last nights feed with the tomato, onion and garlic. I mean, I love fish, and eat it often, but mostly a freshly caught flathead or whiting, bream etc.

We tried some of the barra in cocktail size bits, deep fried in a beautiful delicate batter SWMBO makes, and the barra went mushy, a bit like tailor.

This is no doubt imported farmed stuff.

Cheers mate, HNY :-)

FollowupID: 712063

Reply By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 21:33

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 21:33
G`day Fred,
I am pretty sure that the Barra from Woollies is imported farmed stuff from Asia somewhere.
I will be interested in the replies you get.
As far as eating goes I know that salt-water caught Barra is heaps better than fresh-water caught. Running fresh water caught is much better than stagnant billabong caught.
Where farmed or imported Barra fits into all this I don`t know.
What I do know is that I would just as soon have Redfin, Yellow Belly or Murray Cod to eat, but catching them is a different matter.

Happy NY,

Scrubby.
AnswerID: 440136

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 10:00

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 10:00
G'day Scrubby. Very appropriate profile pic there mate :-))

HNY

Fred.
FollowupID: 712064

Reply By: Axle - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 21:34

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 21:34
G/Day Fred, Maybe Those Boofheads doing the xxxx add might be on to something?......LOL...Wheel Barrow Flavour.

I'm with you with the flat head, .....nothing like it!!!.

Happy New Year

Cheers Axlre
AnswerID: 440137

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 10:05

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 10:05
Axle, ya dead right there mate.....Yesterdays flattie catch is on the menu for today.

HNY

Fred
FollowupID: 712065

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 21:34

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 21:34
well finally ..... i went down to Bremer Bay last June and we caught a salmon (been a few years) and we cooked it up fresh and we all loved it, i love catching and eating Salmon ..... yes Barra are over rated but only because they can be hard to get, i have seen some "locals" at Maningrida keep the big salt water catties over jewies and barra, did not believe it so i tried it and was stunned at how well a SALT water cattie tastes, yep better than a Barra.....
As for cooking them, always fresh and only use BUTTER not oil or marg and a little bit of garlic in it and nuthin else ...
Enjoy....
AnswerID: 440138

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 10:14

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 10:14
G'day Joe n Mel. I have heard that before about Salt water catties, but haven't as yet had the opportunity to try it.

I think you're right about only using butter, if possible. I think that's the case with most fish. We experimented with barra bits deep fried in batter, and that didn't work too good.

I guess our problem down south is that we can't get good fresh barra like you guys up there.

HNY

Fred.
FollowupID: 712067

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 00:45

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 00:45
Hi Fred, we were fishing at a spot out of Maningrida called "Old Barge Landing", at the turn of the tide, low coming to high, you can hook really nice big Jewies, you also hook the odd really big cattie ...... one local beside us hooked a Jewie about 700 and started to cut it up for bait, we could not believe it and asked what he was doing, gunna get one of them big cat fish he said, them big salt water ones are the best to eat ......... and he did catch a nice big one and left the Jewie on the rocks and headed home with the Cattie ............
We are always learning stuff out in the bush so we gave it a go and took it home, first for everything.... and cut him up as per normal and we simply could not get over the quality of the meat, nice and firm yet flakey but consistant and taste was as sweet as the best fish i have ever tasted ...... well second best to King G Whiting :-)

Never take someone elses word for fish quality, always try it yourself, it's like wine, some like white, some red, some dry, some sweet ................

I like KGW, Catfish !!! and Salmon (big bad green backs from Bremer Bay) and all cooked in BUTTER ...

FollowupID: 712150

Reply By: Member - Ray (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 22:11

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 22:11
"to make them palatable"

Fresh

AnswerID: 440150

Reply By: Muntoo - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 22:11

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 22:11
Fresh wild saltwater barra.

Mmmmmmmmmmm, nothing compares mate.

You see the stuff you buy in shops is farmed barra from overseas. The only barra worth eating is barra from around Wyndham WA. No joke, the best restaurants in Oz would only buy barra caught from here for a long time once.

See barra are very tricky. They can live in fresh and salt and move from one to the other very quickly. The taste can also change quickly, but so do the characteristics of the fish, depending on the water and environment they have been living in.

The best tasting barra, is between 60cm and 80cm, which is a male fish, and will have a nice "BUMP" on its head and a yellow tail and fins. Which indicates its a very strong, healthy saltwater fish. Anything over this size and they lose taste, and actualy start to get chewy and bland.

They are best served in light batter, on the BBQ or cooked in alfoil on the coals with some tomato,lemon and onion stuffed inside.
AnswerID: 440151

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 22:38

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 22:38
I just wished I had bought more Karumbaru barra when we were there. It was great to eat. It was frozen actually!
FollowupID: 712022

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 22:39

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 22:39
What am I saying? Karumba bra
FollowupID: 712023

Reply By: 3GoBush - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 14:25

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 14:25
Step 1 : Go to the nearest top end river with fishing gear.

Step 2 : Catch said fish between 55 cm to 85 cm.

Step 3 : Bleed said fish.

Step 4 : while fish is bleeding, prepare bed of coals.

Step 5 : Place fish whole ( scales guts the lot) on the coals and cover with a layer of coals, leaving the head out.

Step 6 : when the eyes go white, remove fish peal back skin and feast.

That's proper way, any other way is a waste of a good fish.
AnswerID: 440199

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 15:33

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 15:33
Most restaurant barra is farmed , some from the farm up Wonga Beach way , most from Thailand and Vietnam , bassarra close to barra often flogged as barra , best is wild caught salt water , filleted into 200/250grm fillets , poached in a light white wine such as a fresh sauvignon blanc with a sqeeze of lemon ,steamed baby spuds and sour cream plus a fresh green salad,,, yum.
AnswerID: 440206

Reply By: Bazooka - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 15:52

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 15:52
I'm with Norm, Fred. Simple batter (try a beer batter and 'test' a few tinnies first, might make the barra more palatable for you), lightly fried, bit of lemon, some chips and salad.

Worked around the Gulf country years ago and BBQed freshly caught barra from the brilliant (fresh-water) Gregory River tasted great. A few snap-frozen fillets we brought back tasted just as good 3 months later! Mt Isa fish 'n chip shops used to have deep-fried barra for not $much back then. Always tasted great.

Have had barra in restaurants down south a few times, but no more. Little taste - wild and fresh is obviously the key (as it is with many fish obviously). Nevertheless, a nice sweet flattie is near the top of my 'fishlist' also.
AnswerID: 440211

Reply By: 3GoBush - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 17:16

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 17:16
Nile Perch is the fish that is passed off as Barra, it is almost an identical fish.

In the NT it is illegal to pass Nile Perch off as Barra, it comes with a $10,000 fine if caught.
AnswerID: 440218

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 19:52

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 19:52
Image Could Not Be FoundWoollies sell this African fish by the truckload.
FollowupID: 712122

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 23:56

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 23:56
Well Googled

Biggest Barra
FollowupID: 712141

Reply By: cycadcenter - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 01:47

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 01:47
Was talking to a friend a couple of days ago who was up at Awoonga Dam at Gladstone when the water was about 30cm over the spillway and he said he was counting about 4-5 big Barra going over every minute............and that's just the ones he saw.

Hopefully they will spawn when they reach the salt water and will provide some good fishing in the coming years.

Bruce
AnswerID: 440258